Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBH-Add new tabs Details »
vBH-Add new tabs
Mod Version: 1.2, by Elmer (Coder/Designer) Elmer is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (240 votes - 4.73 average) Installs: 2173
Released: 21 Nov 2009 Last Update: 09 Feb 2010 Downloads: 12343
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Translations Is in Beta Stage  

vBH-Add new tabs 1.2 with no querys
Mark as installed, if you use it


If you like this modification please suport it in the mod of the moth poll


What does this plugin?
This plugin allows you to add new tabs in the navigation bar to link to any site you want.

Installation:
Import the xml file from the product manager..
Upload the files in the upload folder to your forums via ftp.

To add new tabs, go to:
vBulletin Options> VBH New Tabs Option


Configuration example:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

See screenshots.

To make tab selected:
This option only works if your tab links to internal files. You need to enter the THIS_SCRIPT value under the option Tabs Selected.

Also note that some areas of vBulletin already use the THIS_SCRIPT value in their code and because of this some tabs may not work correctly. A example of this would be the usercp.php file. If you make a tab linking to this file and then you enter the value 'usercp' to make it selected, the tab will be selected but also will be the forum tab. This is because vBulletin used this value in the navbar template.

You won't have problems when linking to custome pages.

en español
vBHispano - Agregar Pestañas en Español


History:
11-23-09: First release 1.0
  • Ability to add tabs with option to disable the modification.
11-23-09: Update 1.1
  • Some bug fixes
  • New option to align the tabs on the left, right or center.
  • Now you can choose which usergroup can view each tab.
  • Links can now be set to open in a new window or the same window.
12-24-09
  • Updated to work on vB4 Gold
02-08-10: Update 1.2
  • Added option to make the tab selected, please read the product options.
  • Added option to disable the default tabs Home, Blogs and What's New. At this time tab forum can't be removed.
This product does not add sublinks even if tabs are selected.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	newtaboptions.png
Views:	10694
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	106482   Click image for larger version

Name:	tabspreview.png
Views:	15206
Size:	11.7 KB
ID:	106483   Click image for larger version

Name:	vba_tabsoptions.png
Views:	10853
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	106594   Click image for larger version

Name:	upgradevB-0000.png
Views:	10696
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	111913  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Flipped tabs = Swivel tabs = INVERTED TABS Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 29 20 Jan 2010 10:39

  #241  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 06:56
jimfries's Avatar
jimfries jimfries is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I take it this does not work with 4.0.1, because I have installed it and cannot get it to work

Edit.
I take this back, I got it to work in 4.0.1 I was putting in the wrong usergroup id LOL

Last edited by jimfries; 16 Jan 2010 at 07:13.
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 19:01
ddrake ddrake is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by pranaysanghavi View Post
excellent
just one thing.. reverse the logic of showing for selected users.. leaving the number blank, or 0, means that everyone can see the damn links.. i'd prefer that logic at least..
FWIW, I agree...
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 05:05
Yeongwon Yeongwon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
it doesn't work with 4.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 05:14
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Originally Posted by Yeongwon View Post
it doesn't work with 4.0.1
It works on 4.0.1.
__________________
...steven
www.318ti.org
forum.nccbmwcca.org
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 08:20
simon157 simon157 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Great mod. I'm just trying to use this as a link but it doesn't seem to like the anything after the equals sign. How how I get round this please?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I even tried using the link below instead but it still didn't show the text after the equals sign.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Can you help?
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 08:27
Juggernaut's Avatar
Juggernaut Juggernaut is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
One of the best mods available
Nominated.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 08:31
Muggz562 Muggz562 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
waiting on the new version, hopefully theres a tab highlight option.
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 17:48
Fusion2 Fusion2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
This is simple and easy to use. I love it!

But, how can i use with navbar links or dropdowns?

I am guessing i can do this on the page template, so that certain sub-categories appear on navbar as links. But, lots of extra work.
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 17:56
Fusion2 Fusion2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by Muggz562 View Post
waiting on the new version, hopefully theres a tab highlight option.
OMG, your right. The tab doesnt have hover or highlight options. This totally doesnt work for me then as it will confuse my visitors as to where they are.
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 20:56
Neptun Neptun is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
is there a possibility to have this tabs with a drop down function ?! this would be great if Elmer can integrate this to the hack - then this hack is the best
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 22:01
Mosh's Avatar
Mosh Mosh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Real name: Mosh Shigdar
Originally Posted by DHewes View Post
Great mod - easy to do, MUCH better than the template mod crap. As MANY people have said, three things:

1) This should be part of the default install - like any other CMS/Forum script (not your problem)

2) The selected tab really needs to be the one highlighted

3) Need a way to change the sub-navbar links along with the new tab, like the default links

Changing order of the new links and the default links is a fine idea, but I can live without it.

Great work, thanks!
Originally Posted by Muggz562 View Post
waiting on the new version, hopefully theres a tab highlight option.
Originally Posted by Fusion2 View Post
This is simple and easy to use. I love it!

But, how can i use with navbar links or dropdowns?

I am guessing i can do this on the page template, so that certain sub-categories appear on navbar as links. But, lots of extra work.
Originally Posted by Fusion2 View Post
OMG, your right. The tab doesnt have hover or highlight options. This totally doesnt work for me then as it will confuse my visitors as to where they are.
Originally Posted by Neptun View Post
is there a possibility to have this tabs with a drop down function ?! this would be great if Elmer can integrate this to the hack - then this hack is the best
Elmer said he will try to add the highlighted tab at some point, but there is no ETA:
Originally Posted by Elmer View Post
paulbhoy, there is no way to do that in the current versión. I'll be working in a minor update to include some suggestions, but I won't be including every suggestion. I'm just going to update the current version, I will include a variable, that if active you will be able to use it in your custom page and use it in some sort of conditional to highlight your tab.

For all the other users that keep asking why this addon doesn't change the tab color to white when clicked, this addon doesn't support it and provably wont, however I will try to make something in the future.
There is a paid addon out there that do everything you people want, however I know that would be better if this features were free, so I will try to implement them at some point.
I have a product that does it all if you can not wait, just click the link in my signature.
__________________
-- The WS Spiders List is still downloadable from vBulletin.com.
-- As of Monday 1st July 2013, I will no longer be supporting my hacks as I am leaving the vBulletin community due to medical and life-style reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 22:28
sdavis2702's Avatar
sdavis2702 sdavis2702 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Awesome this works great!

I wish I didn't have to add the usergroups every time (really only once because I can copy and paste) but I am still grateful for you work!
__________________
Best Framework for WordPress
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 19 Jan 2010, 07:31
Firas S. Firas S. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Real name: Firas Saeed
Thanks Elmer
That's exactly what I was looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 19 Jan 2010, 16:41
madotds's Avatar
madotds madotds is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thank you for this mod, just what I was looking for strange for it not to be in stock VB4 so just aswell there are coders like you willing to share

Cheers

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 20 Jan 2010, 00:53
egclive egclive is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
How would i make it open in my current tab
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: