Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Move Thread Presets (New Version - Templates Only) Details »
Move Thread Presets (New Version - Templates Only)
Mod Version: 2.01, by Michael Morris (Member) Michael Morris is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.1 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 18
Released: 19 Jun 2004 Last Update: 02 Nov 2004 Downloads: 7
Not Supported  

Moving threads is something we all do on a somewhat regular to fairly regular basis. The existing move system is very flexiable, but if you find yourself making repeated moves to the same forum it can become tedious, especially if you are on dialup.

This template mod (version 1.0 was a hack) takes some of the pain out of the repetition by allowing you make the thread move with a single mouse click from the thread presets.

This is a very simple modification. It only requires 3 modifications spread over 2 templates.

The main advantage of version 2.0 over version 1.1 is that no code modifications are necessary. This makes things less of a pain during upgrades. And as a bonus it doesn't void your support plan from Jelsoft.

Version 2.01 - bug fix.

EDIT: You can also make a preset that copies threads with this hack if you specify $_POST['method'] = 'copy'; instead of 'move' or 'movered'

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin Project Tools [product] Declarations new version with the possibility of adding 16 PNR + move and i adhmwagde Modification Graveyard 5 09 Sep 2007 12:04
Statistics Modifications [product] Declarations new version with the possibility of adding 16 PNR + move and i adhmwagde Modification Graveyard 2 08 Sep 2007 23:46

Comments
  #2  
Old 19 Jun 2004, 22:51
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
You forgot to add your attachment and instructions
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19 Jun 2004, 22:52
Chris Gwynne's Avatar
Chris Gwynne Chris Gwynne is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Nice for you to include it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19 Jun 2004, 23:45
Floris's Avatar
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by Chris Gwynne
Nice for you to include it.
I clicked install
__________________
My community; https://omgboards.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 00:10
SnowBot's Avatar
SnowBot SnowBot is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Snowy
Originally Posted by Michael_Morris
- it's not really all *that* .
hehe this is true
__________________
A Disability Chat Community
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 04:26
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
I'm trying, but the server keeps timing out anytime I try to attach the file or edit the first post.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 04:38
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Ok I figured it out. You see, I drive a truck for a living and usually I access the net through WIFI or my cell phone. However, this weekend I'm on my home's LAN, and the router has a glitch blocking large HTML sends I never have figured out. Instead I dodge the issue by hooking the computer straight into the DSL modem when I need to send files. Sorry for the confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 11:41
Yahhoon23 Yahhoon23 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Just one thing.

I use a recycle bin or trash area, so by installing this hack and having the new option Move Thread to Bin, how can I make it default so Move Thread Without Redirect is a default preset along with the Recycle Bin Forum that will be a preset default?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 12:18
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Thankyou for sharing your work with the community
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 12:58
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Originally Posted by Yahhoon23
Just one thing.

I use a recycle bin or trash area, so by installing this hack and having the new option Move Thread to Bin, how can I make it default so Move Thread Without Redirect is a default preset along with the Recycle Bin Forum that will be a preset default?
Add this line in the if statement directly after the forum id of your recycle bin.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Hence the whole if statement should read something like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thanks for pointing this out. I don't necessarily want redirects either but I didn't bother to check to see whether or not they were being left.

Last edited by Michael_Morris; 20 Jun 2004 at 13:01.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 13:03
Yahhoon23 Yahhoon23 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Thanks alot. Worked like a champ.

This is one of those hacks that might not seem like a major deal, but it actually does save a tad bit of bandwidth of reloading the move thread page for people with alot of threads to move.

And also, well just makes it alot easier for my lazy people

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 13:25
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
NP, and thanks for pointing it out. Updated the attachment to reflect the information we just discussed.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 13:37
Yahhoon23 Yahhoon23 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Yeah, just a tidbit. I am using Gold 3.0.0 and it works fine on here.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20 Jun 2004, 13:44
sketch42's Avatar
sketch42 sketch42 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: Zac
im using 3.0.1 wo0t im gettin lazier and lazier by the min :lick:
__________________
Some Hacks Installed on my vb3.0.7 Board
Quick Ban G.A.S. Sigs Once Per Page
Database Backup Pro Get New Posts
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21 Jun 2004, 09:33
Intex Intex is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Can you list what additional options this provides. Thx.



Originally Posted by Michael_Morris
I believe this is stable - it's not really all *that* complicated. This hack creates some preset moves for your mods.

Edit: Finally figured out why I couldn't get the upload to work. Router problems.

Edit2: Added additional information so you can choose whether or not to leave behind a thread redirect in the preset.

Edit3: I'm running RC4 - I'm pretty sure it will function in later releases as well since most of the patches had nothing to do with postings.php to my limited knowledge.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: