Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rename register.php by BOP5 Details »
Rename register.php by BOP5
Mod Version: 1.1.5, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (36 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 272
Released: 04 May 2013 Last Update: 09 May 2013 Downloads: 937
Supported Uses Plugins Code Changes  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5 / Qapla.com

It's great when you stop spam bots during registration but this mod gives you a chance to stop them BEFORE they even attempt to register.

I have received multiple reports from people who say their "register.php" was getting hammered with spam requests- so much so it was like a denial of service attack. Even if they disabled registration they would waste so much resources their site was slow or worse- had to be taken offline.

What this mod does is allow you to rename the register.php file- my theory is many of the vBulletin spamming bots are hard coded to look for register.php. Using a unique name will throw them off, at least for a while.

To manually change the name of register.php would have meant dozens, maybe hundreds of manual edits to files and templates previously.

This mod makes it as simple as possible. At worst you will need to edit 2 phrases and 1 file, and some people don't need to edit anything at all.

Compatible with VB 3.8.x (and 3.7, and 3.6 probably too) and all VB 4.x.x versions.

Basic Instructions
1) Import XML File
2) Go to mod settings in Admin CP
3) Rename your register.php file via FTP or some other means- make it a unique value but only use basic letters, numbers, underscores, or hyphens. Something like "joeregister999.php"
4) In the mod settings, set the value of register.php to the new file name you chose.
5) If you require email verification during registration follow the next setting in the Admin CP and edit the phrases listed (activateaccount and activateaccount_chnage phrases in Email Body)
6) Finally, if you use Facebook Connect on your forum make the manual file edit of class_bootstrap.php as instructed.

Now enjoy your new filename for register.php, I hope it reduces server load and spam in general.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

----

Note- if having problems sending activation codes or other Admin CP related activities use the solution in post #197.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	bop5_rr_settings.jpg
Views:	1322
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	144820  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #136  
Old 11 Nov 2013, 18:38
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I'm not really sure what the question is, Tapatalk shouldn't be affected by this mod, which is what I already posted.

VB.org advisers generally do not provide mod support unless it is their own mods. Not that there is any rules against it but generally they are in no better position than anyone else when it comes to how a mod works.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 12 Nov 2013, 15:32
freak46 freak46 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Thanks works fine for 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 07 Dec 2013, 01:46
dizzynation's Avatar
dizzynation dizzynation is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
BOP5 - Any chance you can make a GOLD version that will allow you to change the forum.php page?

I would really love to have the ability to have something different then forum.php
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 07 Dec 2013, 02:09
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by dizzynation View Post
BOP5 - Any chance you can make a GOLD version that will allow you to change the forum.php page?

I would really love to have the ability to have something different then forum.php
I could make such a Gold version... but... it's actually built in to vBulletin.

Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Forum Home: Options -> Script Name for Forum Home Page

Default is: forum (for forum.php) - Rename it to anything then rename the forum.php file.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 07 Dec 2013, 03:49
dizzynation's Avatar
dizzynation dizzynation is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thanks for that! I don't mean to highjack your thread but when I did that^ Im just getting a blank white page.

The forum is in a folder /client/ so before I could just go to mysite.com/client/ and it would show the forum, but now I have to do /client/support.php to see the forum.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 07 Dec 2013, 03:56
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by dizzynation View Post
Thanks for that! I don't mean to highjack your thread but when I did that^ Im just getting a blank white page.

The forum is in a folder /client/ so before I could just go to mysite.com/client/ and it would show the forum, but now I have to do /client/support.php to see the forum.

Any thoughts?
link to site?
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 07 Dec 2013, 07:45
Davey-UK's Avatar
Davey-UK Davey-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sheffield-UK
Real name: Dave
Excellent mod. That got rid of the rascals. Great work!
__________________
==========================================
If it aint broke -------------------- Don't fix it!!
==========================================
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 07 Dec 2013, 12:33
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by dizzynation View Post
Thanks for that! I don't mean to highjack your thread but when I did that^ Im just getting a blank white page.

The forum is in a folder /client/ so before I could just go to mysite.com/client/ and it would show the forum, but now I have to do /client/support.php to see the forum.

Any thoughts?

If you're using VB 4.2+ you will also need to go to Navigation Manager in Admin CP and change the URL of Forums there as well.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 17 Dec 2013, 20:28
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Seems to me like this mod works best if you switch the name up regularly. Not all the time, mind you. But depending on the frequency of bots owners figuring out the location, every few weeks/months or so. Combined with a registration timer, this could be devastating! I'm going to give this a try, along with some other experimentation, on my 3.8.7. board during the soft open this week.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 03:18
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Joe I got a issue with this. It seems it breaks the inline moderation. When I tick on the checkboxes to moderate posts / threads, it says Invalid Thread Specified when you try to do anything.

This is what it shows in the error console for FF.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Which what it is doing is interfering with this bit of code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Which is in about 9 templates in a default vB, it is replacing register_inlinemod with, whatever_you_changed_the_name_to_inlinemod

Took me forever to figure out it was you mod causing it, as I just about disabled every other mod i had running.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 03:45
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ozzy, so this is affecting all of us who have this installed? ... Im a little confused here ...
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 03:54
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Maybe it is something I added in the replacement_vars plugin. So it may not be his mod after all.

And now that I look at the original code it is indeed what I added. Sorry for the confusion.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 03:56
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Maybe it is something I added in the replacement_vars plugin. So it may not be his mod after all.

And now that I look at the original code it is indeed what I added. Sorry for the confusion.
Ah ! ok good stuff man! lol...yer' still da' Man !! lol ... thanks for clarifying !
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 03:57
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
----> goes and hides in corner.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 03:59
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
A facepalm will help too! hahah...lol...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: