Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Mod Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo (Member) UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 237
Released: 10 Oct 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 138
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsored-ad-screengrab.jpg
Views:	4060
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	35606  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #211  
Old 16 Aug 2006, 03:08
dssart dssart is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
just re-installed under 3.6, using the tips from above..good work. click *install*

Is it possible to have the ads displayed when viewing the forum index, or when viewing the thread topics within a group as opposed to having the ads displayed when one views the messages within a thread as this does now?

Would also like to know if I could have two rows of ads appear instead of one..

Last edited by dssart; 16 Aug 2006 at 22:56.
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 04:42
webgroup webgroup is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Sorry - I won't have a chance to till v3.6 is stable and I've installed it on visordown.com

Any new of the new version?
works in 3.6.0 but the table with the ads is not squeared with the post tables anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 06:32
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by webgroup
Any new of the new version?
works in 3.6.0 but the table with the ads is not squeared with the post tables anymore.
Works with 3.6, you just need to remove the space_open and spacer_closed.

Use this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 06:41
webgroup webgroup is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by Smoothie
Works with 3.6, you just need to remove the space_open and spacer_closed.

Use this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
thanks.

should I add that code or replace the spacer_closed and space_open with the code?
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 19 Aug 2006, 07:50
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by webgroup
thanks.

should I add that code or replace the spacer_closed and space_open with the code?
Here's what I use:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 20 Aug 2006, 18:31
almukmin almukmin is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Please read my previous post a page ago.
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 05 Oct 2006, 13:10
jklimczak's Avatar
jklimczak jklimczak is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
can some one help me fix my code I keep geting No post after i add this

if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0">
<div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px">

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt1" align="center">

<!-- BEGIN ADVERTPRO CODE BLOCK -->

<SCRIPT language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
document.write('<SCR'+'IPT src="http://216.27.135.253:8080/advertpro/servlet/view/banner/javascript/zone?zid=7&pid=4&random='+Math.floor(89999999*Math.random()+10000000)+'&millis=' +new Date().getTime()+'" language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"></SCR'+'IPT>');
</SCRIPT>
<NOSCRIPT>
<A href="http://216.27.135.253:8080/advertpro/servlet/click/zone?zid=7&pid=4&lookup=true&position=1" target="_top">
<IMG src="http://216.27.135.253:8080/advertpro/servlet/view/banner/image/zone?zid=7&pid=4&position=1" height="60" width="468" hspace="0" vspace="0" border="0" alt="Click Here!">
</A>
</NOSCRIPT>

<!-- END ADVERTPRO CODE BLOCK -->

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
</if>
__________________
http://tecwired.com
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 05 Oct 2006, 15:49
curriertech curriertech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Installed and working on 3.6.2! I made one small change, being that it only shows the random ads for guests.
__________________
New England Streetriders
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 15 Oct 2006, 09:03
andewy3k andewy3k is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
works great, thanks

just had to remove the spacer stuff for 3.6 and add the new div tag.

thanks again...

*installed*
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 31 Oct 2006, 22:47
Domenico Domenico is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Removing spacer_closed and space_open and changing the div to <div style="padding:$stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px 0px 0px"> or <div style="padding:6px 0px 0px 0px"> doesn't work for me.

See -> http://www.webhostingtalk.nl/webhost...ders-bots.html

Any ideas?
__________________

█ The biggest and best hosting forum in Europe!
Reply With Quote
  #221  
Old 05 Dec 2006, 23:51
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Andreas View Post
What about:
Show Adsense in (or under, above) first unread Post of a Thread.
I think this is the place that would get the most user attention?
That's a nice idea. I also tried to find a solution for that. For what variable should I search for?
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 16 Jan 2007, 19:36
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by ThorstenA View Post
That's a nice idea. I also tried to find a solution for that. For what variable should I search for?
We tried this but after a week of research putting it there and a week of placing it randomly between the postbits we found that we got a better CTR from the randomly positioned one.

I'd urge you to do some similar research on your site to see if the same's true.

Putting the adsense after the first post would just require a template change.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 17 Jan 2007, 05:09
jw00dy's Avatar
jw00dy jw00dy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Thanks, for this. Install was a snap

Installed.
__________________
Just another squirrel trying to get a nut
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 17 Jan 2007, 10:56
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo View Post
We tried this but after a week of research putting it there and a week of placing it randomly between the postbits we found that we got a better CTR from the randomly positioned one.

I'd urge you to do some similar research on your site to see if the same's true.

Putting the adsense after the first post would just require a template change.
I'd think that your research would be very interesting for so much people here, I would be glad to hear more about what you tried and what you think is more successfull. Do you also put adsense for registered users on showthread? How do your link units work out? I was f.e. never sure, if my link units hurt my forum more than they earn money.

Installed.
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 18:26
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
After playing some days, for me placement after #1 posts works better for me than random placements.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: