Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Talkerbot V2.2.3 (AI Posting Bot) Details »
Talkerbot V2.2.3 (AI Posting Bot)
Mod Version: 2.5.0, by eXtremeTim (Member) eXtremeTim is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2008 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.5 Rating: (14 votes - 4.21 average) Installs: 230
Released: 12 Sep 2006 Last Update: 16 May 2007 Downloads: 1619
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files  

Talker Bot Hack v2.5.0
Hack By: Tim (eXtremeTim) Yarbrough
Website: www.extremechatforums.com

What This Hack Does.

This hack add a userlike bot to your forums. You can set which forum he will post in and how often he will reply to poeples posts. He will try and build his replies off the text that they posted. This bot will learn overtime slowly from your users posts.

Whats new in 2.5.0?
Cleanup of the code to allow better support for php5 users.
Simplified the steps to get the bot working.
Improved the code in various spots.
Fixed sloppy coding issues that remained from the original version of the hack.

Whats new in 2.2.4?

Start of php 5 compatibility fixes
Query errors
ajax cosmetics issue (should be fixed now but if not please let me know)
quite a few minor random things.

Whats new in 2.2.3?

Fixed a few bugs (didnt fix the php 5.1 issues yet till i have time to make sure they dont have an undesired effect)
Added code to make bot show up online.
Made bot show up as last poster correctly.
Fixed table prefix issue

Whats new in 2.2.2?

Cleaned up code a bit.
Fixed <br> problem
Improved bots sanity
Fixed alot of stuff.

To Upgrade from 2.2.4:

Upload all files import the new product.

To upgrade from 2.2.3:

Reupload src folder from the alice dir, install the product file, and upload ewt_talkerbot.php.

To upgrade from 2.2.2:

Reupload the src folder from the alice dir and also re upload the ewt_talkerbot.php file. No changes were made to the product file.

To upgrade from 2.2.1:

Overwrite the current product
Overwrite ewt_talkerbot.php


To Upgrade From 2.2.0:

Overwrite the current product. Upload ewt_talkerbot.php


To Upgrade From A Previous Version:

Just follow the install steps in the files becuase yea there was no prior version for vb3.6 so you should have no file edits to redo.

This version is much cleaner overall then all the previous version. I have removed a good deal of the code in the core alice bot that used to cuase errors. I have moved all the control settings into the admincp. Plus many other things including a much cleaner ewt_talkerbot.php file then the original _talkerbot.php file.


About v3

Yes version 3 is being planned out yet again. I had it finished at one point only to lose it when my computer was stolen a while back. So now im planning even more stuff for version 3. I will post information about v3 later.


AIML File:

I need aiml files. If you know where to get them or have a bunch you can send me please contact me via pm on here so I can get the files. (Needing more for the base package and some to start playing with the aiml sharing features of v3 )


Demo: http://www.extremewebtech.com/forums...esting-grounds
User/Pass: test2323/test2323

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions Talkerbot V2.2.1 (AI Posting Bot) eXtremeTim Modification Graveyard 64 15 Nov 2006 10:34
TalkerBot Hack v1 Rapid Gaming vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 128 23 Jan 2004 19:38

  #916  
Old 24 Jun 2007, 19:25
Sykko's Avatar
Sykko Sykko is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
dang this looks like such a great install... but with all the problems people have had I am not willing to put it on my forum

what's bad is it would be loads of fun considering my sites content

oh well... what can ya do though :\
__________________
;
Sykko
(of tehnoobs.com A board that prooves freedom on a forum is a good thing)
Reply With Quote
  #917  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 01:02
inbrissy inbrissy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
This is a fun hack, but like so many people here are saying its not very useful since it can't learn.

It would be an excellent automated help bot if you could make it learn stuff. Even if it was a manual process to add things it would be better then it is now.

At the moment its just a novelty thing that keeps people amused for about 5 minutes.
I've got it installed still, but I think I'll disable it until we can make it learn a few things.

Tim if you're there mate, please give people access to the learning system. Even if its hard to install, it will be better then nothing at all. I think you'll find people will be happier with your hack even if its hard to install then to have a bot that just doesn't learn or do anything useful.
Reply With Quote
  #918  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 01:27
Yukino_AE Yukino_AE is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Tim please come back! lol I want my bot to work!

I'm getting the same issue with my bot responding with:

I was not able to connect to my database. Please try again later.

Is there still something like this TalkerBot Add-on - Learning System http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=60429 ??

I know when i completey redid my forum that's when she started giving me that message as I deleted all the info on all the threads that she was selected to learn from. could this be why she is not working.

I would really like to know how to teach her stuff. ^_^ or have her learn.

come back Tim and help us all out. here.
Reply With Quote
  #919  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 18:25
basketmen's Avatar
basketmen basketmen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by treader View Post
Yeah i don't have that option on my server ..... had to spend an entire night installing my own copy of PHP onto my server account just so i could try this..... result, not working LOL

It appears to be a linking linking issue now, that has been discussed here before. The recommendation for this, was to edit the "bdprefs" When ever i do this though, no matter how i put the links in... NOTHING works, not the install, the testing, nothing. I just get blank pages.



Yeah actually i'm on dreamhost.... maybe you'll have better luck than I did getting it to work. But i can tell you either you need to know how to recode this hack to use CURL commands, or you will need to do like i did, and install your own copy of PHP so you can turn the command on. Dreamhost will not turn it on for you....... PM me if you want to try it though, i can give you the links and some help installing PHP,on that server, if you need it

Hey treader


i think i found how to create your own php.ini even if you in shared hosting, this is for dreamhost and maybe for another host too so talkerbot hack working


i found this http://www.deltascripts.com/board/vi....php?pid=34745

they recommend this http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/PHP.ini , i havent try this, but i will try it, let me know if you had try that too

Reply With Quote
  #920  
Old 29 Jun 2007, 10:57
basketmen's Avatar
basketmen basketmen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
shit i still can not enable allow_url_fopen in my new host dreamhost, so my bot still can not speak anything and still get error Warning: file_get_contents()



i still not try create own php.ini like above post because it is very risk and difficult,



i still searching another way

i read here we can disable or enable it with htaccess

http://www.stevenroddis.com.au/category/it/programming/

.htaccess

php_flag allow_url_fopen off



i still try it and its not works
Reply With Quote
  #921  
Old 29 Jun 2007, 23:30
hotwheels hotwheels is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Doug
Tim aint got nothin to teach that allows the bot to learn, i have been along the ride with this mod for almost a year now, and he doesn't have anything for it..........seem's what he is doing is sparking interest on certian (easily built mods), then tries to redirect all of the vborg peeps to his site listed above, hoping to get you to buy his um, mods.....

I personally had given him access to my system and he tried messing around with code he said should work, and it didn't do anything...........All this bot does at this point is take up space..........
Reply With Quote
  #922  
Old 02 Jul 2007, 08:54
basketmen's Avatar
basketmen basketmen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
anyone know what is need to change it with curl?

i had post here and this mod is really need curl i think

http://discussion.dreamhost.com/show...b=5&o=14&part=
Reply With Quote
  #923  
Old 03 Jul 2007, 21:26
anuanu anuanu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Everything seems to work great except when i post i get this error on the "Thank you for posting, this will redirect you soon" screen



Warning: file_get_contents() [function.file-get-contents]: URL file-access is disabled in the server configuration in /ewt_talkerbot.php on line 53

Warning: file_get_contents(http://***********/alice/src/talk.ph...testtestsetset) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /ewt_talkerbot.php on line 53



EDIT: Another problem i just found was its not connecting to the database.

Last edited by anuanu; 03 Jul 2007 at 22:31.
Reply With Quote
  #924  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 00:54
anuanu anuanu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
OK i think i understand my problems now. It seems for that error you need "allow_url_fopen=on" some where...ive read both in .htaccess and php.ini

But on my website there are lot of .htaccess files and i cant find any php.ini file


As far as the "I cannot connect to the the database" thing, it seems that i need that allow_url_fopen=on added for it to work. Im talking to my provider to see if he can change that. Ill post back if i have any news.
Reply With Quote
  #925  
Old 08 Jul 2007, 04:22
GamerJunk.net's Avatar
GamerJunk.net GamerJunk.net is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
I was not able to connect to my database. Please try again later.

Anybody know how to fix that>
__________________
NO
Reply With Quote
  #926  
Old 09 Jul 2007, 01:53
Freak0204's Avatar
Freak0204 Freak0204 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Yeah. Uninstall.
Reply With Quote
  #927  
Old 09 Jul 2007, 23:46
OS Master OS Master is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
The only way to make TalkerBot smarter is by more aiml files. They can be found at http://www.alicebot.org/downloads/sets.html

Then, you have to re-run alice\src\admin\botloader.php to update the database.
Reply With Quote
  #928  
Old 11 Jul 2007, 03:40
USAMustangs.com USAMustangs.com is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I don't get why so many people are complaining about the lack of ability for it to learn.

I installed this about 2 months ago and made absolutely no changes to any of the files, and it works exceptionally well. It now has the ability to associate my members with what vehicles they drive. I recently had a regular member just say hello to the bot and it replied by asking her about her cobra mustang. (which is what she drives)

I think what the problem is that you guys don't give it enough time to learn. It has to have frequent interaction with other members in order for it to learn. It learns very slowly, but it does learn quite well with no modifications made to any of the provided files. Also, if you isolate it to one forum it seems to work better.
__________________
vBulletin 3.6.5
My forum

Last edited by USAMustangs.com; 12 Jul 2007 at 02:42.
Reply With Quote
  #929  
Old 12 Jul 2007, 01:56
DevilzFan DevilzFan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Well, after a month and a half of it not working, it's uninstalled. Too bad, could have been a fun toy.
Reply With Quote
  #930  
Old 12 Jul 2007, 15:26
Mrdby Mrdby is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: MrDby
so when is the update?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: