Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Customizable Roster Details »
Customizable Roster
Mod Version: 4.1.0, by Sarcoth (Coder/Designer) Sarcoth is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is currently quarantined.
vB Version: 4.1.0 Rating: (31 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 318
Released: 08 Feb 2010 Last Update: 05 Jan 2011 Downloads: 1844
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  

Customizable Roster

Introduction:

This Mod is ideal for a Guild/Clan roster, but it is also a great replacement for the memberlist. Customize it any way you like: add or remove columns with just a few easy edits. The installer includes permission control that allows you to set which groups appear on the roster and which ones can view it. The most popular option is the ability to control advanced sorting; check it out!



Installation:

Step 0: If you are upgrading from a previous version, save a copy of your old showroster.php and rename your showroster templates (I recommend giving them an underscore prefix; Example: _SHOWROSTER). When upgrading from version, make a copy of all your templates, then revert the templates back to their default, and then uninstall the older version. Also, make sure you delete the bitfield_showroster.xml file in the /includes/xml directory; this will cause database errors if not deleted.

Step 1: Download the showroster_vX.X.X.zip file and unzip it.

Step 2: Upload the files to their correct directories.
Upload the showroster.php to the /forum/ directory.
Delete the bitfield_showroster.xml in the /forum/includes/xml/ directory (if there).
Step 3: Admincp > Plugin & Products > Manage Products > Add/Import Product
Import the product-showroster_v4.x.x.xml file.
Step 4: Admincp > User Profile Fields > Add New/Update User Profile Field
Add all the Profile Fields you plan to use and keep track of their number(s) (i.e. field6, field7, etc.).
Step 5: Admincp > Settings > Options > ShowRoster Settings
Update the settings for your roster: usergroups allowed to view the roster, usergroups that are displayed on the roster, the title and field# for each of your columns on the roster, and any of the many other settings.
Step 6: Admincp > Styles & Templates > Expand > ShowRoster Templates > SHOWROSTER, showroster_header, and showroster_userbits
You only need to adjust these if you have custom adjustments to make. Otherwise, there is no longer a need to change these.
NOTE: See installation and upgrading instructions in the included corresponding txt files.


Version Updates: See 2nd post.
FAQ: See 3rd post.
Screenshots: See 4th post.

PLEASE CLICK INSTALLED.
Support will be given to those that do.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Profile Enhancements Customizable Roster Sarcoth vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 114 27 Jul 2013 15:42
Profile Enhancements Customizable Roster (Member List) Sarcoth vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 260 12 Apr 2012 14:21
Forum Home Enhancements Customizable Welcome Box EnIgMa1234 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 11 04 Apr 2007 20:46

  #121  
Old 28 Mar 2010, 23:04
IR15H IR15H is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thumbs up Nice one

Glad to see this has made it to vB4 .

Originally Posted by kevius View Post
i'm sorry but, where is the sort menu ?????
Beneath the main navigation menu when you're on the Roster 'tab'.

Originally Posted by dennisuello View Post
How do I rename the tab? I don't want it to say Roster.
Edit the template showroster_navbar, change <a class="navtab" href="showroster.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">Roster</a> to whatever you want.

-----------------------

I had a play around with the templates on my test site, mainly moving all the styling to a separate css sheet so that the table would take on the style of whatever the user was viewing in, but also the odd tweak. Below are two examples;

Grouped:


Single Table:


I also thought of some ideas/requests for future versions;
  • as mentioned previously, default order is that which user group IDs are entered in the settings
  • multiple rosters
  • allow HTML in group titles (where my first screen shot has all the <span> stuff)
  • make each group listing collapsible
  • find a way to get multiple-selection user profile fields to work in the roster
  • add page pagination for long rosters
  • add an age column (assuming user has set age to be public)
  • add a PM/Email/MSN/Skype column (following default permissions)
  • phrase the few remaining unphrased words (eg. Roster)

Anyway, if you're interested in the template/css changes I made let me know and I'll give you what I've done.

Hope your exam went okay .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg roster1.jpg (86.0 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg roster2.jpg (63.9 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by IR15H; 28 Mar 2010 at 23:49.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 29 Mar 2010, 19:33
Bojangles Bojangles is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Jeff Yehling
Great mod!

I would love to see the ability (in a future version) to replace the text group name with an image instead (image path is entered as an option in the group). If that ever happens, would it look prettier to have the image centered over the listing of the people in the group, instead of fixed on the left?

Thanks again for making this!
__________________
www.thadpg.com - Tha DPG gaming community.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 29 Mar 2010, 22:18
CoZmicShReddeR's Avatar
CoZmicShReddeR CoZmicShReddeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Martin Weltchek
IR15H I think that is amazing and exactly what this needed!

Please share if you could with Sarcoth or maybe with us here... I would love that if you could share it with me either way...

Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 31 Mar 2010, 21:39
Sarcoth Sarcoth is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Nick
Originally Posted by IR15H View Post
I had a play around with the templates on my test site, mainly moving all the styling to a separate css sheet so that the table would take on the style of whatever the user was viewing in, but also the odd tweak.
Are you talking about the different browser types? Hmmm, I know the tables looked different in Firefox and IE, but I didn't know I could do much about that. I'm interested in the css sheet and what you did to the templates if you don't mind. Thank you.

Originally Posted by IR15H View Post
I also thought of some ideas/requests for future versions;
  • as mentioned previously, default order is that which user group IDs are entered in the settings
  • multiple rosters
  • allow HTML in group titles (where my first screen shot has all the <span> stuff)
  • make each group listing collapsible
  • find a way to get multiple-selection user profile fields to work in the roster
  • add page pagination for long rosters
  • add an age column (assuming user has set age to be public)
  • add a PM/Email/MSN/Skype column (following default permissions)
  • phrase the few remaining unphrased words (eg. Roster)
1) You mean the default order isn't working for you? I did add it to this version, but it only works when the default sort is usergroupid.
2) I had thought of doing that already, but just haven't gotten around to it. Easy enough to do.
3) Hmmm, that may be more of a challenge. I know how to do collapsable groups, but I wonder how that would work for this type of mod. This would be a fun one to work on.
4) I guess I've never used them so never noticed they were not working. I'll chalk this one up for much later.
5) Ack, sadly I don't know about that for this mod. I'd be better off redoing the whole code and mimicing the memberlist.php. This mod was initially built as a way to reuse the showgroup.php file, but it became so customizable I had to redo it as a mod. You're welcome to the challenge if you'd like.
6) I had this once, but removed it since I didn't see it in use anywhere. I'll readd the code and then provide a way to have it added without actually adding ANOTHER column. Maybe just set it up in a way that you can type birthday in one of the field columns.
7) I had thought of doing this as well. I'll look into it but this one may be two versions later.
8) Yea, I meant to actually do that in the last version. I was so excited about getting the big things working that I never got around to this.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Originally Posted by IR15H View Post
Hope your exam went okay .
It didn't actually. I decided to read only 2 of the 3 chapters so I only got around 70%. But, the good news is, that was good enough to give me a 90.8 in the class. I still have 2 more tests to take this semester, but they will only improve my grade, not make it worse. So, basically, if I get 62 out of the remaining 168 questions, I'll have a 100 for the semester. Not important since I already have an A. I thought the extra credit would be easier and more fun than taking the tests...I was right.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 31 Mar 2010, 21:42
Sarcoth Sarcoth is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Nick
Originally Posted by Bojangles View Post
Great mod!

I would love to see the ability (in a future version) to replace the text group name with an image instead (image path is entered as an option in the group). If that ever happens, would it look prettier to have the image centered over the listing of the people in the group, instead of fixed on the left?

Thanks again for making this!
I'm not sure putting images in the group names would be widely used. Plus, it would be code intensive adding the code in there for the select few that want to do that. Instead, I'll see what I can do in telling you how to accomplish it on your own. Let me know if you are still interested.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 31 Mar 2010, 23:44
IR15H IR15H is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Smile

Originally Posted by Sarcoth View Post
Are you talking about the different browser types? Hmmm, I know the tables looked different in Firefox and IE, but I didn't know I could do much about that. I'm interested in the css sheet and what you did to the templates if you don't mind. Thank you.
As far as I can see, they render the same way in the latest versions of FireFox, IE and Chrome. I've attached the xml file with the template changes.

1) You mean the default order isn't working for you? I did add it to this version, but it only works when the default sort is usergroupid.
The default order works fine but what I would like is a custom order, which is defined by the order in which I enter the user group IDs in the settings box. In regards to the other suggestions, thanks for the feedback on them (although I think you missed the one about HTML in the user group titles).

As for your exam, I did the trick of only revising half of the material once but nailing it so I got the mark I needed, sounds like you're going to get the marks you need too .
Attached Files
File Type: xml product-showroster_v4.0.3-templatechanges.xml (34.5 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by IR15H; 01 Apr 2010 at 00:10. Reason: xml attached
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 01:30
CoZmicShReddeR's Avatar
CoZmicShReddeR CoZmicShReddeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Martin Weltchek
Thanks IR15H,
I think having the gamerscard icons show or the mini banners would be a nice plus or someone could make an addon for ShowRoster for those that want it to display... Same with the Messengers Icons...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 13:54
Sarcoth Sarcoth is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Nick
Originally Posted by IR15H View Post
As far as I can see, they render the same way in the latest versions of FireFox, IE and Chrome. I've attached the xml file with the template changes.



The default order works fine but what I would like is a custom order, which is defined by the order in which I enter the user group IDs in the settings box. In regards to the other suggestions, thanks for the feedback on them (although I think you missed the one about HTML in the user group titles).

As for your exam, I did the trick of only revising half of the material once but nailing it so I got the mark I needed, sounds like you're going to get the marks you need too .
Thanks for the file, I'll check it out.

I spent days trying to get the custom order to work when sorting was used and it broke no matter how I tried it. I don't think it will work because the way the grouping is done. Maybe one day I'll try to change over to something else.

Nope, #2 was the HTML one. I missed the multiple rosters suggestion. Still not sure how to do it. That is one I'd like to do though. The main problem there is how to do permissions. I would definitely need to add some tables and a lot more code to make it to work. Not sure I'll have the time to come up with something like that in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 14:55
Andyucs's Avatar
Andyucs Andyucs is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Real name: Andy
Originally Posted by IR15H View Post
.
Thank you

very nice upgrade
__________________
Regards Andy
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 15:26
IR15H IR15H is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by CoZmicShReddeR View Post
Thanks IR15H,
I think having the gamerscard icons show or the mini banners would be a nice plus or someone could make an addon for ShowRoster for those that want it to display... Same with the Messengers Icons...
It's easy enough to get banners for xbox, xfire etc. by going to the relevant site, selecting the banner you like, then editing the generated code very slightly and putting it in your showroster_userbits template. For example;

Replace {vb:var userinfo.{vb:var columns[columnX]}} with the following;
  • xfire
    <img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/3/{vb:var userinfo.{vb:var columns[columnX]}}.png" alt="{vb:var userinfo.{vb:var columns[columnX]}}" />
  • xbox
    <img src="http://card.mygamercard.net/presence/{vb:var userinfo.{vb:var columns[columnX]}}.png" alt="{vb:var userinfo.{vb:var columns[columnX]}}" />

Replace X with whatever column you're using for xfire/xbox etc.

Originally Posted by Sarcoth View Post
Thanks for the file, I'll check it out.

I spent days trying to get the custom order to work when sorting was used and it broke no matter how I tried it. I don't think it will work because the way the grouping is done. Maybe one day I'll try to change over to something else.

Nope, #2 was the HTML one. I missed the multiple rosters suggestion. Still not sure how to do it. That is one I'd like to do though. The main problem there is how to do permissions. I would definitely need to add some tables and a lot more code to make it to work. Not sure I'll have the time to come up with something like that in the near future.
Every time I look at PHP I can never quite figure it out and end up with a headache but from what I can gather, you've basically said;
  1. What usergroups do you want to show on the roster?
  2. What attribute of usergroups should be the primary one, user id or user title?
  3. How should I sort that attribute, ascending or decending? (If none defined, then sort ascending)

As I don't really understand PHP, this may be overly simplistic, but what happens if you simply remove steps 2 and 3? Is the default behaviour to simply fetch display in the order they are entered, or is there some inherit sort behaviour that needs to be overwritten?

---------------------

In regards to multiple rosters, I was thinking along the lines of two entries for showroster_display_groups in the settings then some crazy if conditions like if showroster_display_groups_2 is not blank then display roster2, which would use the same fields/columns as roster1, but appear on a different tab. Of course the downside to that approach would be that you'd be limited to using the same user profile fields for both rosters. However, as I said, I don't really understand PHP so don't know how feasible such an idea would be.

Originally Posted by Andyucs View Post
Thank you

very nice upgrade
Glad you like it .
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 03 Apr 2010, 06:18
CoZmicShReddeR's Avatar
CoZmicShReddeR CoZmicShReddeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Martin Weltchek
Thank You IR15H, I added the information worked out nicely!

I did however notice when I added the xbox and PS3 tags it was a bit too much probably be better to just use icons for those... You can use the smaller xbox icons from the links but if a user doesn't have a xbox gamer card it shows a white error message in the showroster block...

It still is a nice addon to the Showroster!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 09 Apr 2010, 20:07
betts02's Avatar
betts02 betts02 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I have tried to add some extra field to this to show a list of played games using a multi check box bu this will not show on the roster, just a number

anyway to show a list of say 6 games a user playes so it shows on the roster ?
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 09 Apr 2010, 20:19
Sarcoth Sarcoth is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Nick
@ betts - Each box is assigned a number within the code. So, when the user checks the box, that is what is given. It is possible to do what you ask, but I it will only give back a single number no matter what. Out of curiosity, does it give you back a different number depending on what is checked or always the same thing, like 1? To be honest, I'm not sure of an easy way to get it to display what you check.

To everyone, school is really busy right now with this being the final month of the semester. I'll return to working on updates after May 10. Unless someone wants to write my economics term paper for me that is...oh well, it was worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 09 Apr 2010, 20:19
Front Range 4x4 Front Range 4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Chris
For the benefit of others who are thinking of using this for a non RPG site I'm attaching a screenshot of my roster. This is a great mod and with a bit of template editing is a great improvement for a member list.

I've had a few people contact me so here it is and I'm more than happy to offer help for those interested.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg roster.jpg (92.4 KB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 09 Apr 2010, 21:22
betts02's Avatar
betts02 betts02 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by Sarcoth View Post
@ betts - Each box is assigned a number within the code. So, when the user checks the box, that is what is given. It is possible to do what you ask, but I it will only give back a single number no matter what. Out of curiosity, does it give you back a different number depending on what is checked or always the same thing, like 1? To be honest, I'm not sure of an easy way to get it to display what you check.

To everyone, school is really busy right now with this being the final month of the semester. I'll return to working on updates after May 10. Unless someone wants to write my economics term paper for me that is...oh well, it was worth a try.
Yes it gives back a different nuber if i select different games

What i am trying to do is have this show our full members only what games they play

so each person knows who plays what games

i can work arround it a different way with many profile field single box but i thought it may work with check box and show, nut seems not
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: