Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03 Dec 2014, 18:59
v123shine v123shine is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Bunny! Hide content from SE

I'm using this code to hide content from SE but real user (from browser like firefox, chrome, opera) can view the content.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

When I try search engine still can view the content.

Can someone help me, please!

Thanks
__________________
filmbor.com
bikinwebsite.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03 Dec 2014, 19:09
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Trying to hide threads? There's a Mod for that:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=269201
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03 Dec 2014, 20:15
v123shine v123shine is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thank you very much "Max Taxable" but I don't need that mod.

Can someone help me, please!
__________________
filmbor.com
bikinwebsite.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 Dec 2014, 20:16
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
What exactly are you trying to hide? Single posts, threads? Whole forums?

Once something is already indexed and cached, it stays in searches for quite awhile after you hide it.

You can use a 'robots.txt' file to tell the search engine bots not to index, but only the legitimate bots will pay any attention to it.

If you want to outright ban spiders, the code you're using won't do it. There's a mod for that too.

Ban Spiders by User Agent.

Last edited by Max Taxable; 03 Dec 2014 at 20:21.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Dec 2014, 21:21
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
This is also known as content cloaking, and in some cases can get you blacklisted from google/etc completely.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05 Dec 2014, 14:42
v123shine v123shine is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thanks Max Taxable but I don't need that mod.

What going on why I can't using this code? Can someone help me, please!


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
filmbor.com
bikinwebsite.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 Dec 2014, 16:08
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
How do you determine that it does not work?
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06 Dec 2014, 01:22
v123shine v123shine is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
That very simple, I create bots view page to check it.

Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
How do you determine that it does not work?
__________________
filmbor.com
bikinwebsite.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06 Dec 2014, 01:40
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
How is it you are creating bots?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Dec 2014, 03:43
v123shine v123shine is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Dear Ozzy47,

Can you help me, please!
__________________
filmbor.com
bikinwebsite.com

Last edited by v123shine; 09 Dec 2014 at 23:39.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Dec 2014, 04:50
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
The script can tell it's a spoofed UA. It can tell your browser still.


I am yet to be able to determine exactly what it is you're trying to do, specifically. You want your forum to be private, hidden from all search engines but still allows browsers?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Dec 2014, 05:27
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
And firstly, your code is malformed. This part:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Has nothing associated with it and therefore does nothing but place that text at the top of your rendered page.

Try it yourself, put your code in your header template to assure it is called on all pages.

The code you are trying to use will do nothing.

And P.S. - Your signature link is a dead link.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Dec 2014, 11:24
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
No Max, hide from spider / search engine. is just the placeholder for the page html, it is not the actual code.

Well <vb:if condition="!$show['search_engine']"> is not globally available, it is only available in forumdisplay IIRC

This is because it is not wise to hide things from search engines that guests can see, this will get your site blacklisted from all the major search engines, and it might happen pretty quick, as they have been cracking down on it.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Dec 2014, 18:08
v123shine v123shine is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Dear Max and Ozzy47 many thanks for you time to help me.

I know search engine can blacklisted my site, but I really need that.
I want to hide "Powered by vBulletin....and bla bla.." from search engine spider.

I want protect my site from spammer bot . I believe spammer find my site from Google or others search engine. And I know in vbulletin.org I can find so many anti-spam addon. I already use anti-spam, but I still need to hide that copyright.

Can someone help me, please!

Kind regards,
Shine
__________________
filmbor.com
bikinwebsite.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Dec 2014, 18:16
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by v123shine View Post
Dear Max and Ozzy47 many thanks for you time to help me.

I know search engine can blacklisted my site, but I really need that.
I want to hide "Powered by vBulletin....and bla bla.." from search engine spider.

I want protect my site from spammer bot . I believe spammer find my site from Google or others search engine. And I know in vbulletin.org I can find so many anti-spam addon. I already use anti-spam, but I still need to hide that copyright.

Can someone help me, please!

Kind regards,
Shine
Where is it you are trying to do this to, what template?

Also it is not necessary to do that to protect yourself from spam.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements MARCO1 Hide Thread Content - With excluding forum to hide content MARCO1 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 81 06 Jun 2018 22:15
Show Thread Enhancements MARCO1 Hide Thread Content - With excluding forum to hide content MARCO1 vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 14 03 Aug 2014 15:38



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: