Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Extra Profile Fields Page Details »
Extra Profile Fields Page
Mod Version: 3.0.1, by Wired1 (Coder) Wired1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.3 Rating: (20 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 252
Released: 21 May 2008 Last Update: 09 Jun 2008 Downloads: 2180
Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Code Changes  

Don't forget to hit INSTALL!

You can find the 3.6.x version of this hack here.

This product will add a new page to the User CP for easy editing of specially marked profile fields, that for one reason or another you would like to split off from the main list. NOTE: Any fields marked for this page will not be seen in the user's profile. A mod I'll release later on will create a tab for them, fully editable like the "About Me" tab.

After the product is FULLY installed, when a you want to move a profile field to the new page for easy editing:

1. Go to the AdminCP and edit the field as normal.
2. At the bottom in the Display Page area, you will see "Which page displays this option?" The last option should say Options: $vbphrase[extra_options].
3. Save!

Personally, I use this page for PC specs, but it can also be used for other specs as well (e.g. cars). With an ADDITIONAL product (e.g. NOT this one), I place these specs in a dropdown list under the user title in each user's post, as well as in their profile as an extra tab.

Here's some examples of how I use this mod (with the Add-On mod, Extra Profile Fields Tab, and a separate mod, Profile Fields in a Postbit Dropdown):
http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=39826
Note: the pics in that thread are from 3.6.x, but you'll get the idea.


# of plugins: 3
# of php page edits: 1 (admincp/profilefield.php)
# of new templates: 1 (page)
# of template edits: 1 (USERCP_SHELL)
# of new phrases: 3 Click here for details. Also look at the attached pictures to see where they show up.


If you have a 3.6.x version of this on your forum and are running 3.7.0, please uninstall it via running backwards through the old instructions, and then follow the Install instructions.

To Install:
1) Save the attached product-wired1_epfp.xml file.
2) Navigate to AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product]
3) Browse to wherever you saved the file.
4) Allow Overwrite -> Yes.
5) Import!
6) Follow the instructions for the manual edits (1 template edit, 1 PHP page edit)

The install process should only take 5 minutes at most.

Don't forget to hit INSTALL!

Support will only be given to people who have hit install.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Display Page.jpg
Views:	2177
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	81093   Click image for larger version

Name:	Extra Page.jpg
Views:	3884
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	81094  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Profile Enhancements Extra Profile Fields Page Wired1 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 337 20 Aug 2008 09:42
Extra Profile Fields Page Wired1 vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 233 22 May 2008 21:05
Extra Profile Fields Page Zachery vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 124 11 Jan 2008 17:19

  #151  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 22:20
Turbe Turbe is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by jjdurrant View Post
"Extra Profile Fields" How do I change the name of the link?
Originally Posted by Wired1 View Post
WHICH link? If you mean the ones in the UserCP, the variables are already shown in the attached pics.

I think perhaps he was asking how to change the string "Edit Extra Options" that is shown in the User's CP..

I would like to change it to something else: "Edit Referral System" or "Edit Referral System Options"


Where is that done?

EDIT: I am asking pre-install questions..
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 04 Jan 2009, 02:38
lazyseller lazyseller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Did you try phrases?
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 11:14
firstimecaller's Avatar
firstimecaller firstimecaller is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
in the userCP template responsible for making the menu on the left side (I don't know which off the top of my head) I added a conditional that checked the usergroup (you can find out how to do that here somewhere, it is trivial) and added an element in that to display the link to the extra profile fields edit/update page. On that page, you can also add a check for that usergroup, and deny access unless they have permission, but I didn't bother in my application.
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 17 Jan 2009, 02:58
transparent transparent is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Could you please update this for 3.8 Gold??

I have it installed and working except if you set individual profile fields to show on the member list or be searchable they no longer appear. They were appearing perfectly on 3.7. Everything else seems to work fine including your additional profile tab hack!

It would rad if you could update it!
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 18 Jan 2009, 10:49
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by transparent View Post
Could you please update this for 3.8 Gold??

I have it installed and working except if you set individual profile fields to show on the member list or be searchable they no longer appear. They were appearing perfectly on 3.7. Everything else seems to work fine including your additional profile tab hack!

It would rad if you could update it!
Don't recall that ever being an offical part of the product. IIRC that was a hack of the member list someone posted.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 27 Jan 2009, 08:59
GHC Webmaster GHC Webmaster is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by Wired1 View Post
Don't recall that ever being an offical part of the product. IIRC that was a hack of the member list someone posted.
That's correct, see here

I notice one thing however. Using this code all profile fields from the extra page show on the advanced search form, even if they are set to not be searchable. Anyone an idea why?
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 28 Jan 2009, 11:36
GHC Webmaster GHC Webmaster is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by GHC Webmaster View Post
I notice one thing however. Using this code all profile fields from the extra page show on the advanced search form, even if they are set to not be searchable. Anyone an idea why?
Solved this myself, put brackets around the "form = 0 OR form = 6" bit, which makes the complete code edit of memberlist.php for the search function:

FIND line 233 (vB 3.8.1)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

REPLACE WITH


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

FIND line 905 (vB 3.8.1)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

REPLACE WITH


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 15 Mar 2009, 00:55
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
3.8.x version released:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=208356

No code changes whatsoever.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 15 Mar 2009, 13:00
Cees Cees is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Hi, im working with 3.8.1 and installed this mod and the mod for a extra tab. Working great. One question.. If somebody register, then the extra page doesnt have a separed block. It fields stand under other information.. Is it possible to get a on his one standing thing?

Last edited by Cees; 15 Mar 2009 at 16:07.
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 15 Mar 2009, 20:37
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by Cees View Post
Is it possible to get a on his one standing thing?
I have no idea what you just said, but 3.8.x questions should be in the 3.8.x thread about the tab mod, NOT in this thread.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net

Last edited by Wired1; 15 Mar 2009 at 20:49.
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 05 May 2009, 08:04
U.K.Visuals U.K.Visuals is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
i have a very strange problem since i updatet from 3.7.x to 3.8.x.

i m using TMS together with this hack. i decided to deinstall this hack from our forums beacause it was not used very often.
i removed the Template edits and the the product. but now i till have the Extra Profile Fileds when new users try to register on the page.

i don't know how to remove them.

could someone please help me out with this?
i have no clue where i have to look for in this kind of problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg profilefields.jpg (87.7 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 05 May 2009, 08:30
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
It has nothing to do with the mod. You have enabled the profile fields to show upon registration. Turn that off for each profile field.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 05 May 2009, 08:44
U.K.Visuals U.K.Visuals is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
thanks for your answer.

this was also my first idea, but i have no more profile fileds defined in the forums.
the page with the extra fields is empty?!
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 05 May 2009, 08:56
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
If you didn't change the profile fields back to a normal edit page before uninstalling the mod, you'll have to reinstall the mod in order to see the profile fields in the AdminCP again. After removing the fields from registration, change them back to normal edit pages, and then uninstall it again.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 05 May 2009, 09:56
U.K.Visuals U.K.Visuals is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
if i install the mod again the userfilds are still not showing in the AdminCP.

can i remove the fileds somehow in the SQL DB or something like that?
i have filed01 to field33 which i'm not using anymore.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: