Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 24 Nov 2020, 21:45
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Question [SOLVED]Pulling threadid in templates

This is a first time my doing this with vb4 and I need some help. This seems easy but I'm struggling with it bad.

I have added a sample product showing the 2 ways I am trying to add buttons within a post. thanks to shka I have the custom template one working, the parse_template one is not fetching the threadid though.

I have tried pulling the threadid from postbit, and showthread within plugins.

examplearse templat (in a showthread condition) i am just using new thread button in posts as a base, I want to add a button that will be grabbing the threadid not the forum id.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have tried directly replacing the variable, replacing with other variables IE $threadinfo['threadid']

but I am not having any luck.

I first wanted to do this in postbit, but was having the same issue. Using post thanks button placement as my base, I could not get the threadid to input:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

which is placed into the template through this plugin:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

how can I pull the threadid in either of these locations?
Attached Files
File Type: xml button_test.xml (3.9 KB, 0 views)
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.

Last edited by Dr.CustUmz; 26 Nov 2020 at 12:18.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 12:05
yilmaz's Avatar
yilmaz yilmaz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Forum ID seems to be missing

$threadidid = '{vb:raw threadid}';


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Mark as installed = get support.
Donations always appreciated.
https://www.vbyilmaz.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 12:37
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Originally Posted by yilmaz View Post
Forum ID seems to be missing

$threadidid = '{vb:raw threadid}';


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
forumid was just in the sample code, I am using another product as a starting point, the threadid var is not working here.

this is what I have, no other plugin: (parse templates)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

in the template the button produces "refresh.php?do=something&t={vb:raw%20threadid}"


I have also tried:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with the thread id vars in "my_template" but it only spits out the code, not the threadid.
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.

Last edited by Dr.CustUmz; 25 Nov 2020 at 12:52.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 12:46
shka shka is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Which template?

In postbit_legacy or post_thanks_button

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 12:54
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Originally Posted by shka View Post
Which template?

In postbit_legacy or post_thanks_button

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
post_thanks_button

I have updated my code above your post to show ways I have tried. I thought the post thanks hack would be a good reference point because it had the button where i wanted but I cant seem to get threadid within the template.

I read this post from kh99:
In your plugin code you can use $threadinfo['threadid']. If you want to use it in the SHOWTHHEAD template it's already registered, and you can use {threadinfo.threadid}. You would only need to register it if you're rendering a custom template, in which case you'd use register() (not preRegister). If you really do want to preRegister to one of the other existing vb templates (e.g. header, headinclude, footer), then you might want to use hook parse_templates (but it really depends on exactly what you're trying to do).
so how would I go about doing that the vb4 way? I just want to go back to vb3! lol
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 13:03
shka shka is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Either my English is too bad and I don't understand you.
Or you didn't read my post / code.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 13:12
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
I am providing my button test, this plugin simply adds a button to the postbit, and to the showthread.

both added buttons I can not get the threadid. see code.
Attached Files
File Type: xml button_test.xml (3.8 KB, 3 views)
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 13:14
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
{vb:raw post.threadid} WORKED FOR THE POSTBIT ONE! THANK YOU! but how can I get the showthread one to show threadid?
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 13:52
shka shka is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2016

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Like in your quotation of kh99 post.
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

threadinfo.threadid and $threadinfo['threadid'] is the same variable, you have to use different notations for conditions and direct var access

https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html?...rsion=40205500
Styles & Templates / vBulletin Style Reference / Templates / Template Syntax
Read Variable Access (and the other stuff)

Last edited by shka; 25 Nov 2020 at 14:00.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 14:02
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
using parse_templates on the showthread template

using $threadinfo[threadid]

my link spits out
refresh.php?do=newthread&t=$threadinfo[threadid]

using '.$threadinfo['threadid'].'

my link spits out:
rrefresh.php?do=newthread&t=
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 14:03
shka shka is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
one post above


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 14:43
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Makes the link

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and if used as a variable displays nothing... did you see the way Im trying to add it in the product?

--------------- Added 25 Nov 2020 at 14:46 ---------------


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 16:58
shka shka is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
One option - you build your link on plugin level. Than you have to choose a hook, when $threadinfo already exists. Example with "showthread_complete"


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25 Nov 2020, 17:25
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Thank you for all your help. I need to learn this vb4 crap (its about 10 years too late lol) vb3 is so much easier.
__________________
If you need custom work done please use Dirt RIF CustUmz
Owner of vBTeam
vBulletin 3.8.13 DRC Edition PHP 7.4 Compatible- NOT a null, NOT complete files Requires a legit copy of vBulletin 3.8.11.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
postbit, templates, threadid


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: