Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ Google friends Connect Details »
UKBL ~ Google friends Connect
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.2 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 8
Released: 28 May 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 61
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  


UKBL ~ Google friends Connect


A simple and effective way to let your members sign up to their google friends from your forum


Lets start...

This will add a small Google friends connect box next to your username in the navbar, This is just one of many possabilities for using this new Google friends Connect



Ok so first we need to set up a Google friends connect account at google so go to this link here and sign up

http://www.google.com/friendconnect/...start?hl=en_US

1. Click on "Friends Connect for websites"

2. Add your site name and Url

3. Download and save to your server the two files which are then shown, these are
rpc_relay.html and canvas.html

You need to save them onto your root directory, if you see the instructions it will show you where

Don't worry if you've made a mistake, google will soon tell you

4. Once you've done that you need to click on the members gadgets on the left hand side menu, Click on "Sign in Gadget"

5. Then "Create HTML Code"

and thats the first part done.

Now to add it to the Navbar

In Notepad or a text editor of your choice add the following code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

you should have something along the lines of this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Now save this in Notepad, because we now need to upload this onto our Navbar template

Go to edit the following template in your admin CP

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

In template NAVBAR find


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and directly below it add your saved code.

Then save, and thats it

Members will be able to sign up, Using their Google, Aim and Yahoo id's



and then the login box will turn like this...



where members can then sort out their friends and send invites etc..



Enjoy

UPDATE:

For those of you That would prefer the Social Bar that goes accross the top of your screen, then here are the instructions



LIVE DEMO : http://www.ossamples.com/freestyle/

1. Sign up to Google friends as described above and the from the menu on the left choose "Social Bar"

Add a social bar to your site

Put a social bar at the top of your site's pages to give your visitors easy access to Friend Connect's social features.

Enable your visitors to easily join and discover each other
Let visitors read and post comments together
Activities taking place in social gadgets throughout your site bubble to the top
No need to redesign your pages
2. Fill in the Options 1 on that page, thats easy enough.

3. Option 2 creates the HTML code that we'll need to ad to our site it looks something like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So now we need to ad the code to our site, and its so easy, First we go to our adminCP and Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Your Style >

and at the top of your header template add the code, then save.

Thats it, You should see your sites new google social bar at the top of your forum




As always Please Click installed if you use

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	signin1.png
Views:	22
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	99696   Click image for larger version

Name:	signin2.png
Views:	20
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	99697   Click image for larger version

Name:	signin3.png
Views:	15
Size:	45.9 KB
ID:	99698   Click image for larger version

Name:	signin4.png
Views:	22
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	99699  

Click image for larger version

Name:	friendconnect-logo.gif
Views:	6
Size:	4.8 KB
ID:	99700  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements UKBL ~ Easy Google Translator UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 72 28 Dec 2009 15:11
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ Google Adsense in Navbar UKBusinessLive Modification Graveyard 1 28 Apr 2009 18:35

Comments
  #2  
Old 28 May 2009, 00:54
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Reserved
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 May 2009, 01:01
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
great mod!
i just wish I had friends through google
now a twitter one and I would be rockin!
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 May 2009, 01:12
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Loco.M View Post
great mod!
i just wish I had friends through google
now a twitter one and I would be rockin!
Thanks Loco, I think i'll save that for a rainy day
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28 May 2009, 02:44
Mum Mum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kirsty
So does this actually allow someone to log in to the site, and be validated using this sign in box, or does it simply add another log in box for them to also sign into.

IE once they log in using this box, can they post etc, or do they still need to log into the forum?

If they log in, what can they then do? Are they able to use the chatting box that google friends connect supply?
__________________
Mummybrain.com We're virtually family
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 May 2009, 05:55
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Mum View Post
So does this actually allow someone to log in to the site, and be validated using this sign in box, or does it simply add another log in box for them to also sign into.

IE once they log in using this box, can they post etc, or do they still need to log into the forum?

If they log in, what can they then do? Are they able to use the chatting box that google friends connect supply?
have a read here http://www.google.com/friendconnect/...dgets?hl=en_US

Ideally its best if they do login to your forum to access this as this is a service to members as opposed to non members. You can change the usergroups which have permission to see this by changing the conditional in the code. if they log onto the forum, they will need to log into this as well to be able to use it, but a cookie will ensure that they are logged in until they chose to exit it.

best thing to do is to try it and see, This is a new experiance for me too!!!



You will be able to connect to Orkut, Plaxo, Twitter, Netlog to name a few

For a full Help page see here http://www.google.com/support/friendconnect/

I've also added it to my forum http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum and taken the conditional out so that everyone will be able to view, just so that you'll be able to see it working

Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 28 May 2009 at 06:12.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 May 2009, 06:32
Mum Mum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kirsty
Thanks, will check it out now!
__________________
Mummybrain.com We're virtually family
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 May 2009, 06:36
Mum Mum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kirsty
See here http://www.google.com/friendconnect/...dgets?hl=en_US the one i wanted was the social bar - is there any way to make this show like this?
__________________
Mummybrain.com We're virtually family
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 May 2009, 15:08
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
okay! i did something wrong I dont see it on my navbar.....where is it that i upload on ftp??? I'm kinda new to all of this...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28 May 2009, 17:39
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Mum View Post
See here http://www.google.com/friendconnect/...dgets?hl=en_US the one i wanted was the social bar - is there any way to make this show like this?

Ok i'll add it to the above explanation

All done now Mum, The instructions for the social bar is now added as an update to the mod

Enjoy

Gerry

Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 28 May 2009 at 17:58.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28 May 2009, 18:02
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by mamashid View Post
okay! i did something wrong I dont see it on my navbar.....where is it that i upload on ftp??? I'm kinda new to all of this...
You need to upload the two html files which you've saved doing the google sign up, to your Root directory.

You then need to add the HTML code which was generated for you, to your navbar template in your admincp, see below

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

Then save, it should work then, let me know how you got on
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28 May 2009, 18:18
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
okay thanks for replying. I opened up my ftp and then have the server up, from there do I juse upload it, or do I need to open any other files??? Not sure if this is where I am confused or not, as its just not showing up on the board....I did the edit template but got nothing....is it okay if i paste the code here so you can see if its right?

Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
You need to upload the two html files which you've saved doing the google sign up, to your Root directory.

You then need to add the HTML code which was generated for you, to your navbar template in your admincp, see below

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

Then save, it should work then, let me know how you got on
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28 May 2009, 18:22
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
like do i need to open any certain files in my root directory...please explain in not so computer savvy terms...lol
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28 May 2009, 18:24
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by mamashid View Post
okay thanks for replying. I opened up my ftp and then have the server up, from there do I juse upload it, or do I need to open any other files??? Not sure if this is where I am confused or not, as its just not showing up on the board....I did the edit template but got nothing....is it okay if i paste the code here so you can see if its right?
I can see it


Perhaps you need to refresh your screen, Press Ctrl + F5 at the same time, that refreshes the page direct from the server

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28 May 2009, 18:25
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
wait i see it but its only there if i use firefox...how do i get it to show up on IE too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: