Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Live Topic - AJAX Details »
Live Topic - AJAX
Mod Version: 1.07b, by Coders Shack (Contributor) Coders Shack is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (11 votes - 4.55 average) Installs: 107
Released: 14 Jan 2009 Last Update: 01 Mar 2009 Downloads: 758
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Is in Beta Stage  

. . . . . . . . Brought to you by scriptasy.com

Live Demo:
Live Topic 1.07b Demo (you must be logged in, and the topic must be "live")


Videos: 1.00b 1.06b

watch the damn videos... ^_^
Description:
This product is different from anything you have seen before, it raises the bar for forums. It will make your forums much more interactive, and also reduce server load.

Technical Details:
If a thread has been posted in X seconds then its now Live, if other users are viewing the Live topic and are on the last page they will experience a clean ajax experience while talking to other members. Once the thread is older than X seconds its no longer Live and it will now act like a normal thread. Also if a user edits one of their posts that's inside of the thread, it will be updated too so there is no longer a reason to ever have to refresh.

There is also logic for the viewer, the viewer of the thread has to be in an active state to see responses. An active user state is determined upon the users actions, if no actions were made in X seconds then the user is marked as inactive.

Also you may wonder why this could save your server bandwidth and CPU. If a user is refreshing to talk to another members the queries on a normal thread load are way more intense than the ajax call that this modification makes. So if you have 5 people talking to each other none of them have to refresh the page, all they are doing is simple page requests and one intense request when there has actual change.

You can test Live Topic with two users, you will see how amaizing this is... And probably spontaneously combust.

Found a bug? Want to request a feature?
Live Topic - Project Manager
Installation:
This is take less than 3 minutes to install, takes longer to notice its amazing feature. (you need multiple people to be active in the same topic)

Works With (FF2, FF3, IE6, IE7, IE8, SF2, SF3, CHROME):
vBulletin [3.7.4] (have not tested it with other 3.7.X versions)

for vBulletin [3.8.X] go here

INCOMPATIBLE HACKS:
Versions:
1.04b
fixes
javascript error for guests
fixed live topic activation (first poster to raise a dead topic)
changes
auto quick reply focus after post
1.05b
fixes
css flaw

js error for unsupported browsers (random)


fixed chrome issue
ideas
edit notification - thanks to nso

rebuilding some of the original logic to hopefully prevent product conflicts

1.06b
fixes
fixed a little javascript issue that had to do with displaying posts

uses GPC cleaner now
changes
limit the number of ajax posts on the live topic (example 40) and fade them away.

changed the way the hooks are used

tightened up everything a bit

1.07b
fixes
fixed a bug where the live topic notification always making an ajax call
changes
support user ignore list
changed the way the javascript logic worked (hopefully there are less compatibly issues) added support for IE6 and IE8
1.10
...

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 5.png
Views:	451
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	95279  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Live Topic Coders Shack vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 1242 01 Apr 2014 14:26
Add-On Releases [AJAX] Live Search [email protected] vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 267 06 Jun 2012 19:16
Add-On Releases Live Search 1.0 (AJAX) coderphp vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 141 14 Jan 2011 20:35

  #136  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 15:13
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Question

Originally Posted by Coders Shack View Post
i dont have this bug inciarco, 10 posts per page. And my livetopic setting is 30. When it goes over 30 they start to disappear. Have you tried it on the default template? Do you have something that conflicts?

Can you recreate this here: http://beasttoast.com/showthread.php...9&goto=newpost
I Confirm Bugs On 100% New vB373 Installation:

I've Installed the Product (The First and Only Mod Installed on a Test Forum), and I've Set Number of Posts to 10 for Test 1 and to 20 for Test 2.

I've Used User 1 (Admin on IE6) and User 2 (Registered User on Google Chrome).

I Hope You Can Solve this Bugs, Coders Shack.


TEST 1

AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Thread Display Options (showthread) > Maximum Displayed Posts Before Page Split: 10
AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Live Topic > Maximum Visible Posts: 10

I've Created a Thread and Named First Post as "Test Thread", then I've Started Posting Messages on the Thread, (the Live Posting Feature works Fine on IE6, FireFox and Chrome), then when I reached Quick Reply Number Nine (9), Post Number 10, then the First Post Got Shaded, and then when I reached Quick Reply Number Ten (10), Post Number 11, then the First Post "Test Thread" Got Hidden; then When I Posted Quick Reply Number Eleven (11), Post Number (12), then No Post Got Hidden and the Post weren't Shown for the Poster but yes for the Other User, and all other Posts after that had the same issue, (Not Displayed for Poster but yes for other Users seeing the Live Topic); I also Noticed that After Quick Reply Number 10, Post Number 11, the Quick Reply Box Got Again the Blocking Message "Please Click One of the Quick Reply Icons in the Posts Above to Activate Quick Reply".


TEST 2

AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Thread Display Options (showthread) > Maximum Displayed Posts Before Page Split: 10
AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Live Topic > Maximum Visible Posts: 20

It Happened Exactly the Same as for Test 1, but in this Case as Maximum Visible Posts was set to 20, when Reaching Quick Reply 19 (Post 20) the First Post Shaded, on Quick Reply 20 (Post 21) the First Post Got Hidden, and on Quick Reply 21 (Post 22) No Post Got Hidden, Quick Reply Box Got Locked (with message prompting for Clicking the Quick Reply Button on Posts), and No Quick Reply Post where Displayed for Poster User; all Posts after that had the same issue, that Post was Not Displayed for Poster, that No Post where Hidden, and that Quick Reply Box Gets Locked with Locking Message (the one that asks user to Click on "Quick Reply to this Message" Button on Posts).


Edit: TEST 3

I went Ahead and made the Test for 30 Maximum Visible Posts and the Results where the same as on the other Two (2) Cases.

AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Thread Display Options (showthread) > Maximum Displayed Posts Before Page Split: 10
AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Live Topic > Maximum Visible Posts: 30


Last edited by inciarco; 04 Mar 2009 at 15:23.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 20:49
aggiefan aggiefan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Its not working properly for us.... we had the xboxlive addin installed but i removed it so i could test this out.

on Ie we get the following error.

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0)
Timestamp: Wed, 4 Mar 2009 21:45:38 UTC


Message: Syntax error
Line: 1
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: --- see below

Message: Object required
Line: 2
Char: 1840
Code: 0
URI: --- (took it out but the path is correct linking to the livetopic.js file)
__________________
Owner of http://www.aggiefans.com
Our Custom Hacks:
Reputation Report
vBContest (college pickem script)
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 10 Mar 2009, 03:23
DJDynasty239 DJDynasty239 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Mod still works great, just wish I could make it only work in certain sections.

If anyone is still having second thoughts about using this mod, I definitely recommend it!
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 11 Mar 2009, 12:26
W1zzard W1zzard is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
add an option to the configuration please to disable showing the "live topic" button next to threads in case 'search': case 'forumdisplay':
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 11 Mar 2009, 12:33
W1zzard W1zzard is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
if you dont want to log all the ajax requests in your web server log file you could add something like "SetEnvIf Request_URI "^/ajax\.php" dontlog" to your virtual host section in httpd.conf. you might have to append "env=!dontlog" to your customlog directive

please note that this will stop logging all vbulletin ajax, not only this plugin
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 13 Mar 2009, 05:18
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
due to this thread having a huge list of responses i would like to optimize my time and make it easier for people to know what the current bugs/issues are.

Please go here to report and keep track of current bugs in Live Topic, you may also request features.

Live Topic - Project Tools
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 15 Mar 2009, 23:01
jchamber2010 jchamber2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Re: Small issue

I have installed your mod, and i think the concept is absolutely amazing, however it doesn't work for me ... I have attached a screen shot to explain the following.

Scenario:
  1. I create a topic
  2. My friend reply to the topic
  3. A blank space appears
  4. I reply back
  5. The screen shot attached is what you get.
Any help with this would be appreciated
Thanks

P.S the screen shot looks like that, because i got a little too excited while blurring stuff, and decided to blur everything that wasn't needed for this problem
Attached Images
File Type: jpg problem.jpg (55.4 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 16 Mar 2009, 16:04
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Originally Posted by jchamber2010 View Post
I have installed your mod, and i think the concept is absolutely amazing, however it doesn't work for me ... I have attached a screen shot to explain the following.

Scenario:
  1. I create a topic
  2. My friend reply to the topic
  3. A blank space appears
  4. I reply back
  5. The screen shot attached is what you get.
Any help with this would be appreciated
Thanks

P.S the screen shot looks like that, because i got a little too excited while blurring stuff, and decided to blur everything that wasn't needed for this problem
please post this here: http://scriptasy.com/project.php?projectid=5

and provide me with all the mods your forum has installed (if your using firefox you can hold down the control key while your in the ACP on the Product page and select all the product names... copy it and paste it)

The easiest way to figure out whats conflicting is multiple detailed reports.
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 16 Mar 2009, 20:16
zippys zippys is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Anyone know if TFSEO is breaking this? I had live topic working at 1.04 but now its not working.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 16 Mar 2009, 23:53
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Originally Posted by zippys View Post
Anyone know if TFSEO is breaking this? I had live topic working at 1.04 but now its not working.
what exactly is no longer working? (everything?)

If you feel inclined to help me figure out product conflicts please submit a bug report here (http://scriptasy.com/project.php?projectid=5) and list all your current products.
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 17 Mar 2009, 12:54
DobieGillis© DobieGillis© is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
can't seem to get a response to this simple question. Does anyne have any issue running Live Topic and Passive Video together?
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 21 Mar 2009, 00:11
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Originally Posted by DobieGillis© View Post
can't seem to get a response to this simple question. Does anyne have any issue running Live Topic and Passive Video together?
people has reported issues with the old version of Passive Video (the PHP version / v1.X) i haven't had time to confirm it.
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 25 Mar 2009, 05:24
MTGDarkness MTGDarkness is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I would like to remove the signs of livetopic; i.e the image and the annoying yellow box saying that the post has been added by livetopic (it looks incredibly bad on my skin). How can I do this? I've looked everywhere and have no clue.
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 01 Apr 2009, 20:15
BlueNinjaGo's Avatar
BlueNinjaGo BlueNinjaGo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Is there any way this can be set up for just one (or a handful) of boards? Not the entire forum?
__________________
www.TheSocialRev.com
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 01 Apr 2009, 22:02
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Originally Posted by MTGDarkness View Post
I would like to remove the signs of livetopic; i.e the image and the annoying yellow box saying that the post has been added by livetopic (it looks incredibly bad on my skin). How can I do this? I've looked everywhere and have no clue.
there's a livetopic.css file
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: