Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Widget: display random image thumbnail from public albums Details »
Widget: display random image thumbnail from public albums
Mod Version: 1.2, by XManuX (Member) XManuX is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.2 Rating: (26 votes - 4.62 average) Installs: 202
Released: 09 Mar 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

What it does ?
This widget displays a thumbnail image, taken randomly from any public albums and adds a "More..." link redirecting to albums.
Clicking on the thumbnail opens full sized picture in its current album.

Version history :
1.0: Initial release
1.1: Style can now be independant of template modification / Added option to display more than one thumbnail / Added option to define a custom size for the thumbnails.
1.2: You can now restrict picture fetching to a list of albums / Added fixes to the request.

Install instructions :
1- Go in to your AdminCP > vBulletin CMS > Widgets > Create new widget
2- Choose type 'PHP direct execution'
3- Give it a name (i.e: Random Picture)
4- Give it a description (i.e Random picture from public albums)
5- Save it
6- Configure it with the following code (copy/paste)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

7- There are 5 variables you can edit in this code, to configure the widget behavior :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

$albums_list :
define a list of albums IDs (coma-separated list) to use, when taking a picture randomly.
You can also specify only one ID.
note: if you leave this variable empty, ALL public albums will be used.

$use_vB_thumbnail_size :
false = the widget will use $twidth to set up the width of the thumbnail.
true = default vBulletin thumbnail size will be used.

$twidth:
Width of a thumbnail (in pixel.)
will only be used if $use_vB_thumbnail_size is set to false.

$limit:
# of thumbnails you want to display in the widget.

$use_custom_css
false = the styling of widget elements will be performed inside the widget itself (using style="" html tag.)
true = the styling will be performed by CSS, thus a template needs to be manually edited : vbcms.css

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

8- Your widget is ready to be added to your CMS with AdminCP > vBulletin CMS > Widgets > Layout Manager

Screenshot : see below.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	widgetdemo.jpg
Views:	3640
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	113786  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin CMS Widgets Photopost Pro Random Image Widget ZippySLC vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 78 26 Jan 2014 00:28

  #91  
Old 10 Nov 2012, 23:01
da prez's Avatar
da prez da prez is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Real name: Buck Naked
Is there any way to show moving animated .gifs ?

Forget it.

Previously there was a post about changing thumb=1 to thumb=0 ... that seem to have done it.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 11 Nov 2012, 22:17
Sangheili Sangheili is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Originally Posted by tsafarog View Post
I am interested in that also?

I it possible to display the latest uploaded pics?
I would also like that feature if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 26 Jan 2013, 04:46
keyla31's Avatar
keyla31 keyla31 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
worked perfect 4.2.0
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 30 Jan 2013, 15:24
Pirate45 Pirate45 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
When you go into configure, this is already in the box:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I can't quite figure out how to enter the code that is offered here. Any way I do it I end up with errors.

Do we delete that text and just paste from the box here of is it integrated with that code?

I've tried both ways and I get errors.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 30 Jan 2013, 15:59
Pirate45 Pirate45 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Disregard last question. I think I figured it out.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 13 Feb 2013, 17:12
Davey-UK's Avatar
Davey-UK Davey-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sheffield-UK
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by tsafarog View Post
I am interested in that also?

I it possible to display the latest uploaded pics?
Originally Posted by Sangheili View Post
I would also like that feature if possible.
Did anyone figure out how to acheive this?
__________________
==========================================
If it aint broke -------------------- Don't fix it!!
==========================================
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 24 Apr 2013, 23:39
BarracodE's Avatar
BarracodE BarracodE is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thank you. You saved me a ton of hours trying to code this myself.

To everyone wanting something more...the first thing you should say is thank you for what is already provided. The second thing you should say is how much would you charge to make it do <this> instead of holding your hand out and complaining.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 13 Sep 2013, 00:05
Greeksgal Greeksgal is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by Pirate45 View Post
When you go into configure, this is already in the box:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I can't quite figure out how to enter the code that is offered here. Any way I do it I end up with errors.

Do we delete that text and just paste from the box here of is it integrated with that code?

I've tried both ways and I get errors.
^^^^ This...I can't figure out where to put the code.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 12 Feb 2014, 03:37
Haponing Haponing is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
This works perfectly for me THANK YOU! And also, what if I wanted to place the block horizontally across the forum? Is that possible?
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 27 Feb 2014, 07:20
AlBundy AlBundy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I it possible to display the latest uploaded pics?
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 21 Apr 2014, 22:42
StonePilot StonePilot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Steve
Originally Posted by AlBundy View Post
I it possible to display the latest uploaded pics?
I'd like to know this as well. It's got something to do with the mysql command to get random (rand) vs. some other field or method in the field that is shown.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 02 Sep 2014, 14:49
Divvy Divvy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Try change this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: