Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 24 Sep 2020, 05:48
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Unhappy Images not compressing when uploading? Please Help!

Hi everyone, looking for some help. A forum I help with went down for a few hours one day because the host said it was using too much resources. They got it all worked out and it was back up and running later that day.

Since then, when people try to upload images, nothing happens unless the images are below around 20KB. Before, you could take any image of any size, and upload it. I guess it would compress the images by itself? Now that's not working I guess.

Any ideas what this could be? We're at a loss. No settings in the AdminCP were changed.


Any help is truly appreciated, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24 Sep 2020, 18:47
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
They probably changed the php max upload limit to 20kb in the php.ini file.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Sep 2020, 00:30
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
But it will upload any size image if I up the size limits. If I make the limit 500KB in the Admin CP, it will upload. But a 600KB image won't upload.

Before, even if the limits were at 20KB, it would upload any size image, but will compress the image first and make a thumbnail.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Sep 2020, 12:24
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
I would guess that the compression module somehow was removed in php, aka GD or Imagick

View your phpinfo & verify that one is loaded into php
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Oct 2020, 03:14
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Both GD and Imagick seem to be there and are enabled.

Anything else I should try?

--------------- Added 01 Oct 2020 at 08:05 ---------------

This is driving me crazy. My members are getting frustrated. I just can't figure out what the problem is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Oct 2020, 10:20
lange lange is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I don't have this issue.

I would test an install on a free host to reproduce the problem or not

Here are the limits on my 3.8.11.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Oct 2020, 04:31
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
I still can't figure out what is wrong with this. Does anyone else have any idea or any direction I should go?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Oct 2020, 11:58
Nas.er Nas.er is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Real name: Naser
Make sure file and folder permissions are correct on main forum folder
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 Oct 2020, 23:07
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Make sure file ownership is correct. On some setups, you'll login in with a different or new FTP user account and when upgrading and overwriting files the same ownership isn't assigned, which creates an issue. If you're unsure how to check and/or change, ask your Host for assistance, they can login at a server level to check the file ownership and correct any issues.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: