Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Mod Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo (Member) UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 237
Released: 10 Oct 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 138
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsored-ad-screengrab.jpg
Views:	4060
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	35606  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #196  
Old 31 May 2006, 09:23
T.S. T.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by sross
Hi, so is the ad displayed right after the 1st post on the page?
This plugin displays the ad in a different random position with each page load.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 31 May 2006, 12:04
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by sross
Hi, so is the ad displayed right after the 1st post on the page? I would like it to do the following.. is this possible:

a page has 2 posts the ad appears after post one, the page has 4 posts the ad appears after post2, page with 10 posts on it the ad appears after post5. This way the ad is always kept in the center of the postings. Thanks for any info!
I could write this for you. Drop me a PM with an idea of how much you're willing to spend on it.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 09 Jun 2006, 10:47
Netdesignz Netdesignz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Sorry to sound dumb and ask this question but after reading through this whole thread im still confused.
This is the first mod ive installed so please bear with me.

Ive manged uploading the xml

But this edit the postbit is baffling me as i cant find the file i need to edit. Ive looked through all the files i have there and there is no file called that..Can someone explain in noob terms plz
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 09 Jun 2006, 11:05
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
"postbit" and "postbit_legacy" are the name of "templates". Sets of "templates" are stored in "styles".

Check out the "styles & templates" section in the vB documentation here

Shout if you have any problems.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 19 Jun 2006, 13:23
T.S. T.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Any 3.6 update coming out? This version works for me on 3.6 but doesn't quite look right. :banana:
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 19 Jun 2006, 13:33
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by T.S.
Any 3.6 update coming out? This version works for me on 3.6 but doesn't quite look right. :banana:
Sorry - I won't have a chance to till v3.6 is stable and I've installed it on visordown.com
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 26 Jul 2006, 13:03
Hemanth's Avatar
Hemanth Hemanth is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Good one. Installed.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 04 Aug 2006, 23:58
Bulent Tekcan Bulent Tekcan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Any news for 3.6.0 ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 05 Aug 2006, 23:52
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Hope this can work with 3.6, really looked great pre-3.6..
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 03:12
nsusa nsusa is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Works for me in 3.6. The only thing I had to change was to remove the $spacer_open and ...close as otherwise it would not go 100% in width in my case.

Christoph
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 17:06
brvheart's Avatar
brvheart brvheart is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
great hack, I saw earlier in the thread about making the ads show up after the first unread post...has this been done yet?

*clicks install*
__________________
Website: www.mmaworld.org
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 10:21
almukmin almukmin is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by nsusa
Works for me in 3.6. The only thing I had to change was to remove the $spacer_open and ...close as otherwise it would not go 100% in width in my case.

Christoph
Hi, do you know how to make the space above and below the box equal to the normal space between posts? I've been trying with no success.
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 10:36
almukmin almukmin is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I got the fix, change it to

<div style="padding:$stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px 0px 0px">

and remove the spacer open and spacer close

This is for 3.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 11:18
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Hi,

after we remove the spacer code from the top and bottom, where does the div style code go..at the very top? Thanks.


Originally Posted by almukmin
I got the fix, change it to

<div style="padding:$stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px 0px 0px">

and remove the spacer open and spacer close

This is for 3.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 16:12
mano1.com mano1.com is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
interesting, i'll give this one a shot later today. thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: