Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sig image size control Details »
Sig image size control
Mod Version: 1.00, by Herman (Member) Herman is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2008 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 54
Released: 24 Jun 2002 Last Update: Never Downloads: 6
Not Supported  

I wrote this hack so i could obviously do what the title says.

When installed it you get an option in vb option of max height and width.

If a user's sig is too big, then when you look at their sig it'll say sorry this image is too large. And if the link doesn't work, then it'll say sorry that image doesn't exist. Thnx.. Don't forget to back up the databases!


[edit]This new one gets rid of the queries.. but, you have to submit your vbulletin options after installing the hack in order for it to work.[/edit]


[edit]Update again, this fixes smooties prob's with it images being set to unlimited[/edit]

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Quick Sig Image Size Limiter phlogiston vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 70 06 Jun 2005 14:24

Comments
  #2  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 06:10
Sinecure's Avatar
Sinecure Sinecure is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
There seem to be a lot of signature limitation hacks
I'll install this on my test board. I want something simple, and not bloated with options, hopefully this does the job
Thanks
__________________
Lyle Warren
Former vBulletin.org Administrator

<<------General Information------>>
ICQ: 437747379
Email: [email protected]

Website: Pixeljunction.com
My Board: Board.Pixeljunction.com

<<------My Button Sets------>>
Aqua Sets: Aqua Blue - Aqua Orange
XP Sets: XP Blue - XP Blank - XP Black - XP Camo - XP Green
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 06:11
Herman Herman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
np
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 07:06
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Followed instructions, set the limit in the vb options for sig width, height, added a test sig, bigger than the allowable limit, it still shows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 08:48
Chen's Avatar
Chen Chen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Nice work... haven't tested it but looks promising.
__________________
Chen Avinadav
Formerly vBulletin.org Owner and Founder

[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 08:49
Chen's Avatar
Chen Chen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Originally posted by Smoothie
Followed instructions, set the limit in the vb options for sig width, height, added a test sig, bigger than the allowable limit, it still shows.
The hack doesn't work retroactively as far as I see.
__________________
Chen Avinadav
Formerly vBulletin.org Owner and Founder

[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 08:56
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally posted by FireFly

The hack doesn't work retroactively as far as I see.
I added a new sig after the hack, and it still shows.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 09:50
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Ok, the one setting that needs to be changed for this to work is:
Under Posting Code allowances (vB code / HTML / etc):
Maximum images per post/signature: (This needs to be set to anything but zero.)

Last edited by Smoothie; 24 Jun 2002 at 19:55.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 15:01
Herman Herman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Okay it works, it just doesn't work until the user has to changes their profile.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 18:12
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
It only works for me if I change the setting above. Is there a way around that?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 19:12
Herman Herman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Ok, the one setting that needs to be changed for this to work is:
Under Posting Code allowances (vB code / HTML / etc):
Maximum images per post/signature: (This needs to be set to 1.)
Works just fine for me.. I have images set to 10 per post/sig, and It only kills the images that are too big.. For instance, if I have it set to 100x500, (default), and I add two images in my sig, one that is 320x240, and one that is 64x64, the 64x64 one stays, but the 320x240 one gets the message that its too big...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 19:24
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Ah, ok. So this can be set to anything but 0 for it to work? Because at 0, it doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 19:36
Herman Herman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Ok, here is how it works.

1. You update your profile

2. Before the BBCODE processor, a special function catches all img tags.

3. The function, called size_check, checks to see if the file exists, if it does, it gets the max size and width out of the configuration of your board, and checks to see if the image width is bigger first in width, then in height:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

4. It returns the image in BBCODE notation if it is ok, otherwise, it returns the message shown above.

5. The bbcode processes it like normal!


I wasn't sure about your question about setting it to 0.. I wasn't sure what that was refering to...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 19:38
Chen's Avatar
Chen Chen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Just so you know: instead of using this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can just use $maxsigwidth and $maxsigheight (globalize them in the function). BUT, you MUST Submit the vBulletin Options page in the Admin CP for this to work.

Anyway, I'll probably install this here later, looks good.
__________________
Chen Avinadav
Formerly vBulletin.org Owner and Founder

[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24 Jun 2002, 19:43
Herman Herman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Yea... I was trying to figure that out.. but every single time I tried to global those variables, it wouldn't work. They would return NULL. I didn't know you had to submit the vbulletin options again...lol. I'll edit the post and submit a revision.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: