Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Database Backup Pro (Lite) for vb 3.6 Details »
vB Database Backup Pro (Lite) for vb 3.6
Mod Version: 2.12, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (41 votes - 4.66 average) Installs: 582
Released: 18 Sep 2006 Last Update: 10 Oct 2006 Downloads: 3334
Not Supported Auto-Template Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

When vb 3.5 first came out I was using this backup system on my vb 3.0 - and having nothing better to use - I converted it to work on vb 3.5 (here) and since then I have cut it down and adapted it for vb 3.6.

The original version was by Trigunflame and the rights to the code were bought by Zoints (D.Chapman) in January. A while ago David gave me permission to release my adaption, but until now I haven't got round to it. Trigunflame did mention a few months ago he was working on a new version, but nothing ever appeared.

I have stripped out much of the extra stuff that I do not use (or indeed, could not get to work). This is a simple (lite) version that does a php based dump of your database either as one file, or one file per table. It's been in use on our forum since the day 3.6 was installed.

Notes:
* I will not add anything new to this, or spend vast amounts of time supporting it.
* This is a Lite version to allow people to use the basic 3.0 backup functionality on 3.6.


History:

v2.10 : First internal version.
v2.11 : Bug fixes, some code changes.
v2.12 : Initial Public Release.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #466  
Old 01 Dec 2007, 11:30
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by MPDesignZ View Post
I'm getting the same error and I've set the directory that the backups are to go into at 777 already, so I'm at a loss as to what permissions we are talking about here.
Probably open_basdir restrictions.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #467  
Old 01 Dec 2007, 14:31
MPDesignZ MPDesignZ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Real name: Damien
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Probably open_basdir restrictions.
Not sure what that is. Where would I find the open_basedir?

Thanks
MP
Reply With Quote
  #468  
Old 01 Dec 2007, 16:31
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
open_basedir restrictions are part of how php is set-up, speak to your host to find out what they may be on your set-up.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #469  
Old 01 Dec 2007, 18:26
Triky's Avatar
Triky Triky is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: [Italy]
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=461

Can you help me, Paul M?
__________________
I'm italian, I am learning english.. so, please, if you see any errors in my grammar or spelling, let me know via PM. Danke!
Reply With Quote
  #470  
Old 01 Dec 2007, 22:09
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Not really, I cannot answer server specific questions as I have no idea how you are set-up.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #471  
Old 02 Dec 2007, 12:21
MPDesignZ MPDesignZ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Real name: Damien
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
open_basedir restrictions are part of how php is set-up, speak to your host to find out what they may be on your set-up.
Ok it was allowing backups just fine before and now they are not working on the regular database backup system within vbulletin. This is why I went in search of this mod and was trying it out, so I think this maybe another issue all together that I will have to address. I will keep the php open_basedir in mind just in case. But I was able to do backups before we installed FlashChat.

Thanks
MP
Reply With Quote
  #472  
Old 05 Dec 2007, 07:27
member007's Avatar
member007 member007 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Go to your Scheduled Task Manager in the ACP and run the cron job.
Works great!! Only problem is that I got too many sql files being generated instead of one sql file to restore. For example, I got Live-2007-12-05-access.sql, Live-2007-12-05-adminhelp.sql, Live-2007-12-05-administrator.sql and the list goes on and on. How does this happen?
Reply With Quote
  #473  
Old 05 Dec 2007, 17:50
ChurchMedia's Avatar
ChurchMedia ChurchMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Tim Eason
Originally Posted by member007 View Post
Works great!! Only problem is that I got too many sql files being generated instead of one sql file to restore. For example, I got Live-2007-12-05-access.sql, Live-2007-12-05-adminhelp.sql, Live-2007-12-05-administrator.sql and the list goes on and on. How does this happen?
That's just the way it's coded. It has its benefits. All of my PHP scripts share the same database, so I like the tables to be separated like that. If you wanted to restore all of them at once, I'm pretty sure you could just use a wildcard (*.sql) to dump back into the database.
Reply With Quote
  #474  
Old 05 Dec 2007, 18:12
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
It's controlled by a setting in the config file (just read the file).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #475  
Old 07 Dec 2007, 11:20
edgecutioner edgecutioner is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Qatar
Real name: ???
In accordance to this post by SkyCatcher on Linux Distros, if your host uses cPanel, you can get your root directory by seeing the 'Home Directory' and adding that value with the directory of the desired folder where your autobackup goes. In my setup, it's like this:

$backup['DUMP_PATH'] = 'home/(my username)/ws/autobackup'; // Path to backups folder, with trailing slash
where home/(my username), I got that from cPanel and I just appended the directory I wanted.

Thanks for the port Paul
Reply With Quote
  #476  
Old 08 Dec 2007, 00:12
hqvtl2004 hqvtl2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Can you add new function that send backup file to an specific email address? I think it's will be great feature in next version.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #477  
Old 10 Dec 2007, 22:17
MrApples MrApples is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Whats the minimum Chmod?
Reply With Quote
  #478  
Old 11 Dec 2007, 11:20
[email protected] TrIn@dOr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Perhaps someone can help me.

After executing this nice script, i have in my selected folder under the today date my 118 sql files. Each one represent a table, Ok?

In my CMD i copy *.sql to theone.sql, right?, to make only 1 file.

Then, locally in my phpmyadmin i try to import the unique file trough the dir ./upload (large file procedure for phpmyadim), yes?

But im getting a halt on the table 85, and all the rest of the tables are not imported.

Why?, need help, this is critical for us.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #479  
Old 11 Dec 2007, 19:33
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
That sounds like a phpmyadmin issue - but someone might have a clue if you tell us what error message you get.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #480  
Old 13 Dec 2007, 18:04
control1110 control1110 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I am looking at the config file and something is confusing me does this mod take the forum into offline mode while it is doing the backup or can users still use the forum?
__________________
vb 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: