Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB 3.8 - 4.0 vB Facades: Different, multiple forums running off 1 vB installation Details »
vB 3.8 - 4.0 vB Facades: Different, multiple forums running off 1 vB installation
Mod Version: 1.00, by ibautocommunity (Coder) ibautocommunity is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.0.1 Rating: (3 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 33
Released: 09 Dec 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 219
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

Removing the product; gathering requirements and specs.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 11:47
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
any screen shots ?
if it work on 3.7 i ll give it a try
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 12:21
supamodz supamodz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
sounds great im gonna give it a shot
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 18:33
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
Originally Posted by dacho View Post
You mean that the same content will appear in several different domains?
For Google it look like duplicate content.
One of them (domains) can enter in Google sandbox...
Correct me if I'm wrong
Only if you choose to have that content appear twice. You get to set up which forum Categories show on which domains.

Originally Posted by Trana View Post
Can you use this to share members between the two domains?

How about selected forums?
All members will be shared between all forums.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 18:53
Delifed Delifed is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
wow nice i needed something like nice glad it got released.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 19:21
CallieJo's Avatar
CallieJo CallieJo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Wow! This is awesome! I hope I can get this to work. If it does, I will likely buy 2-3 more licenses real soon!

You totally rock!

PS - Will this work with the cms widgets? Meaning, the latest of threads from all domains display in the widget of the cms pointing to the correct domain.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 19:37
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
So, the best example of this would be.

http://www.honda-tech.com has its own style and forum id's ; but http://www.hondamarketplace.com is completely different. They are actually the same site, split into two completely separate forums but sharing the same products, users and everything else in admincp.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 20:54
johnrizz's Avatar
johnrizz johnrizz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Wow! thats cool! you can use your 4.0 along with your 3.8.X LIC, together!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 21:10
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
Originally Posted by stone0075 View Post
Wow! thats cool! you can use your 4.0 along with your 3.8.X LIC, together!
That would be a negatory. This is one installation of vBulletin, so it's either 3 or 4.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 21:37
aryamansour aryamansour is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Would this work with 3 forums installed on one domain? (I have 3 licenses)

This is what I am using, but it is not working: (Installed this mod on the first forum (/audi), wanting to share certain sub forums with the other 2 forums (/mb, /bmw) and share the users with all 3 forums)

[dtmscene.com/mb]
bburl=www.dtmscene.com/mb
homeurl=www.dtmscene.com/audi
catids=1,2,3,4
styleid=4

I may be placing the wrong catids, not sure. I am getting the catid found at the end of the url when I visit one of the sub forums.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 21:43
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
Originally Posted by aryamansour View Post
Would this work with 3 forums installed on one domain? (I have 3 licenses)

This is what I am using, but it is not working: (Installed this mod on the first forum (/audi), wanting to share certain sub forums with the other 2 forums (/mb, /bmw) and share the users with all 3 forums)

[dtmscene.com/mb]
bburl=www.dtmscene.com/mb
homeurl=www.dtmscene.com/audi
catids=1,2,3,4
styleid=4

I may be placing the wrong catids, not sure. I am getting the catid found at the end of the url when I visit one of the sub forums.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you.
That's not what this product is designed to do; your application is different.

dtmscene.com/mb is not a domain. This product would only work for you if you had a domain configuration like:

audi.dtmscene.com
mb.dtmscene.com
bmw.dtmscene.com

or bmwdtmscene.com, audidtmscene.com; you see those are different domains and sub-domains.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11 Dec 2009, 01:30
aryamansour aryamansour is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thank you for clearing that up. I was wondering, would you be able to point me in the right direction so I can get this to work. Would I have to purchase other domains or purchase/add a sub domain to what I already have. Or, is there another product that would be able to do this without the need for other sub/domains?

Thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11 Dec 2009, 02:51
Universal Universal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Thankyou for this, although I am concerned if this will continue to work as 4.0 continues to grow. I wish someone could make an application so we could make just the one database for people to be able to login to about 10 forums at once. I would love vB to create that possibility instead of people having to outsource. I know alot of people who would love to see this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11 Dec 2009, 03:44
fattony69 fattony69 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: Tony
I want to personally thank you for this. I hated created multiple communities and having my members reapply. Just a few questions.

1. Does it move just members or does posts, threads, etc apart as well?
2. Does this have to be a fresh install to work?

/me nominates for MOTM!
__________________
The Best Forum Ever!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11 Dec 2009, 07:13
NokStar NokStar is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Buying another license is okay. sharing users and posts db is great!
Nice idea. We need people to keep this going!!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11 Dec 2009, 17:02
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
Originally Posted by fattony69 View Post
I want to personally thank you for this. I hated created multiple communities and having my members reapply. Just a few questions.

1. Does it move just members or does posts, threads, etc apart as well?
2. Does this have to be a fresh install to work?

* fattony69 nominates for MOTM!
You can start at any time, but obviously the URL's to the old posts might break when you create sub domains and assigned forumid's to them.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: