Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Activity Modification Details »
Activity Modification
Mod Version: 3.03, by WetWired (Member) WetWired is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (32 votes - 4.81 average) Installs: 458
Released: 28 Apr 2008 Last Update: 06 Sep 2008 Downloads: 5932
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Translations  

This is the vB3.7/vB3.8 version of this modification.

Description
This hack adds an activity metric for users to your forum; this metric takes into account a variable number of weeks. Also provided is a Junior/Normal/Senior member system based on this metric, and a longevity metric (user registered time as a percent of the amount of time the first user has been registered).

Visiting each day and posting the configured amount of times per day for the configured number of weeks will yeild 100% activity. Posts are checked individually for each day, so days cannot be skipped then spammed up afterwards. The weight of visiting for the day relative to posting is configurable. Weeks are weighted so the most recent has a bigger impact on the activity percent than the most distant.

When a user logs in with activity above the configured threshold, they are promoted from Junior Member to Member. When they log in with the configured amount of time as Member, they are promoted to Senior Member. You can configure the mod to also add secondary usergroups when these promotions happen.

Complexity
This modification requires 1 XML import, uploading of images, and the addition of some CSS, depending on what options you choose

Technical
This hack adds 1 query to showthread for each user who posts in that page (or only 1 for the logged in user by configuration). In addition, the first time a member's post or profile is accessed during a day (GMT), 3 queries are performed to find that user's activity. By configuration, 1 query may be added to each page load to find the logged in user's "activity today". By configuration, 1 query may be added to each member profile view to find that member's "activity today".

Upgradability
This modification will import your settings and data from the 3.0/hack version
This modification will import your settings and data from the 3.5/3.6 mod version

Frequently Asked Questions
  • I don't see the Activity Settings section or Activity Maintenance link on the AdminCP navbar
    You're probably seeing a cached (old) copy of the navbar. Try pressing Ctrl-F5 in IE or FF, or whatever your browser requires to force it to load the current version of the page.
  • I installed this mod and nothing shows up
    First, go to AdminCP|Activity Settings|Display and make sure the dropdown settings are not set to None. If they aren't set to none, the most likely cause is using an old style which does not have template hooks; verify this by creating a new style without a parent and checking to see if the mod displays on it (the images probably won't load, though). If the mod displays on the default style but not your normal one, you need to add template hooks, otherwise post here for help.
  • I installed this mod using the Download/Upload Plugin page and there was an error/it doesn't seem to work
    To install this mod, you need to use the Add/Import Product link on the Manage Products page
  • I just installed and everyone's activity seems low
    1. Part of the activity calculation is what days users visited on. This information isn't collected before the mod is installed, so no user can have 100% activity untill you've been running the mod for the full period of time you have it set to monitor
    2. Please realize that there is no "roll over" for activity; if you have it set to look at 4 posts per day, your users must post 4 posts on each individual day to obtain 100%.
  • I founded this forum, but I don't have 100% longevity
    Somehow a user's join date has been set before yours. When you install, the mod looks for the earliest join date to use to find longevity, but you can change the baseline date. To change the "Start of board" time, go to Maintenance>Activity Maintenance>Set Start of Board, enter your user number in the text field, then click Set Start of Board
  • Why don't the images don't show up?/Why does the postcount have 's's in front of it?
    Be sure to upload one of the activity directories from activityimages.zip to the misc directory for each of your styles. To find a style's misc directory, goto the Style Manager, then from the dropdown next to the style, choose Stylevars. The setting Miscellaneous Images Folder contains the path to that style's misc directory, where you need to upload the activity directory
  • Can I use activity for promotions?
    The project to build a full-blown promotion hack for use with this mod has been cancelled, after losing all of my work, however a much simpler system that adds secondary groups based on two thresholds has been added to the main hack.
  • Can you make X number get split up into digits?
    I understand where you're coming from with this one, but I just can't figure out a way to work this that would be simple to use.
  • The tooltips don't wrap and get cut off with FireFox
    The same thing happens to other vB tooltips (the thumbnail ones, for example). If you know a way to add line breaks to FF tooltips without scripting, please let me know.
Change log

Note: To upgrade, with the old version still installed, go to the Add/Import Product link on the Manage Products page, select the XML file for the new version, choose Yes for overwrite, then click Import.

Update 3.03 release
  • Fixed a PHP error that some people were having

Update 3.01 release
  • Fixed a PHP warning that did not break anything. It should no longer be added to your error logs.

Update 3.00 release
No changes

Update 3.00 beta 3
  • Fixed template to use correct forumhome location
  • Separated text-version stat block into its own template
  • Moved settings into their own navigation group on the left (refresh AdminCP page after upgrading)
  • Added new customization reference page to install zip

Update 3.00 beta 2
  • Fixed a bug which prevented the postbit display option from working
  • Fixed a bug where the Top Activity link could be in the navbar without the Top Activity page being enabled
  • Fixed a bug where certain users have postcount of 'n/a' in Top Activity
  • Added diagnostic screen
  • Set minimum forum version

Version 3 (3.00 beta 1) vs Version 2 (2.80)
  • Added template hook and DOM based styling; manual template modification no longer needed
  • Split the options page into four options pages
  • Added many options to control the style of the mod
  • Added "Countdown to 100%" feature in the Top Activity page
  • All new profile page display for vB3.7
Support

Please click the install link if you install this hack
I will support this hack in this thread on about a weekly basis.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	thread.jpg
Views:	6703
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	79341   Click image for larger version

Name:	threadfancy.jpg
Views:	6100
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	79342   Click image for larger version

Name:	topactivity.gif
Views:	3252
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	79343   Click image for larger version

Name:	cpoptgeneral.jpg
Views:	807
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	79345  

Click image for larger version

Name:	cpoptdisplay.jpg
Views:	1085
Size:	127.3 KB
ID:	79346   Click image for larger version

Name:	cpoptrank.jpg
Views:	1360
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	79347   Click image for larger version

Name:	cpoptstat.jpg
Views:	932
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	79348  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Activity Modification WetWired vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 572 29 Jan 2013 04:50
Top Activity List for Activity Modification WetWired vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 5 31 Oct 2007 22:00
Add-On Releases [Addon] TopX Activity Modification v1.0 Beta 1 Logikos Modification Graveyard 10 30 Apr 2006 04:07

  #286  
Old 08 Apr 2009, 14:23
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
I'm not sure I understand. You're saying that when a user is viewing a user profile that they show as viewing the home page on the who's online?

Are you sure this mod is responsible? I don't do anything that should effect the locations there.

Also note that it will display that location when the location isn't known, such as when an AJAX script or dynamic image script runs if it isn't properly setup not to show in the who's online. Since AJAX scripts and images are loaded after the main page, these would clobber the location.
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old 14 Apr 2009, 18:10
Silver Tiger Silver Tiger is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I installed it, but I can't get the images to show up. I see the stuff in the post bit, but the images don't show up.
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old 15 Apr 2009, 05:33
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Did you put the images in the correct place? It's a different place for each style. Right click the broken image and get the path where the browser is looking from the properties. That should help you figure out where the images belong.
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old 28 Apr 2009, 11:08
robby-gr robby-gr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
One problem.

Hello I need a help if someone have the experience of this happen.
When I am pressing stats on the navbar I am getting this error on the top of the statistic page:
Warning: unserialize() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in [path]/index.php(67) : eval()'d code on line 79
I am appreciated for any idea or help
Thanks
Robby-gr
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old 28 Apr 2009, 13:32
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Are you using the default datastore code, or are you using memcache or another alternative?
What vB version are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old 28 Apr 2009, 13:48
robby-gr robby-gr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hello WetWired thanks for reply me.
I use VB3.8.2 and xcache and you have right!! I disabled the vB_Datastore_XCache and came back to vbulletin default vB_Datastore_Filecache and now is working ok.
But if you know (neither no) a way to work with xcache too I will appreciated you, so much.
With respect
Robby

Last edited by robby-gr; 28 Apr 2009 at 14:15.
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 03 May 2009, 17:51
EmilGH EmilGH is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Hey -- GREAT mod -- it's become the lifeblood of a site I co-run. Two quick questions:

1. Is there a way to modify the "Top Activity" page to show last login instead of join date?

2. Is there a way to modify the "Top Activity" page to hide banned users (or users that are in a specific usergroup)?

We have an activity-based site, and when people fall below a certain activity level they get put into an inactive group. I'd like to be able to hide those folks from the top activity page so we see only the actives.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 03 May 2009, 21:43
dbirosel dbirosel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Real name: Dante
Is this compatible with v3.8 yet? I would love to use this mod.
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 04 May 2009, 06:38
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by EmilGH View Post
Hey -- GREAT mod -- it's become the lifeblood of a site I co-run. Two quick questions:

1. Is there a way to modify the "Top Activity" page to show last login instead of join date?

2. Is there a way to modify the "Top Activity" page to hide banned users (or users that are in a specific usergroup)?

We have an activity-based site, and when people fall below a certain activity level they get put into an inactive group. I'd like to be able to hide those folks from the top activity page so we see only the actives.

Thanks!
The problem with mucking with the top activity is that when you do it, the optimization to prevent checking everyone's activity breaks... since you are interested in the activity of a limited group of people, perhaps that is something you can deal with.

in the plugin marked "Top Activity" (for forumhome), find

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

replace with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This should (I'm not testing any of this) remove the optimization and instead only include people whose primary group is not group 100.

For the date thing, I think you should be able to
find (in the same plugin)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 04 May 2009, 06:39
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by dbirosel View Post
Is this compatible with v3.8 yet? I would love to use this mod.
It's my understanding that it is.
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 04 May 2009, 08:22
robby-gr robby-gr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hello WetWired can you drop me one line answer?

I use VB3.8.2 and xcache and you have right!! I disabled the vB_Datastore_XCache and came back to vbulletin default vB_Datastore_Filecache and now is working ok.
But if you know (neither no) a way to work with xcache too I will appreciated you, so much.
With respect
Robby
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 04 May 2009, 15:34
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
I don't know anything about xcache or why it messes up the top activity caching. The error you gave was related to the datastore, so that was the prime suspect. TBH, if you're getting that error I'm not sure how anything can work on your forum, since everything uses the datastore. The top activity uses it in a non-standard way, though, since the usual way would require a separate file for the top activity page.

There are two relatively easy ways to solve the problem:
  1. Don't cache the top activity information This is a very simple edit, but probably not one you'd want to make, as you'd be re-calculating the activity for the entire forum with each view.
  2. Roll the updates back into the standalone file version While straight forward, this would still take some time to do. Ideally, this would include changes to the rest of the mod to allow the administrator to choose whether or not to use the external file.

The third option would be to find out what xcache is doing, but as I said I know nothing about it.
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 05 May 2009, 15:37
robby-gr robby-gr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hello WetWired thanks for your answering me.
I understud these you wrote me.
I dont have other problems using xcache, datastore is working ok.
I will search and make some other combinations to find a way to work with xcache without this message on the top of page, I hope to find an answer
I like your mod very much, is good clever and clean job.
Thanks a lot.
Robby
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 05 May 2009, 17:49
EmilGH EmilGH is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by WetWired View Post
The problem with mucking with the top activity is that when you do it, the optimization to prevent checking everyone's activity breaks... since you are interested in the activity of a limited group of people, perhaps that is something you can deal with.

in the plugin marked "Top Activity" (for forumhome), find

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

replace with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This should (I'm not testing any of this) remove the optimization and instead only include people whose primary group is not group 100.

For the date thing, I think you should be able to
find (in the same plugin)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
All worked perfectly -- thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 06 May 2009, 05:42
WetWired's Avatar
WetWired WetWired is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by robby-gr View Post
Hello WetWired thanks for your answering me.
I understud these you wrote me.
I dont have other problems using xcache, datastore is working ok.
I will search and make some other combinations to find a way to work with xcache without this message on the top of page, I hope to find an answer
I like your mod very much, is good clever and clean job.
Thanks a lot.
Robby
Try this:
Upload the attached file to your forum directory and access activitystat.php with xcache on. See if it works without giving an error message. If it doesn't give an error message, I will follow up with the template changes to integrate it propperly.
Attached Files
File Type: php activitystat.php (13.1 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: