Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 23 Sep 2016, 07:28
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
How can i ban this bot

latley on my forum i have been having hundreds of bots from ec2-54-70-216-122.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com

When you view whosonline and display user agent this is what it says below

ec2-52-89-87-158.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/41.0.2228.0 Safari/537.36

here is another one

ec2-54-70-213-207.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/41.0.2228.0 Safari/537.36

I have tried banning them with my ban spiders plugin and i have also used my ip deny manager to ban numerous ip ranges but they keep coming back in their hundreds.

Is there a way to completley ban this bot.This is what i added to my spider list below.

us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
compute.amazonaws.com
amazonaws.com
compute-1.amazonaws.com
us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com


Am i doing something wrong.Many thanks for any help on this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23 Sep 2016, 11:01
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
Put this in your .htaccess file.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Sep 2016, 08:32
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Originally Posted by Stratis View Post
Put this in your .htaccess file.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
mmmm once i add that code it does work but there is a problem.If you go to my home page here http://jandeane81.com/index.php and look on the right where it says theonetruth news you will see it working perfectly.Once i add that code above to my htaccess it stops its preventing my feeds from displaying.I created that widget from http://feed.mikle.com/

So is there a workaround

many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Sep 2016, 12:22
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Try this may be it will work.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 14:39
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
Try this may be it will work.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Hi this code dont work the other one did but then i had that problem with my feeds not showing on home page.Thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 16:27
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Try this:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=268208
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 17:00
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Already got it buddy i added these to it below but it dont work

us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
compute.amazonaws.com
amazonaws.com
compute-1.amazonaws.com
us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com


Am i doing something wrong.Many thanks for any help on this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 17:07
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
Please delete this <Files ~ ".*">xxxxxxxx< /Files> and try again.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 17:49
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
..... i will report back many thanks

Last edited by the one; 26 Sep 2016 at 17:55.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 17:57
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
I stopped using RSS two years ago, but i don't remember having this issue.
Hope some expert will find a solution
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 19:28
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by the one View Post
Already got it buddy i added these to it below but it dont work

us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
compute.amazonaws.com
amazonaws.com
compute-1.amazonaws.com
us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com


Am i doing something wrong.Many thanks for any help on this.
I think you can just add amazonaws.com or amazonaws and it should work.. That should block all the amazon bots.

Did you add that to your robots.txt file too?

Disallow: amazonaws.com
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 19:59
Kane@airrifle's Avatar
Kane@airrifle Kane@airrifle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Real name: Kane

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The above is on an Amazon server. By blocking the those bots, you are blocking your feed.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26 Sep 2016, 20:03
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Yeah, that's true. It's one or the other.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27 Sep 2016, 13:59
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Originally Posted by Stratis View Post
Please delete this <Files ~ ".*">xxxxxxxx< /Files> and try again.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
hello that above code wont work the only one that does is the one you gave me before.

Thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Aug 2017, 08:29
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
In the ban spiders mod you need to shorten the useragent string to catch more, if you are using my mod then it looks for the entire string that you entered in the list, if you shorten it to say amazonaws it will ban every bot with that in its string.

If you want to ban them via robots.txt you can use this:
Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd
Order allow,deny
SetEnvIf Request_URI ^/robots\.txt$ allowall
deny from 23.20.0.0/14 46.51.128.0/17 46.137.0.0/16 50.16.0.0/14 50.112.0.0/16 52.0.0.0/11 54.64.0.0/15 54.66.0.0/16 54.72.0.0/13 54.80.0.0/12 54.144.0.0/12 54.160.0.0/11 54.192.0.0/10 67.202.0.0/18 72.21.192.0/19 72.44.32.0/19 75.101.128.0/17 79.125.0.0/18 87.238.80.0/21 87.238.84.0/23 103.4.8.0/21 107.20.0.0/14 122.248.192.0/18 156.154.64.0/22 156.154.68.0/23 174.129.0.0/16 175.41.128.0/18 175.41.192.0/18 175.41.224.0/19 176.32.64.0/19 176.34.0.0/16 178.236.0.0/20 184.72.0.0/15 184.169.128.0/17 185.48.120.0/22 204.236.128.0/17 216.182.224.0/20
allow from env=allowall
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: