Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Forum Keywords For AuctionAds Details »
Forum Keywords For AuctionAds
Mod Version: 1.1, by -=Sniper=- (Coder) -=Sniper=- is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.7 Rating: (2 votes - 4.00 average) Installs: 14
Released: 27 Jun 2007 Last Update: 29 Jun 2007 Downloads: 104
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Is in Beta Stage  

1.1 - If you have 1.0 installed, uninstall it and install the new improved version.

You must have an AuctionAds account for this hack.

To lear more about AuctionAds and to sign up - Click Here

This hack allows you to choose different keywords for different forums, allowing you to display differen eBay ads on a forum by forum basis. SO, with this hack, every forum (and the threads in it) will display ads according to the keyword you set for that forum.


Installation:

Step 1 (Upload the Files):
  • Upload the AdminCp and Includes folders to your server.
Step 2(Upload the Product):
  • Go to your AdminCP.
  • Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Click [Add/Import Product] -> Select the file 'product-auctionads.xml'.
  • Click 'Import'.
Step 3(Adjust Settings):
  • Go to your AdminCP.
  • Scroll down the list until you see the 'Forum Keywords for AuctionAds' options. Click that and then click 'Keyword Options'
  • Click Yes to activate the system
  • Set a default keyword
  • Choose a keyword(s) for each forum you chose and click the enable button for that forum. (if you dont choose a keyword, the default keyword you set earlier will be used)
Step 4(Add AuctionAds Code to Templates):
  • Get your AuctionAds code for the ad size you choose.
  • At the begining of that code add this line:
<if condition="$vbulletin->options['auctionads_onoff']">
  • And at the end of the code add this:
</if>
  • Find the line in the code: auctionads_ad_kw = "";
  • Replace that line with: auctionads_ad_kw = "$auctionads_keywords";
  • Now open your forumsidplay and showthread templates and insert the amended AuctionAds code wherever you want the ads to display. (one common placement is immediately after $navbar in the template code.
Your auctionAds code should look similar to this when you place it in your templates.

<if condition="$vbulletin->options['auctionads_onoff']">
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
auctionads_ad_client = "YOUR AUCTIONADS PUBLISHER ID";
auctionads_ad_campaign = "YOUR AUCTIONADS CAMPAIGN NUMBER";
auctionads_ad_width = "728";
auctionads_ad_height = "90";
auctionads_ad_kw = "$auctionads_keywords";
auctionads_color_border = "CFF8A3";
auctionads_color_bg = "FFFFFF";
auctionads_color_heading = "00A0E2";
auctionads_color_text = "000000";
auctionads_color_link = "008000";
--></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ads.auctionads.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</if>

This hack was created by vBulletinExpert.com for vBulletin-FAQ.com. Visit the vBulletin FAQ support forum for AuctionAds.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	keywordauctionads.gif
Views:	249
Size:	17.0 KB
ID:	66299  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum Neutral Singh vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 39 09 May 2010 19:40
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum Neutral Singh vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 28 18 Feb 2008 04:15
Mini Mods Add Keywords H-TAG Description Header Footer option to each forum Animparadise vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 11 06 Jan 2008 19:19

  #16  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 21:03
AzzidReign's Avatar
AzzidReign AzzidReign is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I have the default keyword...I've stated that a few times now. Here's a screen shot to prove it.



None of the forums are checked and none have keywords in the field so there is no separate keywords for individual forums so all forums should be running off of the default keyword I've specified.

Is there any other information you'd like me to show you to let you know I've done everything in the instructions?
__________________
Xbox 360 Mods
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 21:13
AzzidReign's Avatar
AzzidReign AzzidReign is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Ok, I think I know what's going on...the instructions are bad...

There are 2 different instructions about the keywords, and neither work for me.

The one shown here on this page:
Replace that line with: auctionads_ad_kw = "$vbauctionad_keywords";
The one shown in the readme file:
Replace that line with: auctionads_ad_kw = "$auctionads_keywords";
If you look at the red, you'll see that they are both different. Which is right? For me, neither are right b/c the ads still don't load.


EDIT: I have to head out right now so I'll be back in a few hours. Just post to let me know if you need any more information on my end and I'll be sure to post it once I get back. If you need more screenshots, let me know. I think I've posted all the evidence needed to show that I have done as said in the instructions but if there's anything else, please let me know.
__________________
Xbox 360 Mods
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 21:15
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Joey
I was JUST going to check that. The correct should be $auctionads_keywords
__________________
Lincoln vs Cadillac Forums -

Last edited by joeychgo; 06 Jul 2007 at 21:52.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 22:44
-=Sniper=-'s Avatar
-=Sniper=- -=Sniper=- is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by AzzidReign View Post
I just manually put the keywords in so the ads would show up.

You can check the site now, I just changed it to use $vbauctionad_keywords as the keyword(s).


please use $auctionads_keywords note no vb

edit: lol to late, just got back from work
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07 Jul 2007, 00:34
AzzidReign's Avatar
AzzidReign AzzidReign is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Used $auctionads_keywords and still didn't work.

This is what I have:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And here's the vb options page:

__________________
Xbox 360 Mods
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07 Jul 2007, 00:38
-=Sniper=-'s Avatar
-=Sniper=- -=Sniper=- is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
send me admin access so I can have a look.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07 Jul 2007, 01:12
-=Sniper=-'s Avatar
-=Sniper=- -=Sniper=- is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
I had to add a extra plugin to make it work in the postbit template, I'll post a update after the weekend allowing you to place it in the postbit etc templates....
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11 Jul 2007, 20:45
nymyth nymyth is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
installed and working great....thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12 Aug 2007, 21:22
AzzidReign's Avatar
AzzidReign AzzidReign is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Sorry to bring up my problem from a while ago...but when you installed the postbit plugin to get it to work in the postbit, it now doesn't work with anywhere else. Do you have a fix for this?

EDIT: If you check out my site and see the ads displaying right, it's b/c I put the keywords in manually.
__________________
Xbox 360 Mods
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12 Aug 2007, 21:42
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Joey
No fix. It it only designed to work in showthread and forumdisplay at this time.
__________________
Lincoln vs Cadillac Forums -
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 23 Oct 2007, 20:18
SuperJETT SuperJETT is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by joeychgo View Post
No fix. It it only designed to work in showthread and forumdisplay at this time.
Ah-ha! I have mine in header and was going crazy trying to figure out why there weren't any keywords.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: