Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AJAX - Mouseover Profile Preview Details »
AJAX - Mouseover Profile Preview
Mod Version: 2.0, by ericgtr (Coder/Designer) ericgtr is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (28 votes - 4.36 average) Installs: 567
Released: 11 Aug 2006 Last Update: 07 Feb 2007 Downloads: 2804
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

What it does:
This script will display profile info when you mouseover their username on the forumhome page, the javascript (ajax) is from http://www.dhtmlgoodies.com/index.ht...t=ajax-tooltip See screenshot or test drive it here by waving your mouse over usernames in the What's Going On box http://www.guitarblast.com/ (currently off for guests, see screenshot below)

Notes&Updates:
  • By default this uses it's own CSS located in the CSS folder. To change the background color, edit ajax-tooltip.css and find /* Background color */ and change to your background color.
  • There is a space after each username, between the comma's. Currently working on fixing this.
  • If the name wraps to the next line, it will not display on mouseover.
  • The javascript box will run off the end if the forum width is at 100% for usernames on the edge. (currently working on this)
  • [8/13] Added the option to turn off for guests. This is ideal both to save server load and if you have the member list turned off for guess through the admin CP.
  • [10/28] Fixed broken page (css display) and included a Product installer.
  • [10/28] Now also shows "mousing over members" in the Who's Online page.
  • [11/1] Added a delay so it has to be moused over for a small amount of time before it will show. Removed caching and put a timer on it so there will no longer be a need to refresh the page to get the latest on where a user is, it will do it automatically.
  • [11/8]
    Added option to make the window stay open so you can click within it or scroll (if scrollbars appear) clicking anywhere outside of it will close it. To do this:
    In the forumhome_loggedinuser find:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Replace with:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Open the header template and add this to the very bottom:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Keep in mind that if you leave this on for guests, you must also allow guests to view member info. Admin CP > Usergroups > Usergroup Manager > Unregistered / Not Logged In [edit] > Can View Member Info (Yes).

Upgrade and fresh install instructions are included in the zip file.


That's it!
Pleas click Install if you use this

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sshot.gif
Views:	6223
Size:	7.7 KB
ID:	55395  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements [AJAX] Ajax Poll Preview Alphawolf83 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 41 20 Mar 2010 09:39
New Posting Features AJAX Preview For New Thread / Reply -=Sniper=- vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 118 24 Jul 2009 15:22
Show Thread Enhancements Ajax Thread (1stPost) Preview 1.5 Gold SkyCatcher vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 193 07 Aug 2007 17:32

  #196  
Old 15 Jan 2007, 16:03
criscokid criscokid is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by ericgtr View Post
What is the URL you want to use it with?
Do you mean the URL of my site?
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 15 Jan 2007, 21:41
Limerick Limerick is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by ericgtr View Post
Sure, just replace your forumhome_loggedinuser template with this (you may use a comma and add other groups too if you want)
Thank you Eric
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 16 Jan 2007, 01:41
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Originally Posted by criscokid View Post
Do you mean the URL of my site?
No, the URL that you want to have the ajax window to display when you click the link.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 16 Jan 2007, 01:42
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Originally Posted by trickfly View Post
is it working fine on my site ?

www.TrickFly.com

the box seems to disappear as soon as you move your mouse ove the box, is this right ?
It's been changed, when did you last install this? You can upgrade if it's been a while.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 16 Jan 2007, 11:11
criscokid criscokid is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by criscokid View Post
I'd like to change what information appears in the ajax box - is that straightforward? Is it just a matter of a template edit
Originally Posted by ericgtr View Post
No, the URL that you want to have the ajax window to display when you click the link.
At the moment the ajax block supplies information about what the user is currently doing on the forums. If the box contained more information about the user and pulled information from the profile fields people would be more likely to click through to a users profile page and find out more about that person.

When the person clicks on / into the ajax box they should be taken to that person's profile page (preferably opening in a new window).
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 16 Jan 2007, 14:44
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
You can edit what you like inside the member_ajax template and even put a direct link to the users profile if you want, the purpose of this is so people don't have to click on the profile though. Also, I am happy to help out with suggestions but prefer you click install.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 16 Jan 2007, 15:08
criscokid criscokid is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Thought I'd clicked 'installed'... just done it. Cheers mate.

"the purpose of this is so people don't have to click on the profile though" - I hear what you're saying... I'm looking at it from a different point of view. I'm seeing it as a teaser to actually get people to click through to a member's profile. Rows of usernames after usernames doesn't do anything to encourage people to click though and find out more about a particular user but this mod can change that.

Side comment: vB developers in general could do with thinking slightly differently... people are lazy and need encouraging to do things so instead of showing text such as 'no posts' or 'no threads' why not show 'no posts - be the first to post' and link that to 'post a new thread' page. People are more likely to post because they've been presented with a 'call to action'.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 01:12
^SuiCyde^ ^SuiCyde^ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
i made all installation steps, and tested this on my default skin......

sadly whenever i mouseover, i get a box that says.....content loading...please wait......
then a blank box.....i checked urls and i did everything according to the latest readme

i am running vbulletin 3.6.4 ......please advice?


linked a screen.... but i think it's pretty straight forward the problem i'm having......

http://www.therapmovement.com/forums/screen.bmp
__________________
Jokes/HipHop/Battles/Exposing Internet Creeps

http://www.OTBVA.com

Last edited by ^SuiCyde^; 19 Jan 2007 at 01:17.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 04:50
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Originally Posted by ^SuiCyde^ View Post
i made all installation steps, and tested this on my default skin......

sadly whenever i mouseover, i get a box that says.....content loading...please wait......
then a blank box.....i checked urls and i did everything according to the latest readme

i am running vbulletin 3.6.4 ......please advice?


linked a screen.... but i think it's pretty straight forward the problem i'm having......

http://www.therapmovement.com/forums/screen.bmp
Not sure why it wouldn't load the content, every now and then I get that but not for long and the page (popup) comes up. You've uploaded the member_ajax.php file to your forum root?
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 17:43
project-Buckfas project-Buckfas is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: David
I have the same issue in 3.6.4

The loading text goes away but, im left with a blank popup...

Originally Posted by ^SuiCyde^ View Post
i made all installation steps, and tested this on my default skin......

sadly whenever i mouseover, i get a box that says.....content loading...please wait......
then a blank box.....i checked urls and i did everything according to the latest readme

i am running vbulletin 3.6.4 ......please advice?


linked a screen.... but i think it's pretty straight forward the problem i'm having......

http://www.therapmovement.com/forums/screen.bmp
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 18:10
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I cannot verify this past version 3.6.0 it could be that there were changes to the member.php in later versions that will make this not work.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 18:16
project-Buckfas project-Buckfas is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: David
Any plans for an upgrade? I would really like this mod. It's a nice touch.
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 19 Jan 2007, 19:27
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I would if I were running an updated version but for now I only have 3.6.0, if/when I upgrade I will also update this modification.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 21 Jan 2007, 03:41
taheri6 taheri6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Hi guys,

I got this installed with no problem - thanks for the great mod!!!

I do have a couple places I want to add this, such as on the index page for the forum listings where it shows the last poster, and in the thread list (/forumdisplay.php) on the last poster.

Can anyone offer this noob any instructions on how to do this?

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 23 Jan 2007, 04:30
NameClan.com NameClan.com is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
thanx it is nice
__________________
no advertising allowed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: