Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Mod Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo (Member) UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 237
Released: 10 Oct 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 138
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsored-ad-screengrab.jpg
Views:	4060
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	35606  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #181  
Old 23 May 2006, 19:06
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
If you're running in "legacy postbit" mode (user info goes at the left hand side of posts) then you need to edit the template postbit_legacy instead of postbit.

You also haven't clicked install for this mod
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 23 May 2006, 21:22
durapuma durapuma is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Hello again,

i have just restore the "postbit" template and have add the code to the postbit_lecacy template. But it don't run

Whats the problem ?

I will click on install, if it runs
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 23 May 2006, 21:53
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Just wanted to say that this was an excellent hack. Clicked Install. Now, if it generates some cash I'd be happy to donate a little

One newbie type question that has me stumped. I want to make the ads visible to non-registered guests, Users awaiting EMail confirmation and to those who have a post total of less than 50. I know this really goes beyond the realm of this hack, but if anyone can clarify this I would be grateful. For some reason I can't grasp this and I'm sure it super-simple.

Here are my default usergroups and their Usergroup I.D.s:

(COPPA)-4
Administrators-6
Moderators-7
Registered-2
Super Moderators-5
Unregistered-1
Users Awaiting EMail Confirmation-3


Now here are my Usergroup Titles/Minimum Posts/I.D. #

New Member/0/1
Junior Member/20/2
Member/50/3
Senior Member/100/4


How can I edit the hack so that after a minimum post requirement a user can be "ad-free"?


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 24 May 2006, 00:27
Stop Stop is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Sultan
Great hack & works fine.
Thanks Jimbo
__________________

An Integrated Matrix That Can Serve All Your Needs And That is Beyond Your Dreams.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 24 May 2006, 01:46
T.S. T.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by dssart
Just wanted to say that this was an excellent hack. Clicked Install. Now, if it generates some cash I'd be happy to donate a little

One newbie type question that has me stumped. I want to make the ads visible to non-registered guests, Users awaiting EMail confirmation and to those who have a post total of less than 50. I know this really goes beyond the realm of this hack, but if anyone can clarify this I would be grateful. For some reason I can't grasp this and I'm sure it super-simple.

Here are my default usergroups and their Usergroup I.D.s:

(COPPA)-4
Administrators-6
Moderators-7
Registered-2
Super Moderators-5
Unregistered-1
Users Awaiting EMail Confirmation-3


Now here are my Usergroup Titles/Minimum Posts/I.D. #

New Member/0/1
Junior Member/20/2
Member/50/3
Senior Member/100/4


How can I edit the hack so that after a minimum post requirement a user can be "ad-free"?


Thanks!
I believe this would be done by adding a new usergroup and having users automatically promoted to it after 50 posts, then using the "if" by usergroup as explained earlier in the thread. Unless an "if" can be done by postcount, I am not sure.

Last edited by T.S.; 24 May 2006 at 01:49.
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 24 May 2006, 02:06
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Thanks T.S., I would ideally like to keep my usergroups/usertitles and have this handled by a conditional if possible..but if that can't de done, I'll try anything.
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 24 May 2006, 02:14
T.S. T.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by dssart
Thanks T.S., I would ideally like to keep my usergroups/usertitles and have this handled by a conditional if possible..but if that can't de done, I'll try anything.
Try this

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 24 May 2006, 02:17
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Thanks T.S.!

The first "if" line would go before Jimbo's first line of code in his hack and the last would go after his last line correct?
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 24 May 2006, 02:19
T.S. T.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by dssart
Thanks T.S.!

The first "if" line would go before Jimbo's first line of code in his hack and the last would go after his last line correct?
Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 24 May 2006, 02:20
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Thanks again..I'll give it a go tomorrow after I get home from my real job
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 24 May 2006, 06:41
durapuma durapuma is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by durapuma
Hello again,

i have just restore the "postbit" template and have add the code to the postbit_lecacy template. But it don't run

Whats the problem ?

I will click on install, if it runs
Please remember my question - i need to install the hack quickly!!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 27 May 2006, 00:26
.Tim's Avatar
.Tim .Tim is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Tim
Works perfect! Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 28 May 2006, 06:08
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Doesn't work. Thanks anyways...



Originally Posted by T.S.
Try this

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 28 May 2006, 07:12
T.S. T.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by dssart
Doesn't work. Thanks anyways...
I just noticed that I placed the < the wrong way. I turned it around and tried it on my own forum, but still couldn't get it working. I am still learning.

Last edited by T.S.; 28 May 2006 at 07:23.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 31 May 2006, 02:24
sross sross is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Hi, so is the ad displayed right after the 1st post on the page? I would like it to do the following.. is this possible:

a page has 2 posts the ad appears after post one, the page has 4 posts the ad appears after post2, page with 10 posts on it the ad appears after post5. This way the ad is always kept in the center of the postings. Thanks for any info!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: