Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[CMS] Use original thread for comments Details »
[CMS] Use original thread for comments
Mod Version: 4.0-0.1 a2, by Carnage (Coder) Carnage is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.1 Rating: (40 votes - 4.83 average) Installs: 305
Released: 17 Dec 2009 Last Update: 18 Dec 2009 Downloads: 1087
Not Supported Uses Plugins Code Changes Additional Files Translations Is in Beta Stage  

As of 4.1.11 this functionality is included in vbulletin. So you no longer need this mod.

What does this do?
This is a really simple hack that sets the thread for article comments to be the original thread for any thread that is promoted to an article.

What can I use it for?
This mod has two major uses:

1. If you have a wealth of information in your forums and you want to promote it into articles, this mod allows you to retain the rest of the thread as comments in the cms while adding any new comments as replies to the thread; essentially allowing it to function as both a forum thread and a CMS article.

2. If you want to use multiple fourms for CMS comments. This is a fairly none obvious use case, but probably a popular one. If you have three sections in your cms (for example) and want each section to feed into its own forum, the current cms dosn't allow you to do this. With this mod installed, you can. Instead of creating your new article directly in the cms create it in the forum you wish to use for comments. Write your article as the first post of the thread and promote it to a cms article. Fill out the extra information needed (eg publish date) and save. Comments will be saved into the original thread, in the forum you created it in.

Installation Vb 4.0.1 and later
1. Import product

Uninstallation
1. Disable the plugin "set thread id"

Full uninstallation
1. Move threads that have been promoted to articles into the vbcms comments forum.
2. COPY the threads back to their original forums
3. Remove product

Steps 1 and 2 are needed to retain cache functions on the comments threads. Without them new comments will not appear on the article.

Changelog
  • 4.0-0.1 a2
    • Fixed bug causing original thread to be delete when the article was deleted
  • 4.0-0.1 a1
    • Initial release

Notes
  • I believe this is the first mod for the CMS (not including addon widgets/content types)
  • Removing this product entirly will cause issues with the cache on any articles using the original thread. Follow the uninstall steps to remove functionallity while retaining the ability to comment on these articles this mod has altered.
  • Although its compatible with vbulletin 4.0 Rc 4, a bug in RC 4 and 4.0.0 Gold prevents it from acctually working. I have provided a replacement hooks_vbcms.xml file which corrects the issue in the interim. (fixed in vb4.0.1)
  • Deleting an article will remove the associated original thread This is considered a bug in this product and will hopefully be fixed with the next release. (fixed)
  • The above bug has been fixed, however pending this request: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/proje...?issueid=34188 Thread tags for the original thread will still be removed. There is /nothing/ I can do about that until the issue listed is resolved. (this has been marked as fixed in 4.0.2; will update further when i've tested that its fixed.)
  • If you hard delete the original thread without first removing the article you will be affected by this bug: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/proje...?issueid=34187 the fix I posted to that issue needs to be applied BEFORE deleting the original thread. After more research, this only becomes an issue if you promote a thread more than once. If you've done this, you can fix the error by clearing the CMS cache. (fixed in 4.0.1)

As of 4.1.11 this functionality is included in vbulletin. So you no longer need this mod.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Display Thank Score of thread near of the original poster vietdjclub vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 38 30 Oct 2015 20:58

  #196  
Old 19 Jul 2010, 20:56
daveaite's Avatar
daveaite daveaite is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: David
Mine works fine except for the tons of double posting everywhere. No blank text.
__________________

Introducing vBSocial 10
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 20 Jul 2010, 02:53
carrlos's Avatar
carrlos carrlos is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Is anyone getting the double posts AND blank comments?? It's weird because I only have the blank comments but not double and triple posts.
__________________
http://www.iphonemodding.com
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 13:08
Carnage Carnage is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I'm struggling to reproduce the double/triple posts; it could be a conflict with another mod; what else do people have installed?
__________________
www.giveupalready.com

If you want/need to contact me, best thing is to pm me on that site, username Carnage.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 15:43
Ozymandyus's Avatar
Ozymandyus Ozymandyus is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Carnage, I have SStabs vbsoporte, auto-backup, and vsa Chatbox installed, along with dartho's mobile styles. I can't tell you specifically if any of those are causing conflicts, but I can't tie any issues to them. Upgrading to 4.0.5 helped a great deal with my issues, but I was still seeing a lot of error messages on post and the occasional double. Turning off your mod alleviated this problem. I have a hard time living without it, but have managed to replicate the functionality by turning off the vb CMS and using a vbadvanced portal instead.

Only other tidbit I can contribute is that the double posting happens FAR more often in Internet Explorer 8 than in any other browser, according to my user reports. It seems to happen much less frequently in Mozilla and Webkit browsers, but doesn't completely go away.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 15:50
carrlos's Avatar
carrlos carrlos is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
How about the blank posts? Can we at least get a resolution for that?
__________________
http://www.iphonemodding.com
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 17:40
Reeve of shinra's Avatar
Reeve of shinra Reeve of shinra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by Carnage- View Post
I'm struggling to reproduce the double/triple posts; it could be a conflict with another mod; what else do people have installed?
The ones that are active while I experienced the issue are:

Separate Sticky and Normal Threads
vBH - Add new tabs 1.2
vMoods By luqmanamjad.com
... and of course the vbulletin CMS and Blog.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 23:59
SpankMe's Avatar
SpankMe SpankMe is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Although many users report and I occasionally get double posts on my live site that I access via the internet, I do not get the problem on my synced copy of my site which I access via my home intranet. They both run on the same OS & software versions.

Too many mods, both downloaded and written myself to list.

I've disabled Quick Reply until the problem is sorted.
__________________
Kiwi Biker

SV1000 Portal
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 22 Jul 2010, 17:50
daveaite's Avatar
daveaite daveaite is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: David
Nah, its definately double posting on my site as well. (http://buypoe.com) After I disabled it, the double posting went away.

My question is why isnt this mod already built into vBulletin. seems wierd that CMS wouldn't attach the comments to the original thread...

So

#1 This Mod currently causes double posting on version 4.05 and 4.04 (it's worst on 4.05)
#2 I haven't gotten blank posts though
#3 Disabling this mod will make double posting go away.
__________________

Introducing vBSocial 10
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 24 Jul 2010, 03:23
carrlos's Avatar
carrlos carrlos is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
This is too weird. I don't have any double or triple posting but have all blank text (except for smilies) in the CMS. Is that happening to anyone else or just me?

Edit:
Quotes are working along with the smilies.
__________________
http://www.iphonemodding.com

Last edited by carrlos; 24 Jul 2010 at 12:26.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 24 Jul 2010, 14:57
BozzaJos BozzaJos is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I'm experiencing double posts as well but no blank posts. When I have a double post, I get this error message as well.

When I look at Reeve of shinra's list, I have Separate Sticky and Normal Threads and vBH - Add new tabs 1.2 installed as well. I don't have the vMood mod installed.

Perhaps this info can be of any use...
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 00:30
Carnage Carnage is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
just looked at http://www.iphonemodding.com/forum/c...h-Make-It-Work (the thread you screenshotted) in my browser (FF3.6.7, winxp) I can view the comments fine.

I think I may be close to finding the source of the other problems with this mod; I went into the source code and compared it side by side with vb 4.0.3 Where once there was this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There is now this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

It seems that there is an intention to separate forum posts and CMS comments even further as they are now different content types. I'm sure that this is the root of the issues with this mod, however I've yet to figure out what its doing to cause them.
__________________
www.giveupalready.com

If you want/need to contact me, best thing is to pm me on that site, username Carnage.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 04:56
carrlos's Avatar
carrlos carrlos is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by Carnage- View Post
just looked at http://www.iphonemodding.com/forum/c...h-Make-It-Work (the thread you screenshotted) in my browser (FF3.6.7, winxp) I can view the comments fine.
What can I do to make the comments viewable in Internet Explorer? Any ideas?

I just confirmed that not only does it work in Firefox but it also works in Safari (PC and iPhone).

Edit:
I turned off the Compatibility View in IE8 and now I can see everything fine. Carnage- do you know of a fix that will allow the comments to be viewable whether that button is selected or not?

Summary: The hack works fine. No double or triple posts (must be a conflict with a different hack for affected users). If Compatibility View is selected in IE8 (probably IE7 too) then comments cannot be seen. This is not an issue in other browsers (Firefox, Safari).
__________________
http://www.iphonemodding.com
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 14:09
Carnage Carnage is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
With the compatibility mode thing; it suggests that it may be an issue with your css and nothing to do with this mod.

@others: what is your setting for queue search updates under message searching options?
__________________
www.giveupalready.com

If you want/need to contact me, best thing is to pm me on that site, username Carnage.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 15:39
carrlos's Avatar
carrlos carrlos is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by Carnage- View Post
With the compatibility mode thing; it suggests that it may be an issue with your css and nothing to do with this mod.
I understand. I'm just wondering why I was able to have the compatibility button selected in 4.0.4 and didn't have the issue and now on 4.0.5 I do. I have not added any custom CSS to my installation neither before the upgrade or after.

Can you point me in the right direction?
__________________
http://www.iphonemodding.com
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 21:02
Reeve of shinra's Avatar
Reeve of shinra Reeve of shinra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by Carnage- View Post
@others: what is your setting for queue search updates under message searching options?
Admincp -> Options -> Message Searching Options

Queue Search Updates = "NO"


I'll give you admin access if you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: