Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Form Hack Details »
Form Hack
Mod Version: 4.1, by Abe1 (Coder) Abe1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (76 votes - 4.51 average) Installs: 1213
Released: 15 Sep 2006 Last Update: 24 Apr 2008 Downloads: 6039
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Form Hack 4.1


Features:

Ever wanted an online form that a user can fill out, which when submitted gets:
  • Posted into a new thread in a forum of your choice
  • Create a new poll in the new thread with options of your choice
  • Posted as a reply in an existing thread of your choice
  • PMed to you or someone else
  • Emailed to an email address you specify
  • Choose to redirect to the post, thread or forum, or a custom thank you message
  • Choose to redirect to edit post
  • See a preview before they submit

Or any combination or all of the above?

Well, this is the hack for you!

You can use this for:
  • Moderator Applications
  • Quiz Submit Form which gets PMed to a moderator
  • Contact Form that goes to PM, email or thread
  • Guests to apply to be members
  • Report a Moderator form that goes as a PM to you
  • Guests can PM you for whatever reason
  • Order form to buy things
  • Donation form
  • News or Articles submissions that can go straight to a thread

Or anything you like - this hack is totally customizable via the AdminCP.

The beauty of this hack is that once you install this hack, to make a new form all you need to do is copy the main hook, rename it to whatever you want, edit the variables in the hook, and you have a totally new form!!! You do not need to touch the templates again, but can always create new ones and use different templates for different forms.

Format of the form:
  • One main input question
  • 3 Radio buttons Choice questions
  • 3 Normal text input questions
  • 1 Drop down menu
  • 3 Check boxes
  • 1 Long answer question
  • 1 VB message editor text box question
  • Upload attachments

This is customizable via the hook.

Also:
  • You can set the usergroups you want access to this form.
  • Depending on your forum permissions, if the new thread is in a public forum, members can reply to it. This hack allows a form to submit the new thread or post wherever you want it to go.
  • Force the user to answer all questions.

INSTALLATION
Easy - takes only a few minutes:
  • Import the XML into products. (admin cp -> Plug-in System -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product)
  • Edit the main plug-in - the instructions are all inside the hook itself, in the top half. Follow the instructions carefully!
  • To get to the form, go to: /newthread.php?do=form (change "form" to the name of your form if you have few)

Done!

Use this hack to make as many forms as you like!

Enjoy!

Updates:

Version 4.0: (09/15/2006)
  • Ported over for vb3.6
  • Send to multiple emails.
  • Send multiple PMs.
  • Parse emails for BBCode
  • And finally, ATTACHMENTS!

Version 4.1: (04/24/2008)
  • Fixed for vb 3.6.10
  • Small bug fixed.
  • List of the 2 quick edits are in the zip file so you don't have to start making a form from scratch.

MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL!
You will get an email when a new version is released.

Abe1 with rights from Dr Erwin Loh

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	form.JPG
Views:	21052
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	53487  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases Ajax add-on Form Hack Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 23 22 Sep 2008 21:17

  #1276  
Old 19 Oct 2008, 22:11
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Don't hold me to this BUT you might have an option in the usergroup that's trying to use the form set to where they cannot create OR can create polls and it's conflicting maybe?

You can open the files up and view the contents to remove or add in what you like, additionally if you keep searching there is a similar yet different hack like this HOWEVER more easily customizable... I believe it is listed as a recruitment hack etc and was originally intended for a Guild or WOW forum however the way they made it leaves the person more options for tweaking and has informaton on how to do it all!

If I find the link while browsing I'll edit this post

EDIT: Here it is! --> Click Here <-- ** It seems more complicated when you first view that page w/ all the code snippets BUT it is not and you can tailor it to your needs very easily!

Remember not to always download the first mod you go WOW over as there could be one more to your liking or need if you keep looking!

S-MAN
Thanks

I found my mistake..... i had used the forum name instead of the forum number... ooops

I checked out the other hack you recommended , it wasn't customizable enough for me......Thanks though

This one is now working great for me (vBulletin 3.7.3 Patch Level 1)
Reply With Quote
  #1277  
Old 20 Oct 2008, 01:08
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Hi
I am trying to put a user field automatically in the title I have tried $post[field11] in the title section and it doesn't work.

Is It possible to do this?

edit--------think i found the answer on page 35

edit 2 ------- Yes answer on page 35

Last edited by a33; 20 Oct 2008 at 11:28. Reason: found the answer
Reply With Quote
  #1278  
Old 20 Oct 2008, 07:27
fodvapor fodvapor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
Yes.
SWEET THX
Reply With Quote
  #1279  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 01:31
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
I have little or no coding experience at all so can't get my head round how to customise this form i can get to the form as instructed /newthread?do=form but have no idea what to do from there, i have been in the admincp and looked at form and formanswers in the templates but again don't know what to do to change this form to something i want.

Any help?
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #1280  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 16:16
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Simon i was the same as you 3 days ago .... I now have a form that works great !!
If you "search this hack" (at the top of this page) there is a lot of info in these 86 pages...
Go to admin - Plugins & Products - Plugin Manager Then "edit" form hack ...
Reply With Quote
  #1281  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 16:21
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Originally Posted by a33 View Post
Simon i was the same as you 3 days ago .... I now have a form that works great !!
If you "search this hack" (at the top of this page) there is a lot of info in these 86 pages...
Go to admin - Plugins & Products - Plugin Manager Then "edit" form hack ...
Thanks for that reply but when i do edit there i get this when calling the form or even creating a new thread!:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

so i have to disable it if anyone has codes for this for a kind of joining form i would be very grateful!
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #1282  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 16:44
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Have you set which forum to put the form post in?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I found This is a one step at a time hack . get one thing working properly and you should understand how to get the others going...... and always take new copies of code as you edit it.

It is a very frustrating hack to start with though!!

Last edited by a33; 21 Oct 2008 at 17:35.
Reply With Quote
  #1283  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 17:47
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Originally Posted by a33 View Post
Have you set which forum to put the form post in?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I found This is a one step at a time hack . get one thing working properly and you should understand how to get the others going...... and always take new copies of code as you edit it.

It is a very frustrating hack to start with though!!
Its very frustrating as i'm no coder, i'm e-mailing it so no forum needed, all those parts are well explained, but what i want to do is remove some radio buttons and checkboxes i comented them out by putting // in front of them and then get the error i posted, i can change the forms wording no problem its just adding or getting rid of stuff i cant do!
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #1284  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 18:00
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I just backed up the code and then deleted things i didn't need. i dont think // will work there.

i didn't need these dropdowns or checkbox so i deleted all this code

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You also have to remove
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

from here

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


You will then have to edit the templates so remove dropdownanswer1 from there aswell

Hope that makes some sense

Last edited by a33; 21 Oct 2008 at 18:08.
Reply With Quote
  #1285  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 20:56
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Hey thanks for the detailed explanations...does that mean i have to create new templates too for future forms?
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #1286  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 21:36
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd View Post
Hey thanks for the detailed explanations...does that mean i have to create new templates too for future forms?
yes ....I haven't had to do this yet
Reply With Quote
  #1287  
Old 23 Oct 2008, 11:51
chrisb1357 chrisb1357 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hi all,

I have installed this onto my test forum which is using Version 3.7.3 and as i am new to all this i am not sure what it means when it says.

Edit the main hook (plug-in) - the instructions are all inside the hook itself, in the top half. Follow the instructions carefully!

ALso will this mod be ok to use on 3.7.3

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #1288  
Old 23 Oct 2008, 12:40
a33 a33 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chris
Edit the main hook (plug-in) means Go to admin - Plugins & Products - Plugin Manager Then "edit" form hack

Yes works fine 3.7.3


If you "search this hack" (at the top of this page) there is a lot of great info in these 86 pages
Reply With Quote
  #1289  
Old 23 Oct 2008, 21:03
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
I've been looking into getting the extended forms javascripts that are out there to work with this. So far I've not had much luck getting them to work. What I'm talking about is this: http://www.quirksmode.org/dom/domform.html

Has anyone given this a shot yet or have a better idea of what should be edited? So far, I haven't even tried to see if they submit, as I can't get the extra fields to generate just yet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1290  
Old 04 Nov 2008, 19:52
Sawa Dee SohL Sawa Dee SohL is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Sour
I'm trying to ad more then the 3 Radio Buttons, this is the code I've added:

Part 1:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Part 2:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Basically, all I did was ad more Radio features -but it still only shows the 3 - is that coded into / apart of the template, that cannot be changed? (basically tryin to create 10 for a rating of 1-10)

Also:

how can I have the drop down box, direct where the form/post goes?
__________________
The Social Revolution
400 Social & Game Boards and growing!
I will change my Sig when my name is changed, request sent in 10.17.08 -10.20.08
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: