Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Forums arranged in columns on forumhome Details »
Forums arranged in columns on forumhome
Mod Version: 1.00, by Xenon (Member) Xenon is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 62
Released: 26 Jul 2002 Last Update: Never Downloads: 21
Not Supported  

As requested several times, this hack allows you to arrange forums on forumhome in xx columns instead of just one per row as it now.

You have to set up a new category(s). All direct subforums to this category(s) will be arranged in columns.
It can be very usefull if you have very much Subforums, so you haven't to scroll as much as you have before

Newest Version: 1.21
Known Bugs: none

Screenshots below.


Design can be changed in templates..

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forums arranged in columns on forumhome Xenon vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 526 04 Sep 2012 18:45
Forums arranged in columns on forumhome Xenon vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 500 25 Nov 2008 18:26

  #46  
Old 31 Jul 2002, 23:49
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
ahh i see
run em seperatly...

@hyperdave: in the newest version you can seperate more categories by space, all subforums in these cats will be arranged in columns.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01 Aug 2002, 02:00
CRego3D CRego3D is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally posted by thenetbox
oooh.. thats awesome.. did you add the pics using templates only?

no what we did was to have a hack that woudl give each forum it's own on/off images .. wich where incorporated into the template
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03 Aug 2002, 15:07
ladyfyre's Avatar
ladyfyre ladyfyre is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
hmmm....i guess i am the problem child on this one....either that, or one of the other hacks i am using is causing a conflict.

When i try to execute the sql query ( this is what i am using, straight out of the install file:

INSERT INTO setting (settingid,settinggroupid,title,varname,value,description,optioncode,displayorde r) VALUES (NULL,5,'Parent forums column arranged subforums','columnparent','0','Choose a Parent Forumid. All Subforums will be displayed in column arrangement (seperat with spaces)','','8')
INSERT INTO setting (settingid,settinggroupid,title,varname,value,description,optioncode,displayorde r) VALUES (NULL,5,'Display Forum Columns','forumcols','4','','','9')

)

I get this error:

Failed to execute SQL : SQL INSERT INTO setting (settingid,settinggroupid,title,varname,value,description,optioncode,displayorde r) VALUES (NULL,5,'Parent forums column arranged subforums','columnparent','0','Choose a Parent Forumid. All Subforums will be displayed in column arrangement (seperat with spaces)','','8') INSERT INTO setting (settingid,settinggroupid,title,varname,value,description,optioncode,displayorde r) VALUES (NULL,5,'Display Forum Columns','forumcols','4','','','9') failed : You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'INSERT INTO setting (settingid,settinggroupid,title,varname,value,description,op' at line 1
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03 Aug 2002, 15:10
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
try to run em seperatly, there are two querys, not just one
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03 Aug 2002, 16:08
Chris M's Avatar
Chris M Chris M is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Chris Murphy, BSc
Have you managed the multiple forum thing yet?

Satan
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 03 Aug 2002, 17:30
Link14716's Avatar
Link14716 Link14716 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Matthew Gordon
Ok, when I installed tis, I get a minor cosmetic problem (see below attachment), I am sure it is a template, but don't know how to fix it. Nice hack, BTW :banana:
Attached Images
File Type: gif colextraborderwidth.gif (155.7 KB, 156 views)
__________________
Along with Zachery, I make releases as GeekyDesigns. Please do not PM or IM me for support.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03 Aug 2002, 17:40
Rose's Avatar
Rose Rose is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Rose
Originally posted by CRego3D


no what we did was to have a hack that woudl give each forum it's own on/off images .. wich where incorporated into the template

Is this something that might be shared/released?


edited to add Very nice. I've it installed and am working on the tweakings.

Last edited by Rose; 03 Aug 2002 at 18:35.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04 Aug 2002, 01:14
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
@Rose it is already released as i know, but it's very old (i think 2.01 or so)

@Satan: Don't read my posts
Yes you can now make more categories as top categories of columned forums..

@Link: Can you describe it a bit more? I don't see something wrong on your screenshot...
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04 Aug 2002, 20:46
brauner brauner is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


mhhhh ich habe das jetzt mal so in die Datenbank reingemacht. Ich gehe davon aus das es 2 einzelne sind.
Aber bei mir im Board ist keine Veränderug zu sehen. Wo und wie gebe ich das ein?

Allerdings finde ich das was ich eingegeben habe in der Datenbank nicht wieder.
Sorry aber ich bin ein neuling.


In Englisch:
mhhhh I clean-made now times in such a way into the data base. I go of it out of it 2 particulars am. But with me in the board no Veraenderug is to be seen. Where and how do I enter?

However I find which I entered in the data base not again. Sorry however I is a beginner
:cry:
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04 Aug 2002, 21:39
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
you should use a better translating program

you'll find these settings in your Admin-CP > vbulletin options > Forumhome section...

[german]Ich will nicht unhöflich scheinen, aber supportfragen kannst du bei vbulletin-germany.com in deutsch fragen. Mir persönlich isses ja wurscht, ob man mich hier was in deutsch fragt, aber da es ein englisches board ist kommt das einfach hier nicht so gut an

Wie auch immer, als antwort: Du findest die Sachen dann in deinem Admin-CP bei den forenoptionen[/german]
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04 Aug 2002, 23:30
Brad Brad is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
ok im back , heres what i did with it on my live board.

http://www.kousetsu.net/kan/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04 Aug 2002, 23:35
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
hey, looks good this extra categorie
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05 Aug 2002, 00:08
mikey8270 mikey8270 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
its not working for me....i can do the sql quesries and everything else...but i dont get the fields in my admin cp...
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05 Aug 2002, 00:24
Link14716's Avatar
Link14716 Link14716 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Matthew Gordon
Yea, Xenon, it is minor and of little importance. The border of the between the catagory image and the forums aranged in colums is twice as thick as the normal ones. Like I said little importance, but :banana:
__________________
Along with Zachery, I make releases as GeekyDesigns. Please do not PM or IM me for support.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05 Aug 2002, 02:06
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
ahh i see...
hmm, will see what i can do, perhaps it's just a small template mod...

but as said not the importantst thing on my to do list

@mikey: you must have done something wrong, these queries are produced directly from the vb admin cp (settings.php)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: