Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Global Threads for VB3 Details »
Global Threads for VB3
Mod Version: 1.00, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 24
Released: 31 Jan 2011 Last Update: Never Downloads: 156
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Is in Beta Stage  

This mod is based off a VB 3.6 mod by randominity here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=129626
He gave me permission to further develop this mod.

It is ESSENTIAL if you upgrade to this version from the original 1.0.1 version you UNINSTALL the old one first. This isn't a suggestion, this is a REQUIREMENT.

This mod allows you to display "global threads" in your forums. Global Threads are threads that show up in every forum (or forums you specify) as opposed to just a single forum.

This is perfect for important site news, forum wide polls, and anything worthwhile to be displayed forum wide.

I know you could make an announcement but people ignore announcements, and you can't reply to them like threads. These are real threads and if you don't take away permission people can reply to it like any other thread. Replies in any forum show up in all forums.

Same thread in multiple forums:
http://www.juot.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48
http://www.juot.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43
http://www.juot.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20
(It's under the sticky threads.)

This mod requires a little work on your side- you must first create a "global forum." I suggest calling it "Global Forum" and in the forum manager when creating it, choose to "Set Active" set to "No" so it won't show up in your forum lists but will be accessible directly by you to post new threads in.

I have greatly increased the number of options over the original mod and believe I have implemented all the good suggestions ever made for the original mod.

This version will work on vB 3.8.x and should work on 3.7.x too.

I have marked this as BETA as there is 1 unresolved minor bug- it has been a bug since this mod came out but no one seems to have noticed or cared. When showing global threads the small arrow indicating if you had posts in the global thread won't snow.

See screenshots for a Global Thread example. The Global Thread globe icon is optional.

Full instructions in zip file.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	gtvb31.jpg
Views:	682
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	126302   Click image for larger version

Name:	gtsettings.jpg
Views:	327
Size:	329.7 KB
ID:	126303  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Global phpinfo with admin cp on/off switch (vb3 backport) Brad vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 6 18 Jul 2003 16:34

  #16  
Old 24 Sep 2011, 18:21
mastersat's Avatar
mastersat mastersat is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: vbulletin
Real name: Medo
thanks a lot
i will test it
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17 Oct 2011, 18:11
home9000 home9000 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Can we have this option

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...ghlight=sticky
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17 Oct 2011, 21:23
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
That "Sticky" line does still work with Global Threads- This is a screenshot of it on my forum:



I use the setting to show the Global Threads "Below Stickies" in the mod options.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg global-line.jpg (53.6 KB, 74 views)
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 03:50
home9000 home9000 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
That "Sticky" line does still work with Global Threads- This is a screenshot of it on my forum:



I use the setting to show the Global Threads "Below Stickies" in the mod options.
You are right but I ask to have one between sticky and global
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 11:08
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I will see what I can do.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 17:31
MentaL's Avatar
MentaL MentaL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
cheers for this.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11 Nov 2011, 12:55
home9000 home9000 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I will see what I can do.

I know you are busy
just to remind you if you have time
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06 May 2012, 00:27
Crimdog Crimdog is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Bumping this back from the dead:

Having an issue where the thread name is displaying one column to the right, rather than in the default position. Thoughts?

EDIT: I fixed that portion, seemed to be template issue with custom style.

Now, I can view everything if I'm an administrator, however my test user shows only a blue horizontal box with a new post icon to the left of this box. Thinking these two things are related.

Last edited by Crimdog; 06 May 2012 at 01:04.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06 May 2012, 03:42
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
You should try it on the default style so as to be sure if it's a style issue or some other problem.

You can install the default style by going to Admin CP -> Style Manager -> Add a New Style -> Create a new style wit No parent style.

This will be the default style.

Make it user accessible, at least for a couple minutes, and let me know if it's working under the default style or not - if not a screenshot of what you see would help.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06 May 2012, 15:38
Crimdog Crimdog is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I figured it out, it was related to the above post I made with commenting out that "box" portion. I didn't comment the whole thing out, only a portion. That made the box take over the entire row.

All is good now
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07 May 2012, 03:05
mahmo0od mahmo0od is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
nice mod
i will try it
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07 May 2012, 22:45
Crimdog Crimdog is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by mahmo0od View Post
nice mod
i will try it
It's a FANTASTIC mod. Excellent idea and already tons of use for it on our site. We used it to generate a site-wide "manifesto" or FAQ regarding technical issues pertaining to cars we tinker with.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 13 Jun 2012, 17:12
Morrus Morrus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Awesome idea for a mod.

If you ever update it, can I make a feature request? Allow specific threads in the source forum to be tagged as global or not (i.e. just ignore threads not marked as such); that'll enable me to use my news forum as the source forum, but just make the threads about a specific subject appear also in a specific forum.
__________________
www.enworld.org
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 12:25
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
If you ever upgrade to VB4 that is possible in the VB4 version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=279156
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 16:05
Morrus Morrus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
If you ever upgrade to VB4 that is possible in the VB4 version
Heh. Never gonna happen. Nearly a decade of customization on our current vBulletin installation; it would take months of hard work to upgrade to vB4 at this point.
__________________
www.enworld.org
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: