Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Dec 2021, 18:21
mofeu's Avatar
mofeu mofeu is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
New vb5 user --- please advice me.

From today I bought vb5 in order to upgrade my old vb4.

so the steps that i will follow is to :

to back up my database from server ...

to rename "core" to "forums" and then with ftp to rewrite it to my public_html?

What will happen to 1st page? Is anyway to construct it from the beginning?
The first page of vb4 cannot connect users (username and password).
So I would like features like rss feeds from other sites , weather plugin and youtube channel
Also I would like to install new templates (black-orange , red-black and black-white) .


What is your opinion about plugins
Here is my vb4 forum

Please advice me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02 Dec 2021, 02:20
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by mofeu View Post
From today I bought vb5 in order to upgrade my old vb4.

so the steps that i will follow is to :

to back up my database from server ...

to rename "core" to "forums" and then with ftp to rewrite it to my public_html?

What will happen to 1st page? Is anyway to construct it from the beginning?
The first page of vb4 cannot connect users (username and password).
So I would like features like rss feeds from other sites , weather plugin and youtube channel
Also I would like to install new templates (black-orange , red-black and black-white) .


What is your opinion about plugins
Here is my vb4 forum

Please advice me!
Copy your vB4 forum database and folder to a new directory let's say /vbtest/ and make sure it loads there! *Remember to change the config.php file so it connects to the NEW (copied) database.

Once the site loads fine there, but you know it's a copy (someone may post on the actual site, and then you'll see how each differs). Now you can follow the steps to upgrade from vB4 to vB5 and see how the site looks in vBulletin 5, at the "test" URL which is www.yoursite.com/vbtest/ <-- which will load your site in vBulletin 5 if done correctly.

Once you have that working, this is how your site would look in vBulletin 5 format, remember to check for styles and plugins you may wish to install, so you can test those now prior to launching the (new vB5) site.

*Finally, once you have things as you wish them to be, you can basically repeat the process on the live site, but now you already have a list of plugins you installed on the test site (and the files for those plugins already downloaded) and you can export your style out from the test site, and once your live site is updated to vB5 you import your theme and voila! You're site is now powered by vBulletin 5 instead of 4!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Dec 2021, 19:42
mofeu's Avatar
mofeu mofeu is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I will make my first try this weekend ...
I did backup on my server so if something does not work then i will return it to vb4.

I suppose i will upload the folder "upload" and rename the folder "core" to "forum"
Am I right?
Vb4 does not have folders " fonts,images ,includes ,js " outside "forum"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg upload vb5.jpg (67.8 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Dec 2021, 22:31
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by mofeu View Post

I suppose i will upload the folder "upload" and rename the folder "core" to "forum"
Am I right?
Vb4 does not have folders " fonts,images ,includes ,js " outside "forum"
No, don't upload the vB5 folders and files yet, just make sure the "copied" vB4 in the new folder /vbtest/ and ensure it's connecting to the newly (copied) database. You can do this by making a test post on the copied site, if you see the same post on the normal vB4 site you have then you made a mistake and need to start over.

Once you know the new /vbtest/ vBulletin 4 is working, then you remove all the contents of the vbtest folder, and upload the vB5 files there. *Why? You can't install vBulletin 5 in a folder with vB4, it needs to be an empty folder. **But guess what? We already tested, and see the site is a copy, and the database we still need to be there, in order to run the vB5 upgrade still exists .

Once you see vB5 running great in the /vbtest/ folder, then you know it will work on the live site, and you can repeat the process there (run backups again just in case).
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Dec 2021, 08:14
mofeu's Avatar
mofeu mofeu is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
It's seems little bit complicated to me 🙂
So I dublicate my forum ... Let's say it vbtest with vb4...
If it works .... I will delete all the contents inside vbtest and i will upload vb5 folders .
Do I understand good?
Thanks again in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Dec 2021, 23:27
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by mofeu View Post
It's seems little bit complicated to me 🙂
So I dublicate my forum ... Let's say it vbtest with vb4...
If it works .... I will delete all the contents inside vbtest and i will upload vb5 folders .
Do I understand good?
Thanks again in advance!
Yes and Good Luck!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 Dec 2021, 06:56
mofeu's Avatar
mofeu mofeu is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I am doing the following steps

I rename this file:

htaccess.txt

To:

.htaccess
(Note the 'dot' at the start)


Then

rename this file:

/config.php.bkp

To:

/config.php

Then, I rename this file:

/core/includes/config.php.new

To:

/core/includes/config.php


Then , in that file, I need to complete the following fields:

$config['Database']['dbname'] = 'forum';
Change forum to whatever your database name is.

$config['Database']['technicalemail'] = '[email protected]';
Change the email address to your own.

$config['MasterServer']['username'] = 'root';
Change root to the database username

$config['MasterServer']['password'] = '';
Enter the database password inside the '' marks.

All other fields should be left as default, unless your database is on a separate server, in which case this will need changing:

$config['MasterServer']['servername'] = 'localhost';


Which is the correct path?
http://www.mysite.com/forum/install/upgrade.php
or
http://www.mysite.com/forum/core/install/upgrade.php

--------------- Added 12 Dec 2021 at 07:08 ---------------

Shall i change also to the .htaccess ? I did forums to forum
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On

# In some cases where you have other mod_rewrite rules, you may need to remove the
# comment on the following RewriteBase line and change it to match your folder name.
# This resets the other mod_rewrite rules for just this directory
# If your site was www.example.com/forum, the setting would be /forum/
#RewriteBase /

#If you used friendly urls in vB4, then uncommenting the following rules will redirect the #
#old vB4 urls to a similar location in vB5. This is unnecesary for a new vB5 install.
#RewriteRule ^threads/.* showthread.php [QSA]
#RewriteRule ^forum/.* forumdisplay.php [QSA]
#RewriteRule ^members/.* member.php [QSA]
#RewriteRule ^blogs/.* blog.php [QSA]
#RewriteRule ^entries/.* entry.php [QSA]

#To redirect users to the secure version of your site, uncomment the lines below
#RewriteCond %{HTTPS} !=on
#RewriteRule .* https://%{SERVER_NAME}%{REQUEST_URI} [R=301,L]

#Block directories that don't need direct access
RewriteRule ^(core/libraries/|includes|core/includes|core/vb|core/vb5|core/admincp|core/modcp) index.php?routestring=relay/404 [END]

#Block files and directories
RewriteRule (^|/)\.(?!well-known) index.php?routestring=relay/404 [END]

#Block directories that don't need direct access to PHP
RewriteRule ^(css|fonts|images|js|core/cache|core/cpstyles|core/clientscript|core/customavatars|core/images|core/store_sitemap)/.*\.php index.php?routestring=relay/404 [END]

# Send css calls directly to the correct file VBV-7807
RewriteRule ^css.php$ core/css.php [NC,L]

# Redirect old install path to core.
RewriteRule ^install/ core/install/ [NC,L]

# Main Redirect
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !\.(gif|jpg|jpeg|png|css)$
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php?routestring=$1 [L,QSA]
</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_deflate.c>
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/atom+xml \
text/javascript \
application/x-javascript \
application/javascript \
application/json \
application/rss+xml \
application/vnd.ms-fontobject \
application/x-font-ttf \
application/xhtml+xml \
application/xml \
font/opentype \
image/svg+xml \
image/x-icon \
text/css \
text/html \
text/plain \
text/x-component \
text/xml
</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_expires.c>
ExpiresActive On
ExpiresByType application/x-javascript A1209600
ExpiresByType text/javascript A1209600
ExpiresByType application/javascript A1209600
ExpiresByType text/css A31536000
ExpiresByType image/x-icon A2592000
ExpiresByType image/icon A2592000
ExpiresByType application/x-ico A2592000
ExpiresByType application/ico A2592000
ExpiresByType image/gif A2592000
ExpiresByType image/jpeg A1209600
ExpiresByType image/jpg A1209600
ExpiresByType image/png A1209600
ExpiresByType application/x-shockwave-flash A1209600
ExpiresByType font/ttf A2592000
ExpiresByType font/otf A2592000
ExpiresByType font/x-woff A2592000
ExpiresByType image/svg+xml A2592000
ExpiresByType font/truetype A2592000
ExpiresByType font/opentype A2592000
ExpiresByType application/x-font-woff A2592000
ExpiresByType application/vnd.ms-fontobject A2592000
</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_headers.c>

Header set Connection keep-alive

<filesmatch "\.(ico|flv|gif|swf|eot|woff|otf|ttf|svg)$">
Header set Cache-Control "max-age=2592000, public"
</filesmatch>
<filesmatch "\.(jpg|jpeg|png)$">
Header set Cache-Control "max-age=1209600, public"
</filesmatch>
<filesmatch "\.(eot|woff|otf|ttf|svg)$">
Header set Cache-Control "max-age=2592000, public"
</filesmatch>
<filesmatch "\.(css)$">
Header set Cache-Control "max-age=31536000, public"
</filesmatch>
<filesmatch "\.(js)$">
Header set Cache-Control "max-age=1209600, public"
</filesmatch>

# Don't allow other sites to frame in your content. If you do need to frame the
# forum in on another host you will need to remove or change this line.
Header always append X-Frame-Options sameorigin
</IfModule>

#don't allow some files that shouldn't really be present to be directly accessed.
#note that attachements should never be directly accessed by the webserver because
#we have permissions on the that are checked in the PHP code.
<FilesMatch "(^#.*#|\.(bak|config|dist|inc|ini|log|gz|tar|zip|sh|sql|sw[op]|md)|~)$">
Require all denied
</FilesMatch>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 Jan 2022, 21:47
growlabz growlabz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
don't bother with vbulletin, cut your losses and get xenforo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks User Drop Down Icons + Message drop down icons (CSS only) - vb5.2.3/vb5.2.4 napy8gen vBulletin 5.x Template Modifications 13 24 Mar 2018 02:34
Forum Style [SultanTheme] Gadisku vb5 for vb5.2.4 napy8gen vBulletin 5.x Styles 1 03 Nov 2016 00:55
Forum Style [SultanTheme] Daysee vb5 for vb5.2.4 napy8gen vBulletin 5.x Styles 0 19 Oct 2016 08:25



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: