Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02 Feb 2010, 05:17
pein87's Avatar
pein87 pein87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
How do I move the navbits?

I have a forum right now that does not have navbits because I tried to move them out of the navbar template. I failed and I really have no clue how to do it. My forums is NarutoSoul. I added a custom welcome box below the in-progress navbar. Right between the new navbar and welcome box I want to add the navbits there. Does anyone know how to do this and could explain to me how its done please?
__________________


Were your Naruto Soul comes to place..

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 11:43
Drareg's Avatar
Drareg Drareg is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Gerard
The navbits are located in the Header template, look for <!-- nav buttons bar --> and <!--/ nav buttons bar -->
__________________
Admin and owner of www.wfcfotobeeld.com
Dutch amature and pro photographers forum and gallery
<a href=http://www.wfcfotobeeld.com target=_blank>www.wfcfotobeeld.com</a>
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 17:51
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
Originally Posted by Drareg View Post
The navbits are located in the Header template, look for <!-- nav buttons bar --> and <!--/ nav buttons bar -->
Correction that is only on some styles on most styles its located on the navbar template.
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Feb 2010, 06:12
pein87's Avatar
pein87 pein87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Yeah I know in the default its in the navbar section but If I remove that info and add it to the header template it will not show. That skin was coded by me and another admin of my site. I removed the code before and it will not show the navbits.

Heres the code I got from the navbar template

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

if you visit my site and go to the default skin I move it to the header template and it will not show anything but the forums title.
__________________


Were your Naruto Soul comes to place..


Last edited by pein87; 06 Feb 2010 at 06:28.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Feb 2010, 10:59
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
So you want to add the navbits between the two menus? The navbar and the menu above it? If so then you may want to try and place the code at the very top of your navbar depending upon where the other menu resides in the templates. I would make sure that the menu above the navbar is in the header personally and then place the navbits code at the top of the navbar template. You can place that code in a table or just place it as it is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Feb 2010, 06:27
pein87's Avatar
pein87 pein87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
kind of I made a custom navbar using suckerfish since the original vbulletin one has its limits. I noticed that you can't display navbits outside of the navbar template. All my custom work is in the header template. The funny thing is it has $navbits = build_navbits($navbits); on index.php but if you move the above code form my last post into the header template it will not display the navbits. Does anyone know of away to move the navbits into the header template?
__________________


Were your Naruto Soul comes to place..

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13 Feb 2010, 02:15
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by pein87 View Post
Does anyone know of away to move the navbits into the header template?
Yep! Try this...

Open your header template and add this code where you want the navbits to show:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now if you have already taken the navbits out of the navbar template, you should be done if not remove the following code from your navbar:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Keep in mind that this part of the code usually has the login/register code in it. you will have to not deleted that if you still have it in the navbar. If you want to move it to the header check here for info: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=235490
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 Feb 2010, 10:07
pein87's Avatar
pein87 pein87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thats what I already posted it will not show anything at all on other pages besides index.php.
__________________


Were your Naruto Soul comes to place..

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14 Feb 2010, 15:37
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Ok in order for it to show on the other pages you may have to place that same code on the other pages that utilize the header areas. So try copying that code into the templates that contain the $navbar code in them. you can find that by using the Search In Templates function in your admincp. There are several of them off the top of my head I know that FORUMHOME, FORUMDISPLAY, SHOWTHREAD, SHOWTHREADSHOPOST & threadbit I believe are some of them. You would also have to put the code in the calendar template if you use it and the faq etc. That may be the only way to do it. I've done that before with a skin and had to pretty much put that code in every place I used that had the navbar code in it. It would be alot of places to stick the code but it would solve your problem of not having the navbits exactly where you wanted them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 00:47
pein87's Avatar
pein87 pein87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
My question is if it has the navbits code in the php page why wouldn't it work by just moving the code to the header template since header shows on all pages? could I call the $navbar inside the header template and just remove it from the files?
__________________


Were your Naruto Soul comes to place..

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 10:01
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
You might be able to call the $navbits code in your header. I do not remember if I've tried that yet or not. Its possible that might work. Usually in most cases code works no matter where you put it but in the header, footer & navbar for some reason. There are other codes that cannot be moved either without some headaches like the Who's Online box. So its basically a trail and error sort of thing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 10:25
pein87's Avatar
pein87 pein87 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I tried adding the $navbar variable to the header template and so far so good next I'm going to test if I can remove the $navbar variable from forumhome, forumdisplay etc... to see if it works that way. Its such a huge work around for such a small code vbulletin needs to make the template system more flexible. Thanks for your help mate.
__________________


Were your Naruto Soul comes to place..

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 17:03
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
No prob, hope it works.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16 Feb 2010, 14:27
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Your problem might be due to the fact that not all data that is needed for the navbar is available when the header is put out. The easiest solution would be to not move it to the header.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Feb 2010, 08:23
BLykMik BLykMik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden View Post
Your problem might be due to the fact that not all data that is needed for the navbar is available when the header is put out. The easiest solution would be to not move it to the header.
Could you hide it (visually) and then place a copy of it wherever you want in the style?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: