Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
VC_Countdown (FORUM BLOCK) Details »
VC_Countdown (FORUM BLOCK)
Mod Version: 1.0.5, by midnz (Coder) midnz is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.8 Rating: (8 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 64
Released: 10 Oct 2011 Last Update: 10 Mar 2012 Downloads: 350
Supported Translations  

D E S C R I P T I O N

Countdown timer for forum sidebars that is configurable from the admin control panel. This countdown timer will calculate the remaining time left to reach your targeted event according to the GMT Time Zone Offset that you have pre-set in the admincp (VC_Countdown options). This countdown will expire at the same moment in time for all viewers, regardless of their separate time zones.

You can count down to any future month/day/time within the next 12 months.

This countdown timer is ideal for counting down to:
- have competitors meet at the same time for tournaments on gaming servers (which is what I have used it for)
- for fixed term offers
- for items available in X days
- for sale begins in X days time
or for whatever else tickles your fancy.

This is a no-frills countdown timer but there are no files to upload to your server and there is no need to fiddle around with templates and codes to adjust the countdown expiry date.
You can easily adjust this countdown display to suit forum sidebar widths from 165px to 300px.

I N S T R U C T I O N S

1. Import Product
Plugins & Products / Manage Products / Add/Import Product
Import: product-vc_countdown.xml

2. Create Forum Block
Forums & Moderators / Forum Blocks Manager / Add Block

Select Block Type: Custom HTML/PHP
Title: Event Timer (or whatever you prefer)
Description: VC_Countdown Event Timer
Content Type: HTML
Content: <div></div>
Template to use: block_VC_Countdown

3. Configure VC_Countdown
Admincp / Settings / Options / VC_Countdown

________________________________________

PLEASE NOTE: I have only tested this as working on 4.0.8 PL4.
Confirmed working well on 4.1.3 by rammieone
________________________________________

Updates:
v1.0.3
Removed superfluous css
Added css to enable proper font-color control over all four strings of text
Added ability to include background image
v1.0.4
Added 4 levels of bgimage transparency
Added bgimage 100% height & width of forum block container
Removed option for image:repeat
Added padding options for between (Event Name & top of forum block) and (Event Name & Countdown Numbers)
v1.0.5
Removed "X Days from Now" option (If you don't experience save/default problems using version 1.0.4 there is no need to update to 1.0.5)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	bgimage_fading.gif
Views:	1819
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	133834   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp.jpg
Views:	527
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	133835  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #61  
Old 05 Nov 2013, 22:49
Ba'al's Avatar
Ba'al Ba'al is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
1 question,can you add a height variant option, the width is fine but the height squishes my image down, my image is 220X220 and by doing that you can up the text pixel size as 14px is a little small for us.


If i go into the code on line 32 and edit this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and then re-upload and over write the xml will that make the change for me?
__________________

Last edited by Ba'al; 05 Nov 2013 at 23:09.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 06 Nov 2013, 04:35
midnz's Avatar
midnz midnz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by Ba'al View Post
1 question,can you add a height variant option, the width is fine but the height squishes my image down, my image is 220X220 and by doing that you can up the text pixel size as 14px is a little small for us.


If i go into the code on line 32 and edit this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and then re-upload and over write the xml will that make the change for me?
Yes, doing that will change the height of the image display.
You might also need to consider changing the height of the counter - look on line 62.
You might also need to play with the alignment of days,hrs,min etc but adding or removing spaces. Look on line 123.
Experiment to see how it looks by making one of those changes at a time until you get what you're looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06 Nov 2013, 22:44
Ba'al's Avatar
Ba'al Ba'al is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Originally Posted by midnz View Post
Yes, doing that will change the height of the image display.
You might also need to consider changing the height of the counter - look on line 62.
You might also need to play with the alignment of days,hrs,min etc but adding or removing spaces. Look on line 123.
Experiment to see how it looks by making one of those changes at a time until you get what you're looking for.
Alright thanx i'll give it a try and report back.

ok, so far so good, image @ 220px is good set font weight to bold, now on what line do i find the spacing between the counter numbers i want to move them closer because as i go up in size they move further out.
__________________

Last edited by Ba'al; 06 Nov 2013 at 23:36.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 07 Nov 2013, 04:28
midnz's Avatar
midnz midnz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by Ba'al View Post
Alright thanx i'll give it a try and report back.

ok, so far so good, image @ 220px is good set font weight to bold, now on what line do i find the spacing between the counter numbers i want to move them closer because as i go up in size they move further out.
I don't believe that's an option I'm sorry. There is no adjustment for the spacing between the separate counter numbers. I've looked at the javascript and I can't see where/how that option could be included.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07 Nov 2013, 05:37
Ba'al's Avatar
Ba'al Ba'al is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Originally Posted by midnz View Post
I don't believe that's an option I'm sorry. There is no adjustment for the spacing between the separate counter numbers. I've looked at the javascript and I can't see where/how that option could be included.
Thats cool, its working great and i will continue to tweak it, thanks for all your help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 29 Sep 2014, 00:09
jasff jasff is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I'm running vB 4.2.2. I'm checking in to see if this will work properly and if the installation instructions are updated/complete.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 30 Sep 2014, 00:36
midnz's Avatar
midnz midnz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by jasff View Post
I'm running vB 4.2.2. I'm checking in to see if this will work properly and if the installation instructions are updated/complete.

Thank you
It works on my 4.2.2 installation. The instructions remain unchanged.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 14 Oct 2014, 06:27
jasff jasff is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks for this great mod.

I'm trying to adjust the Forum Block to 220 x 220

For some reason I can't locate where I can adjust the lines for the sizes.
Any direction on where to locate it?

Thank you. Running 4.2.2
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 05:03
midnz's Avatar
midnz midnz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by jasff View Post
Thanks for this great mod.

I'm trying to adjust the Forum Block to 220 x 220

For some reason I can't locate where I can adjust the lines for the sizes.
Any direction on where to locate it?

Thank you. Running 4.2.2
AdminCP/ Settings/ Options/ VC_Countdown > Forum Sidebar Width - change that to 220 using the drop down option.

I didn't include a height option but you might be able to achieve what you want by increasing the padding between some of the other options.
Check ... Event Name / Adjust padding between EVENT NAME and top of container and Adjust padding between EVENT NAME and COUNTDOWN NUMBERS
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 20:43
jasff jasff is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks midnz,

Yes, the height is what I can't get to adjust. I wanted to know where to get into the coding to adjust.

I saw Ba'al where he mentioned changing the height in coding.
I don't know where to access that.

I'll still try and play around in the paddings, but seems to cut the numbers off and the cell height doesn't expand.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 16 Oct 2014, 05:04
midnz's Avatar
midnz midnz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by jasff View Post
Thanks midnz,

Yes, the height is what I can't get to adjust. I wanted to know where to get into the coding to adjust.

I saw Ba'al where he mentioned changing the height in coding.
I don't know where to access that.

I'll still try and play around in the paddings, but seems to cut the numbers off and the cell height doesn't expand.
1. AdminCP > 2. Styles & Templates > 3. Search in templates > 4. ... type... block_VC_Countdown ... and press the "Find" button > 5. ... double click on that result to bring the template in to view. You can make edits to the font sizes in there.


If you screw it up you can depress the "Revert" button to reset that template back to the original one. You'll find that "Revert" button at 4. in the above directions. Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 18 Oct 2014, 22:23
jasff jasff is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thank you! I found where to change the box to 220.

Next questions is how to allign and adjust font? Here are the couple things I want to do:

1. When I expand the box from 80 to 220, the text is top center alligned. Where and how can I center the text in the coding?

2. I want to bold the font so that it stands out more. Possible to change the font size? I would need specifics if possible on how to do this.

This would be a great start. Thanks again micnz.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 21 Oct 2014, 01:48
midnz's Avatar
midnz midnz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by jasff View Post
1. When I expand the box from 80 to 220, the text is top center alligned. Where and how can I center the text in the coding?
The following HTML code is just one part of the CSS code (code within the STYLE tags) that affects one part of the Counter. You'll find the below piece of CSS code between the STYLE tags within the HEAD of the document.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Check the text-align: center; part. That allows you to center any text where you include id="period" in the coding between the BODY tags.

Using the CSS code above you can understand what part of the Countdown Timer it affects by looking at the DIV tags to find the code that has <div id="period" included.
NB: See the beginning of the above CSS code that says #period { ? That's your clue.

So, using the example above you can find the following part of the Countdown Timer that it affects. Whatever is in the CSS code above affects the HTML code below because it begins with <div id="period"


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Using that logic you can find the DIV that you want to affect (<div id="name") and look in between the STYLE tags for the CSS code that begins with that same #name or .name and then edit, delete or add to that CSS code to change what you want.

Originally Posted by jasff View Post
2. I want to bold the font so that it stands out more. Possible to change the font size? I would need specifics if possible on how to do this.
Look again in the CSS code for the following:
font-size: 10px; (increase or decrease the number 10 to make your text bigger or smaller)

font-weight: bold; (add this line to the CSS code that relates to the <div> that you want to affect by making all text bold)
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 10 Jul 2015, 02:44
mapleleaffans's Avatar
mapleleaffans mapleleaffans is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Real name: Paul
Great mod! I was thinking about adding something like this for a bit! Thank you midnz!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: