Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay Details »
Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay
Mod Version: 1.1, by Lynne (Coder/Designer) Lynne is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (58 votes - 4.95 average) Installs: 504
Released: 23 Dec 2009 Last Update: 05 Mar 2013 Downloads: 1807
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

This is another modification which should be standard vbulletin. I wrote a template modification, but have now written one that is just a plugin. This template modification will make your thread prefixes clickable. If you click on the prefix, then the forumdisplay will only show threads with that prefix in that forum. Then, if you click on the prefix again, it will show all the threads.

Click to Filter Forum by this Prefixid:


Click to Show All Threads:


Version History:
1.0 2009-12-22: - initial release by Lynne at vbulletin.org
1.1 2010-01-05 - fixed issue of bad link showing up in search results - clickable prefixes will only show on forumdisplay as they are supposed to now.

To Install:

1. Import product-lynne_click_prefix.xml

To Uninstall:

1. Uninstall "Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay"

Translations:
Thank you to Luca_ITA for the Italian phrase translations.
Thank you to yjeanrenaud for the German phrase translations.
Thank you to eTiKeT™ for the Turkish phrase translations.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	lynne_prefix_all.png
Views:	8076
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	107969   Click image for larger version

Name:	lynne_prefix_filter.png
Views:	7994
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	107970  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
[Add-on] Thread Prefixes: Quick Prefix Filter gavinzac vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 37 02 Aug 2012 02:56
Forum Display Enhancements Clickable, Sortable Prefixes Magnumutz vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 72 11 Jul 2011 09:01
Forum Display Enhancements Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter forumdisplay by Prefix Lynne Modification Graveyard 29 04 Jan 2010 22:02

  #16  
Old 28 Dec 2009, 09:56
Antyrael Antyrael is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Thanks for this great plugin Lynne

One question though, would it be possible to make it so that you can view all topics with the same prefix forum wide?
Or make it optional maybe.

I would like to present an easy list of important topics for new visitors, selected by their thread prefix.
For example, the URL would be something like "forumdisplay.php?prefixid=01".
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28 Dec 2009, 15:13
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Antyrael View Post
Thanks for this great plugin Lynne

One question though, would it be possible to make it so that you can view all topics with the same prefix forum wide?
Or make it optional maybe.

I would like to present an easy list of important topics for new visitors, selected by their thread prefix.
For example, the URL would be something like "forumdisplay.php?prefixid=01".
Somebody already asked that question in this thread. I do not know how that is possible.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 31 Dec 2009, 04:58
Toxic2 Toxic2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Hi Lynne,

I have added Prefix's [CN] [KR] [JP] etc. and force the Poster to use one to designate country, I Installed the mod as directed, but the Prefix is not Clikable. Could it be that the Brackets make the prefix Null? Or if I need to make different prefix's to suit the mod, pls advise.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 31 Dec 2009, 15:35
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I use brackets in my prefixes, so that isn't it. Are you trying this on a default style? Also, you need to be using rich prefixes - did you make sure to enter the prefix text in that text box also?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01 Jan 2010, 05:49
ShawnV's Avatar
ShawnV ShawnV is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Awesome, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01 Jan 2010, 23:57
Toxic2 Toxic2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Question

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I use brackets in my prefixes, so that isn't it. Are you trying this on a default style? Also, you need to be using rich prefixes - did you make sure to enter the prefix text in that text box also?
I am using different styles, In Prefix, the prefix ID is CN prefix set is TV prefix, rich txt [CN], plain txt [CN] as well. the TV Prefix has the various countries as I mentioned above. All countries are set to display order 10. ( I'm not all that familiar how to accurately set up prefix's yet) But all posts require a prefix before one can submit the posting. And that does work.

It has been decided to eliminate sub forums by country, and all posts are In one forum with the various Country prefix's. Your mod would certainly eliminate page after page, looking for specific country posts. e.g. all [KR] or [JP] etc.

I use the Style simple Black and added the Mod while using simple Black as the default.

If I need to re make Prefix's in all styles'(including default) a different way please advise

Thank you

Last edited by Toxic2; 02 Jan 2010 at 02:20.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02 Jan 2010, 04:28
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Have you tried this on a basic default style on your site?
Create a new style with no parent:
  • Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Add New Style
  • Parent Style: No Parent Style
  • Title: Default vBulletin
  • Allow User Selection: Yes
  • Save
Then browse the site using that totally default vbulletin style - do you still have the same problem?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03 Jan 2010, 03:06
SuperGLS SuperGLS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Works great for me on Gold. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05 Jan 2010, 21:42
mandingo's Avatar
mandingo mandingo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Hmmm, this wasnt' written to be used on the What's New page. I'll have to put a condition around it so it doesn't show then in my next release.

If you want to do it now, just put this around the plugin contents:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Put this where exactly? (sorry)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05 Jan 2010, 22:07
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by mandingo View Post
Put this where exactly? (sorry)
I just updated the mod to have this new condition in there, so download the new version.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05 Jan 2010, 22:22
mandingo's Avatar
mandingo mandingo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thanks Lynne, you're the best.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09 Jan 2010, 01:25
RoteRose RoteRose is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hello,

i found a bug, if you search for a prefix, the result page displays the prefixes like this:
http://<<ur>>l/forums/?prefixid=Rapidshare
this will result in a 404 error page.

And iīve got another problem, i use this rewrite script for my lighttpd for seo urls. The /forum/ rewrite will nor work with your mod, can anybody help me to change the string?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09 Jan 2010, 05:09
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by RoteRose View Post
Hello,

i found a bug, if you search for a prefix, the result page displays the prefixes like this:
http://<<ur>>l/forums/?prefixid=Rapidshare
this will result in a 404 error page.
Are you using version 1.1? When I search on a prefix with version 1.1, the prefixids are not clickable.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09 Jan 2010, 05:56
RoteRose RoteRose is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
-.- i downloaded the new version and extract it to a folder with a (2) behind and choosed the one without ^^ sry. Now itīs working fine, but still the problem with the rewrite
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09 Jan 2010, 16:20
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by RoteRose View Post
-.- i downloaded the new version and extract it to a folder with a (2) behind and choosed the one without ^^ sry. Now itīs working fine, but still the problem with the rewrite
I'm sorry, but I can't help with the rewrite.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: