Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sorky - SubForum List Control Details »
Sorky - SubForum List Control
Mod Version: 1.8.0, by Sorky (Coder) Sorky is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (23 votes - 4.87 average) Installs: 338
Released: 28 Jan 2009 Last Update: 16 Aug 2009 Downloads: 2080
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template  

Purpose
This plugin allows extensive control of how SubForums are displayed.
  • Use any mix of between 0 and 10 columns
  • Different layouts can be used on specified forums
  • Change formatting
  • Display Thread/Post counts
  • Limit the number of SubForums shown (Show More/Less)
  • Collapse entire display
  • Sort SubForum display order
  • plus lots more!
Installation
Import XML file (as product): AdminCP > Plugin System > Manage Products > [Add/Import Product]

Options
To set the options go to: AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Sorky - SubForum List Control

Tips
To get it on the Forum Home page, set...
"vBulletin Options" > "Forum Listings Display Options" > "Depth of Forums - Forum Home" to "1"
For all other forums, set...
"vBulletin Options" > "Forum Listings Display Options" > "Depth of Forums - Forum Display" to "1"
You should also set...
"vBulletin Options" > "Forum Listings Display Options" > "Depth of Sub-Forums" to "1" Note: Setting it higher will also work!
Version Log
For previous versions see 3.7.x or 3.6.x Mods
v1.5.2 - 28th of January, 2009 = official release for 3.8.x (click here for more information)
v1.6.0 - 11th of April, 2009 = Removed (small bug found)
v1.6.1 - 13th of April, 2009 = Remember show/hide state + more (more information here)
v1.6.2 - 27th of April, 2009 = Debug opton + more (more information here)
v1.7.0 - 21st of May, 2009 = New & improved sorting (more information here)
v1.7.1 - 23rd of May, 2009 = alt text for show/hide image (more information here)
v1.7.2 - 17th of June, 2009 = Removed (small change simply combined with another in next version)
v1.7.3 - 17th of June, 2009 = Hide SubForums: prefix & count tool-tip as well as the SubForums (more information here)
v1.7.4 - 23rd of June, 2009 = Hide specific SubForums from the SubForum list (more information here)
v1.8.0 - 17th of August, 2009 = Display of SubForum descriptions (more information here)

Hall Of Fame (Donations - Greatly Appreciated - Thank You)
Fungsten US$25
Budweiser US$20
CreditForum US$25
lazyseller US$30
Alisa Lindsay US$10

Acknowledgement
Thanks (and apologies) to Cybernetec for the ideas & inspiration to generate this Mod.

Keywords
SubForum, SubForums, Sub-Forum, Sub-Forums, Table, List, Grid, Child, Children, Parent

Settings, Demonstration Screenshots, Notes, etc
See v1.5.2 post (click here)

If you like this Mod please click INSTALL.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements Sorky - SubForum List Control Sorky vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 181 15 Feb 2011 08:04
Forum Display Enhancements Sorky - SubForum List Control Sorky vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 44 14 Jan 2010 14:17
Forum Display Enhancements Sorky - Thread List Formatting Sorky vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 8 02 Nov 2009 12:16
Forum Display Enhancements Sorky - Thread List Formatting Sorky vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 10 21 Jul 2008 16:35

  #76  
Old 31 May 2009, 04:55
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Budweiser View Post
I did load another mod which seems to be in conflict with "Sorky Sub Forum List Control"
The mod is "Forum Minimum Age Restriction"
It certainly stops the show/hide and quite a lot more!!!

His mod will probably conflict with quite a few others as he makes a copy of the templates and then clears them before my Mod has a chance to dynamically modify them. Its a bit hard to modify something that isn't there

The best fix is I believe to make his Mod copy and clear the the templates after we have a chance to modify them Just make the following change...
Plugins & Products
Plugin Manager
Product : Forum Minimum Age / Datastore cache templates
  • Hook Location = parse_templates
  • Execution Order = 9
PS: For some reason I seemed to have to refresh my browser once or twice to get it to kick in.

Last edited by Sorky; 31 May 2009 at 05:07.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 31 May 2009, 14:02
stamos2003's Avatar
stamos2003 stamos2003 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Sven
thanks!
got a problem here though, after installing and setting up:
Warning: Unexpected character in input: '' (ASCII=30) state=2 in ....../forum/includes/functions_forumlist.php(501) : eval()'d code on line 1
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 31 May 2009, 23:15
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by stamos2003 View Post
thanks!
got a problem here though, after installing and setting up:
Warning: Unexpected character in input: '' (ASCII=30) state=2 in ....../forum/includes/functions_forumlist.php(501) : eval()'d code on line 1
If you can send me a URL and access, I'll be happy to take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 31 May 2009, 23:17
W!cKeD's Avatar
W!cKeD W!cKeD is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Real name: Maik
* Thanks & Installed *
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 09:40
stamos2003's Avatar
stamos2003 stamos2003 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by Sorky View Post
If you can send me a URL and access, I'll be happy to take a look.
I downgraded to 1.6.2 and it works fine
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 14:03
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by stamos2003 View Post
I downgraded to 1.6.2 and it works fine
I'm still interested to know why it is a problem for you and if it will be a problem for others... Do you have a test system I can access? Or just PM me your site URL (without any access) so I can see if there is anything obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 04 Jun 2009, 19:30
Budweiser's Avatar
Budweiser Budweiser is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Kevin
Hey Sorky.
I have a problem since I upgraded to the latest version. After logging in I get forced off at random. I first thought it was the browser being buggy or a new style I installed but it seems to only fail when the mod is enabled.

I use Firefox mostly but also tried IE. I cleared cookies and cache, rebooted, and also tried two different computers. I searched vbulletin.com and set the cookie setting back to defaults with the tools.php file. I disabled version 1.7.1 and had no issues so I downloaded and installed it again (without an uninstall first) but the problem returned after enabling the mod.

I haven't tried to uninstall or to install an earlier version yet. Can you take a look?
www.usamusicians.com/forum

Thanks.

Last edited by Budweiser; 04 Jun 2009 at 19:33. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 05 Jun 2009, 13:07
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Budweiser View Post
Can you take a look?
Sure - I did but nothing jumps out at me...I see you have made good use of the expand/collapse for different forums and the different widths - looks excellent ;-)

When you say you get forced off, I'm assuming you are talking about being logged off. I can't see how the heck that could happen. If you turn on the debug option, I can look at the settings. How was 1.7.0? I can look at the code diffs, but nothing jumps out at me.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 05 Jun 2009, 15:03
Budweiser's Avatar
Budweiser Budweiser is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by Sorky View Post
How was 1.7.0?
I went from 1.6.0 to 1.7.1
After this weekend I should have a little time to experiment. I will load a few of the other versions to see what difference it makes.
Originally Posted by Sorky View Post
When you say you get forced off, I'm assuming you are talking about being logged off.
Yes, I get logged off...
Originally Posted by Sorky View Post
If you turn on the debug option, I can look at the settings.
I turned it on


If you want to log in, I have a test login.... username: "testuser" pass: "test"
It usually doesnt take long to get kicked off...

Last edited by Budweiser; 05 Jun 2009 at 15:11.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 06 Jun 2009, 05:38
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Budweiser View Post
If you want to log in, I have a test login.... username: "testuser" pass: "test"
It usually doesnt take long to get kicked off...
It seems to behave in IE for me, but in FF I see what you mean!!! The settings and the page source all look correct and nothing strange that I can see... Very odd.

I've tested my own sites and have never seen anything like this no matter what browser or server and I have never had anything like this reported either. I'm guessing there must be an interaction issue somewhere.

From here it is the normal routine of debugging...
1) Disable all PlugIns and then enable mine (one hook at a time if necessary) then all the others to see where the problem comes from.

2) If it is only due to my Mod, then have to look at any template changes (try the default style)

3) If it still happens with the default style, then you'd have to check any manual changes to the installed PHP.

4) Try the previous versions of my Mod to see when the problem started and look at the changes
I you want to PM me an admin login I will be happy to run through that routine
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09 Jun 2009, 18:56
Budweiser's Avatar
Budweiser Budweiser is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Kevin
Ok. I did some work yesterday and was able to get site to stop forcing a log off. The bottom line: I had to load version 1.5.2

I started by removing all styles except for the default vbulletin style. I then disabled all plugins (except for yours) and was still being logged off. I then uninstalled v1.7.1 and installed the most recent prior version. The problem continued through all of the versions except or 1.5.2 (which I originally had installed)

The site isnt open yet so there hasnt been much activity. I originally installed vb3.8.1 and have since upgraded to 3.8.2. I have made a couple edits to php but nothing major. I kept a short list of any of the changes. Here is the list I kept:

Email Que Cron add-on: Cron based e-mail sending
Edited admincp/email.php and includes/functions.php

Log in as user add-on: Admin Log In As User
Made template edit so the link is visabe on the members profile page
Added text to MEMBERINFO

Welcome Headers add-on: Welcome headers - Improve community registration rates
Removed the existing forumhome header info from the "FORUMHOME" template

Banned members log add-on: Banned Members Log
Added line to /includes/config.php
Other than these edits there was nothing changed from the base vbulletin 3.8.2. No styles, or plugins and the other versions still didn't work. I am ok with using version 1.5.2 but thought the feature with the cookies was nice. Do you think something above may be in conflict?
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 10 Jun 2009, 01:27
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Budweiser View Post
Other than these edits there was nothing changed from the base vbulletin 3.8.2. No styles, or plugins and the other versions still didn't work. I am ok with using version 1.5.2 but thought the feature with the cookies was nice. Do you think something above may be in conflict?
The fact that 1.5.2 works and it starts to cause issues after that pretty much has to be the cookies as that was the change from 1.5.2 to 1.6.0 and it was pretty small.

I ran 3.8.2 [clean] on my system and no probs, so I guess there is something in those changes you mentioned - Do any of them change the fetch_cookie or set_cookie functions? I guess the only way to be 100% sure is to run without them as well.

Another way to see if it is the cookies would be to remove lines 583, 576, 568 and 564 from the 1.7.1 version XML file (Note: the reverse order for deleting to not re-number the lines). Expand/Collapse will break, but at least we'll know it is the cookies - why becomes the next question

PS: Had a quick look at those other modifications and the "Admin Log In As User" plays with cookies, so it may be the place to start if cookies are the issue

Last edited by Sorky; 10 Jun 2009 at 01:48.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 10 Jun 2009, 19:54
abrecher abrecher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
When I use the latest version (1.7.1) my forum doesn't load. When I revert to versioon Version: 1.5.1 everything works ok. Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 11 Jun 2009, 02:00
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by abrecher View Post
When I use the latest version (1.7.1) my forum doesn't load. When I revert to versioon Version: 1.5.1 everything works ok. Any ideas ?
PM me you URL and I'll look at it. If you can give me admin access and to a test site or do not mind if I add/remove the plugins I'll test it out.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 12 Jun 2009, 00:25
Sorky Sorky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by abrecher View Post
When I use the latest version (1.7.1) my forum doesn't load. When I revert to versioon Version: 1.5.1 everything works ok. Any ideas ?
Thanks for the link & login. Couldn't login but looking at your site was enough to show me you were using the 3.7.x version. To upgrade to the 3.8.x version you have to make sure you uninstall the old one after recording your settings as the 3.8 version uses a different product ID
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: