Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Geek AutoLinker 4.02 Details »
Geek AutoLinker 4.02
Mod Version: 4.02, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (10 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 151
Released: 10 Feb 2005 Last Update: 26 May 2005 Downloads: 220
Not Supported DB Changes  

HowdA All,

Welcome to Geek Autolinker 4.0 from the makers of Geek Autolinker 2.0 and Tang - the stuff the people in space drink.

posts for version 4.0 start here

What it does:
It allows you to specify key words to replace in posts with ANY FREAKING URL YOU COULD THINK OF. Thats right, you to can now have key words automatically url'ed to other areas of the world wide web.

Now in 4.0 you can create popups, track impressions and click-thrus, get statistics on them and specify more attributes of the links. The popups can now also use bbcode to create virtually any kind of popup you could imagine. You can limit categories of links to certain forums and also enable specific usergroups to toggle GALs on or off (by category).


This is a perfect gift for sponsors, click throughs, referal programs, definitions, instructions, birthdays and other celebrations.

Example:
If I define Bob as a keyword that I would like to automatically come up hyperlinked to bob.com all I have to do is say so (well, you put it into the admincp). Presto! As quick as that, everytime a user sees the word bob, bobs, bob! Bob bOb? etc... it comes up linked to bob.com

How much will bob love you?

If the url you want it to jump to is actually a thread on your site, you can use the nifty ignorethreadid option. Heres how that works:

If I have a thread entitled Reputation and how to use it, I can put the word reputation into the Geek AutoLinker with the URL pointing to the thread about reputation. Then everytime the word reputation appears in someones post, anyone can click on it to learn more. Since it would be stupid to have the thread Reputation and how to use it autolink to itself, I put the threadid in the ignorethreadid box. That way all matches for reputation are linked to that thread except for the reputation matches in the thread Reputation and how to use it.

Safe mode and dangerous mode.

There are now two modes of operation. Safe mode will autolink any match AS LONG AS IT HAS A SPACE BEFORE IT. That means that <br />bob or .Bob are not valid matches and wont be highlighted. The reason for this is to prevent the autolinker messing up URLs with matches in them (like www.bob.com). Safe mode will most likely end up with fewer matches, but no messed up URLS.
Dangerous mode however could care less about your cute little spaces. It will link them regardless. That means more matches, but a slight increase that an existing url might break in a post.

Here are some examples in action.
Keyword: freak

Safe mode.
Freak out whenever freaks freak about on www.freak.com
Dangerous mode:
Freak out whenever freaks freak about on www.<a href="www.freak.com">freak</a>.com

Other stuff:
  • Category management - allows you to override global settings
  • Limit - limit the number of replacements per link per post
  • Ordinal - organise the order replacments are made
  • Customize your own replacment code on a global, catergory, or individual level.
  • The installer is a prototype GISH installer that does the file edits for you. Please check the readme for details on how it works - its pretty cool).
Upgrading
  • Download, replace all existing files with new ones.
  • Run the gal4_install.php file (in your admincp)
  • Follow the upgrade path.
  • The system will ahve you manullay chage any files it can not find to update.
DEMO: http://www.thenailgeek.com/showthread.php?t=11011 (note the words MMA and PREP. If you follow to MMA you will notice that MMA isnt linked in the final article thanks to ignorethreadid)

Difficulty: Easy
File mods: 4 simple ones
Added queries: 0 or greater depending on your settings

Updated 10.5.05 - Major
Massive update in functionality

Updated 13.4.05 - Major
Massive update in functionality

Update 25.03.05 - oops!
Changed readme addition to functions_showthread.php Things look good now

Updates 25.05.05 to v.204 - sneaky bug
Thanks to Razz - I found 2 minor typos that end up causing people working in safemode to actually be working in danger mode! To upgrade, simply check out this post

Updated 12.2.05 to v. 2.03 - ultra minor
Fixed a typo in readme. To upgrade, al you need to do is edit admincp/index,
do a search for
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['GAL_add_new'], 'GAL_admin.php?do=create');
and replace with
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['GAL_add_new'], 'GAL_admin.php?do=add');

Updated 11.2.05 - ultra minor
Fixed a typo in README (dont worry, it wasnt in the instructions)
Stopped phrase text spitting out during install. Some of the phrase is html so it looked confusing to new installers.
Removed reference to GAS3 settings in the install. This is because its the same installer. Just forgot to remove that line.
All in all, this was just a typo fix. There is no upgrade because there are no problems with the code.

Updated 10.2.05 - minor
Found a couple typos that affect safe mode.
Nothing major - just replace the GAL_admin.php file

Updated 10.2.05 - Major
Completely re-written.
See README for upgrade instructions.

Update 10.2.05 - minor
Updated include/geek_autolink.php as it was missing a table_prefix
To upgrade, download latest package and replace your geek_autolink file.


nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	fishy.JPG
Views:	1154
Size:	6.0 KB
ID:	26210   Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsor.JPG
Views:	1309
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	26211  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Geek AutoLinker 4.0 RC2 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 110 10 May 2005 18:42
Geek AutoLinker 3.00 RC1 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 97 12 Apr 2005 17:04

  #151  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 10:19
Razz Razz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Ok I have applied both those fixes now and checked that $gal_settings['leading_space'] definately equals 1 when safe mode is enabled, however it still doesn't work properly with urls.

Example:

I added google and http://www.google.com into settings to be replaced as a test.

the post consisted of www.google.com

it attempts to replace the google in that url and therefore breaks the url even though the leading space option is properly set and being retrieved correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 10:35
venomx's Avatar
venomx venomx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
confirmed.. I put amazon to point to my amazon link. If I type www.amazon.com it messed up the link, but amazon.com and amazon are ok...
__________________
TopDollarMall
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 15:34
MajorFm.com MajorFm.com is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Im running safe mode but it still seems to mess up urls... i been round and round this thread and upgraded twice!

cant work it out...

example: http://www.majorfm.com/forum/showthr...ed=1#post32086
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 16:32
Razz Razz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
One thing worth noting, if your running PHP 4.3.10 or 5.0.3 and suffer with the unserialize slowdown then you can still use this hack but i would also reccomend (highly) the hack to store the datastore in the filesystem, due to the extra unserialize calls used in the autolinker.

Info here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=75032
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 18:10
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Sweet! THanks Razz... I fixed the gal_setting typos mentioned in your earlier post and I found the sneaky little bug that was causing the datastore to be built in danger mode even when you were actually choosing safe mode.

To upgrade, replace the gal_admin file with the one included in the 2.04 package. Also, edit your functions_showthread.php file and replace:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Should work now
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 18:21
MajorFm.com MajorFm.com is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
i did that fix but still get the same problem...

http://www.majorfm.com/forum/showthr...ed=1#post32195
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 19:16
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
I would like this for my site but have all the bugs been fixed yet??





--
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 20:38
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by MajorFm.com
i did that fix but still get the same problem...

http://www.majorfm.com/forum/showthr...ed=1#post32195
Have you rebuilt in safe mode after replacing your gal_admin.php and applying the fix to functions_showthread.php? I have tested here and it seems fine.

If so - edit the rebuild_datastore function in your gal_admin.php in there you will find some echo commands commented out. Uncomment them, rebuild in safe mode and then PM me the results.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 20:54
greenhybrid greenhybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I'm confused. You make the changes and then what do you have to do?
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 21:12
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by greenhybrid
I'm confused. You make the changes and then what do you have to do?
in your admincp, click the settings option in your Geek AutoLinker category. Then click safemode.

HTH's!
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 21:33
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Hey Richie - As far as I know; its working fine. There have been some instances where useres operating the hack in safemode have been having problems with existing links with matching keywords - however I am pretty confident its been sorted. Wosre case scenario - if it hasnt been sorted, you may potentaill have a rare occuance of a URL going wiggy if it contains a keyword (though chances are pretty rare). I am still waiting to hear back from anyone on the latest changes. They work on my side of things.

HTH's
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 23:25
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
just twiddled things about and am now 100% positive its fine. I changed a line in the functions_show thread from

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Results in safemode can be seen here: http://www.thenailgeek.com/showthread.php?t=12462

Note that onycholysis and prep are keywords (the manual URLs in the post example are ficticious but show that they dont get screwed up by the autolinker)

Last edited by The Geek; 25 Feb 2005 at 23:27.
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 25 Feb 2005, 23:50
venomx's Avatar
venomx venomx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
I did the changes and upload. Then did the setting part. All seems fine here..

www.amazon.com reg VB link
amazon.com not linked.
amazon linked to my affiliate link
__________________
TopDollarMall
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 26 Feb 2005, 00:03
Razz Razz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by The Geek
Sweet! THanks Razz... I fixed the gal_setting typos mentioned in your earlier post and I found the sneaky little bug that was causing the datastore to be built in danger mode even when you were actually choosing safe mode.
You missed one, just downloaded 2.05 and you still have this in instructions:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 26 Feb 2005, 00:09
Razz Razz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Also looks like you left some debugging text in when submitting/editing autolinks ?

It does work for me now though
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: