Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin Cron Based Database Backup Details »
vBulletin Cron Based Database Backup
Mod Version: 4.2.0.2, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (160 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 1434
Released: 28 Dec 2009 Last Update: 26 Nov 2013 Downloads: 7175
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

As of 23 Nov 2017 this modification has been withdrawn.

This is a cut down version based on a backup system written by Trigunflame for vb 3.0. It is a simple vBulletin cron trigged php system that does a dump of your database - either as one complete file, or as one file per table. Especially useful now that IB removed the old ACP backup option in vBulletin 4. Files can be (G)Zipped to save space.

All the options are located in the ACP in vBulletin Options >> vBulletin Automatic Backup

To install, download and unzip the files, and follow the instructions in the text file.


History:

v4.0.1 : 28-Dec-2009 : Initial release for vb 4.0.0 Gold.
v4.0.2 : 29-Dec-2009 : Added ability to block process larger tables.
v4.0.3 : 27-Jun-2010 : Added Gzip option.

v4.1.0 : 04-Dec-2010 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.0.

v4.1.7.0 : 16-Oct-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.7.

v4.2.0.0 : 24-May-2012 : Updated for vBulletin 4.2.0.
v4.2.0.1 : 17-Mar-2013 : Removed vboptions from backup call..
v4.2.0.2 : 25-Nov-2013 : Fix php 5.3 deprecated warnings, added mysqldump backup.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Vbulletin Database Backup Pro (Cron Support) Trigunflame vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 443 05 Sep 2008 16:12

  #946  
Old 03 Nov 2013, 23:17
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
It works just fine, as long as (1) your server can gzip & (2) you turn the option on.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #947  
Old 04 Nov 2013, 18:46
Nirjonadda Nirjonadda is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Real name: Md Tajirul Islam
GZip Files option set to Yes but i didnot know my server can do gzip, How to check/work server can do gzip file?
Reply With Quote
  #948  
Old 05 Nov 2013, 03:47
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by Nirjonadda View Post
GZip Files option set to Yes but i didnot know my server can do gzip, How to check/work server can do gzip file?
Under Options - Maintenance - View PHP Info

search for reference to gzip


Reply With Quote
  #949  
Old 05 Nov 2013, 14:55
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
or SSH onto the server and just try running Gzip.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #950  
Old 05 Nov 2013, 17:05
Nirjonadda Nirjonadda is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Real name: Md Tajirul Islam
gzip compression is enabled but does not get work.
Reply With Quote
  #951  
Old 26 Nov 2013, 11:38
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Getting this error now after the update:



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
www.nirc.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #952  
Old 26 Nov 2013, 12:06
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Ok. Fixed both.

Magic runtime quotes is another deprecated function I wasnt aware of, added a php version check for that as well.

The syntax error was a semi-colon that mysteriously went missing, which I have now put back.


This version actually contains some experimental code that attempts to do backups via mysqldump (rather than all via php).

If you want to try that feature, you must edit a line in the mysqlbackup.php file.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #953  
Old 26 Nov 2013, 12:12
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Ok. Fixed both.

Magic runtime quotes is another deprecated function I wasnt aware of, added a php version check for that as well.

The syntax error was a semi-colon that mysteriously went missing, which I have now put back.


This version actually contains some experimental code that attempts to do backups via mysqldump (rather than all via php).

If you want to try that feature, you must edit a line in the mysqlbackup.php file.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'll give it a shot now, for adding that code.

Cheers


Edit I can confirm that this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

works for both php and mysql


Best mod on here!
__________________
www.nirc.co.uk

Last edited by Disco_Dave; 26 Nov 2013 at 12:37.
Reply With Quote
  #954  
Old 29 Jan 2014, 19:19
Meestor_X Meestor_X is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Ok, I know this isn't your problem, but I could use some advice on how to fix an issue with the automatic backups not completing.
Occasionally, the backup completes. If I try it a number of times, it will complete maybe 1 in 10 times. When it doesn't complete, the backup gets as far as the "user" table and then stops.
I've tried all the settings in the options, like locking, block processing, separate vs single table backups, etc. but nothing seems to fix it.

Just looking for some advice on what setting I might need to change in php or MySQL to stop it from timing out? (I assume it's timing out - I have no access to any logs on the shared server)

Last edited by Meestor_X; 29 Jan 2014 at 21:17.
Reply With Quote
  #955  
Old 30 Jan 2014, 09:02
charlesr charlesr is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
There is probably someone who knows what logs to look in to see the problem, but that's not me.... Meanwhile:

Is the user table ok? Try repairing it. You may need to stop mysql first for a successful repair on the user table:

----------
To repair all the tables in the database in centos we stopped it first.
# /etc/init.d/mysqld stop
Then navigated to the database files:
# cd /var/lib/mysql/[databasename]/
Then run the following command:
# myisamchk -r *.MYI
And once complete restart MySQL:
# /etc/init.d/mysqld start
-----------

If it's ok, then do you have a busy forum / is your server powerful enough? I had some odd behaviour until I upgraded and then everything magically worked perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #956  
Old 30 Jan 2014, 15:12
Meestor_X Meestor_X is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Thank you for your reply.
As I mentioned, I'm on a shared server. No SSH, logs or anything useful available.
I can add a php.ini file to make changes and that's about it.
I've repaired the tables using the vBulletin admincp, makes no difference.

I'm hoping there would be a timeout setting that affects whether the backup completes as it's pretty random. I just don't know enough about all the php and mySQL settings.
Reply With Quote
  #957  
Old 31 Jan 2014, 09:02
charlesr charlesr is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
If you view php info in vbulletin maintenance area, what are all the timeouts set at?
Reply With Quote
  #958  
Old 01 Feb 2014, 22:30
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Most likely php timing out, but really hard to say.

If you use the latest version, you could try the experimental mysql backup method - see post #952
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #959  
Old 01 Apr 2014, 19:43
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
This has always worked well for me and I've used it on a few sites for a long, long time. Thanks Paul! one of the most useful mods here.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #960  
Old 05 Apr 2014, 00:01
BBNZowner's Avatar
BBNZowner BBNZowner is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Figured I should install this now, I keep forgetting to do regular back ups :P
__________________
"The greatest barrier to success is the fear of failure."

Non-profit organisation owner; designer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: