Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link on Postbit Details »
UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link on Postbit
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (18 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 110
Released: 12 Mar 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 351
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link on Postbit ~ Clickable !!


Member on Facebook? Show other members that you have a Facebook presance by adding a facebook Icon to your postbit"

This is a cool hack which will let your members add a facebook Icon to their Postbit template, They need to add their facebook Profile user ID in their user CPfor this to show, If they don't enter one, then the badge don't show



How to install.

Its really easy to do, as always, so if your sitting comfortably, lets begin

Now we need to create a User Custome field, so.....

AdminCP and add a custom field > User Profile fields > Add New User Profile Field

Title = Facebook user ID

Description = Enter the Number ID from your Facebook User Profile

Default Value = Leave empty

Max length of allowed user input = 12

Display Size = 10

Display Order = 10 or 15

Field Required = No as default

Field Editable by User = Yes in case member wants to delete, Later

Private Field = No

Field Searchable on Members List = No

Show on Members List = Yes

Regular Expression = leave empty

Save the field

Once you've saved you can see what the field number is, So lets say its Field11 for example, Remember this as will need it for your Postbit Edits

Thats the first bit done, now Part Two

Go to the template you are using in Styles & Templates/Style Manager, and select Edit templates.

Go to "postbit templates" and select the template you are using, either postbit or postbit_legacy.

Find the following


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Directly above it add


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

replace the RED Field attribute for your own

now when members sign up their facebook badge and enter their profile user ID into the "Enter the Number ID from your Facebook User Profile" section in their UserCP, The Badge will automatically appear in their Postbit

Don't forget to change the usergroup condition with the number of the usergroups that you want to be able to view this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That means that guests and banned users will not be able to view members facebook profile urls

Members who do not add a user id will not be shown anything.

Next, Upload the facebook icon to your forums/images/misc folder and add the full url to the part in the code which shows the image.

if you are just seeing a red cross on your postbit, then its because your image url is not right

Oh Forgot to say, Badge is fully clickable so members can click directly to facebook


Hope you enjoyed this new hack, and thanks to DobieGillis© for the idea

Please Click Installed and I'll support you 100%

Thanks

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	facebook1.png
Views:	460
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	96339   Click image for larger version

Name:	fackbook2.png
Views:	420
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	96340  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods MySpace & FaceBook buttons in member profile and postbit ChU v2 vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 74 24 Jan 2011 05:57
End-User Options UKBL ~ Selling on Ebay Link in Postbit UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 18 15 Feb 2010 11:21
End-User Options UKBL ~ Selling on Ebay Link in Postbit UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 10 21 May 2009 09:28
End-User Options UKBL ~ Selling on Ebay Link in Postbit UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 1 15 Feb 2009 13:09

  #76  
Old 22 Jan 2010, 13:56
greenbuildpost greenbuildpost is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Originally Posted by greenbuildpost View Post
For now I just added "?ref=nf" into the address on the style manager template and it seems to be working with only adding the custom Facebook URL in the details field.
I had this uninstalled from my forum for a while and just reinstalled it today. Now for some reason I don't need the "?ref=nf" for it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 07 Feb 2010, 15:38
SVTOA SVTOA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Question

It appears that the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

is missing from the link??

Nice mod, members love it.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 10 Feb 2010, 22:11
ramires ramires is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Cezary Korsieko
nice mod, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 08 Mar 2010, 14:09
biggeorge's Avatar
biggeorge biggeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: George
The install instructions in the zip are different from what is posted in the description.

I moved the link to the bottom where the rest of the social icons are... just made it flow better. I also added target="_blank"

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 21 Mar 2010, 23:24
kuervo kuervo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
no cant modify :S help me!

Last edited by kuervo; 22 Mar 2010 at 01:14.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 16 Nov 2010, 09:06
sdfontanini sdfontanini is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I also noticed the </a> was missing, wasted about 20 min figuring it out. :-) LOL

Here's the code for VB 4

<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id=$post[field25]&ref=profile">
<img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 16 Nov 2010, 09:12
sdfontanini sdfontanini is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
here's another modification to the vb 4 version, where i have made the ID code appear on hover

<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id=$post[field25]&ref=profile">
<img alt="{vb:raw post.field25}" border="0" src="http://www.coloradoevo.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 16 Nov 2010, 10:03
sdfontanini sdfontanini is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Last but not least I fixed all the issues with the coding. this was a real pain, here's the new vb 4 version. it directly links to your friends facebook accounts


<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field25}">
<img alt="My Profile" border="1" src="http://www.yourforum.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 16 Nov 2010, 11:23
sdfontanini sdfontanini is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
finally one more, this one opens the links in a new page


<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field25}" target="_blank">
<img alt="Facebook Profile" border="1" src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 17 Nov 2010, 15:58
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by sdfontanini View Post
I also noticed the </a> was missing, wasted about 20 min figuring it out. :-) LOL

Here's the code for VB 4

<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id=$post[field25]&ref=profile">
<img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Originally Posted by sdfontanini View Post
here's another modification to the vb 4 version, where i have made the ID code appear on hover

<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id=$post[field25]&ref=profile">
<img alt="{vb:raw post.field25}" border="0" src="http://www.coloradoevo.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Originally Posted by sdfontanini View Post
Last but not least I fixed all the issues with the coding. this was a real pain, here's the new vb 4 version. it directly links to your friends facebook accounts


<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field25}">
<img alt="My Profile" border="1" src="http://www.yourforum.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Originally Posted by sdfontanini View Post
finally one more, this one opens the links in a new page


<vb:if condition="$post['field25']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field25}" target="_blank">
<img alt="Facebook Profile" border="1" src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/misc/fb.bmp"></a>
</vb:if>
Similar here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=233432
... it was already done for 4.x
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 19 Nov 2010, 01:14
MatiasCandy MatiasCandy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
AdminCP and add a custom field > User Profile fields > Add New User Profile Field
Which "Profile Field Type"

I have 3.8.6 is there special install for that?
Sorry new to adding Badges and such
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 22 Sep 2011, 21:41
bestmilan's Avatar
bestmilan bestmilan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thumbs up facebook vanity versus numerical id/url issue

Originally Posted by blaize View Post
I worked around the new vanity url issue by creating two custom fields, one for numerical id and one for users with vanity urls.

This is the code I used for the postbit template edits. Change fields XX & YY to whatever your custom fields are.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Use at your own risk.

The first is for the numerical id & the second is used if the facebook profile uses a vanity url.

This was very helpful, thank you blaize
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 23 Sep 2011, 07:11
bestmilan's Avatar
bestmilan bestmilan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
BTW, I cut off "&ref=profile" from the code above to validate the code.

It seems to be working fine in the latest versions of all major browsers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: