Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5 Details »
Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5
Mod Version: 2.2.0, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (40 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 366
Released: 22 May 2012 Last Update: 06 Dec 2012 Downloads: 2404
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5
www.Qapla.com


Version 2.2.0

The new Activity Stream for VB 4.2.0 is very nice but it feels like it is missing something- and what it is missing is a sidebar. Ideally at some point VB will release a custom sidebar built just for the Activity Stream but until then this quick mod will let you use the built in forum sidebar on the Activity Stream.

As of version 2.0 besides just working on the Activity Stream the mod can now add a sidebar to ANY vBulletin page including forums, threads, groups, albums, who's online, forum leaders, and more. In fact you can easily add the sidebar even to custom pages from custom mods.

New Features
  • Now works on ANY vBulletin Page (except blogs which have their own sidebar)
  • Option to align sidebar with page content or top of page
  • Option to Disable Sidebar Collapse Option (By Usergroup in 2.1.0)
  • Collapsed sidebar state now "remembered" on different pages
  • Option to enable Sidebar by Usergroup
  • Option to disable Sidebar by Forum (if enabled for forums/threads)
  • Option to disable Sidebar in specific styles
  • Options to disable sidebars if mobile devices detected*

NOTE: To enable mobile device detection options you must install the Mobile Browser Detector mod.

Live Demo: Qapla.com Activity Stream

You can enable or disable the Sidebar Anywhere independently of the forum sidebar but they will both display the same content (blocks.)

NEW - If you need to have different blocks on different pages check out this add-on.

You must have at least 1 block setup and active for the sidebar to show.

Unlike most of my other mods this mod is enabled by default upon installation. Be default it is setup to show only on the Activity Stream and register.php pages.

I am aware there is already a mod out there "Everywhere Sidebar" by another coder. This is completely different code and I made this because my "Staff Online Sideblock" mod did not work on Sidebar Everywhere but it does work on this mod.

This mod requires at least VB 4.2.0 to work on the Activity Stream but should work on older VB 4.x.x versions on other pages.

Full view of admin cp options: http://www.qapla.com/mods/ss/sidebar...tings_full.jpg.

The old version Zip file Sidebar for Activity Stream by BOP5 v11.zip works only on the Activity Stream.

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS INCLUDED WITH THIS MOD- THEY ANSWER MOST OF THE QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO USE IT.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sidebar_anywhere_activity.jpg
Views:	3901
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	139528   Click image for larger version

Name:	sidebar_anywhere_forumdisplay.jpg
Views:	3581
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	139529  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Cel Forum Sidebar: enable sidebar for IE 6, disable collapsing cellarius vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 17 25 Jan 2016 13:57
Top Activity List for Activity Modification WetWired vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 5 31 Oct 2007 21:00

  #421  
Old 21 Dec 2018, 15:10
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Talking

Originally Posted by gnrx View Post
After type this question, yes, I think, the problem isn't in the mod, problem is in the style...

Actually, I use a Christmas style <snipped>
Ok, let's try it a different way...

go to admincp> forums & moderators> Forum Blocks Manager

look at the blocks you have set for those particular forums, click edit block for each one that displays and see if the width is specified in those blocks.

This can be in the "block content" field OR in the "block template to use" field



To look in the template itself you'd look and see what the template is called (in the example picture it's block_html_google ), then go to your style and find that template & look for width settings.

If you cannot locate the issue, here is a final solution that may help you:


Go to admincp> Settings> Options> general settings>Add Template Name in HTML Comments> set to YES.

Then open your site in google chrome, go to the page that isn't displaying properly and right click on the sidebar, choose inspect.

It will display the code and allow you to see which template needs to be adjusted, here is an example from my page to show you what it should look like:



once you find the template that isn't displaying the way you'd like, you can go to styles & templates> the style you're trying to fix> find the offending template and edit it directly.

Have a lovely weekend

Last edited by Budget101; 21 Dec 2018 at 15:16.
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 10 Feb 2019, 22:46
gnrx gnrx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
budget101...Not only has a weekend gone by, but more than a month has passed ...
They came Christmas ... then I did server migration to a self managed ... and as Christmas passed that "little problem" with that template did not have it ...
But after "re-adjusting" the new server and some other thing that was pending on the server I put with this ...
And ... ohh! Surprise!!!
In the new server (perhaps by chance) this problem has disappeared !!!
But I owe you a few thanks for more than a month
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 22 Nov 2019, 22:09
gnrx gnrx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hello.
Since a some time I want made some modification in this mod but I don't know how made...
I wat explain well

In forum/index page, appears sidebar with some blocks, ok.
When enter in some forum/subforum, appears sidebar but with others blocks (really with less blocks) not the sames blocks that in index forum.

I read the txt I view instructions for ad sidebar in custom pages, but list of forums/subforums, aren't custom pages.

Is this possible?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 10 Apr 2020, 21:58
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Hello all. Just installed this mod on vBulletin 4.2.5...and for the most part...all seems to be running fine so far. Thanks much Bird of Prey!

One question. One area that I would like to add Sidebar Anywhere to is the "New Posts" page. My site just like vBulletin.org has a "New Posts" link...and I believe my site uses the same code for the New Posts page as vBulletin.org.

In the "Custom Scripts & Templates" section of Sidebar Anywhere...what would the script look like that I need to add for Sidebar Anywhere to appear on the New Posts page?

Here's the Sidebar Anywhere on how to do it...and what the syntax should be (please see attachment).

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png Sidebar Anywhere.png (53.1 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 11 Apr 2020, 11:31
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
You're welcome.

New Posts I believe is just a search.php page IIRC so the script name would be: search

I'm not sure the template but you probably can't limit it to just new posts, it would need to be all search results or none.


Look in your template manager to see what the various Search templates are, probably something like "search_results" or the like. Unfortunately I have no installed VB4.x to look at anymore.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 22 Apr 2020, 16:22
carmine3838's Avatar
carmine3838 carmine3838 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
in php of act of action

hello I installed the product and it works lla great now since that in my site is installed ipbroarcade I wanted to create a block in the sidebar by recalling a php file of ipbroarcade example xxxx.arcade.php and make it become sliding. I try with all the php codes but I can't. Can you give me a script example?
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 03 Jun 2020, 14:28
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Anyone know what the newest PHP version Sidebar Anywhere works with?

I'm running PHP 5.6...and was wondering if Sidebar Anywhere works with PHP 7.0 or newer.

Thanks

p.s. I looked thru about last 10 pages of this thread...and didn't see anything mentioned newer than PHP 5.5.
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 03 Jun 2020, 14:48
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Working fine for me on vB 4.2.5 with PHP 7.1.33
Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 03 Jun 2020, 19:18
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
Working fine for me on vB 4.2.5 with PHP 7.1.33
Awesome. Thanks very much!

I'm planning on a PHP upgrade for my site very soon...and I'm in the process of reviewing all the site plugins for PHP compatibility.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: