Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 13:55
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Slashes removed from posts

I have a forum where users will occasionally start threads with code examples in them. They use the CODE or PHP bbcode to display it. Sometimes code examples will have paths in them with the back slashes. The forum software removes the slashes from the posts.

Where is this done?
Is it done for security reasons?
Is there a setting that can be changed that allows the slashes in posts?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 14:14
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
via the similar threads right under this one...

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54066
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 16:22
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Actually, the slash"" removal happens globally in all posts. Inside BBCODE and outside. It is puzzling. I thought this was some security thing but it is more of some kind of issue I guess.

That link is archived to the point that I cant get any info from it.

Last edited by cmmguy; 25 Jul 2017 at 16:34.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 17:30
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
If you disable plugins, does it still happen?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 17:55
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
If you disable plugins, does it still happen?
Yes, it does. I disabled all plugins and it continued to remove slashes from posts.
It is only the backslashes "" and not the forward slash. It removes them here also as I put a backslash in those quotes.

Last edited by cmmguy; 25 Jul 2017 at 18:13.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 18:22
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
The behavior I found here just now is that for any string of text within double-quotes, if that string ends with a backslash, that backslash is trimmed.

I get the same behavior on my vB 4,2,5 dev site.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 Jul 2017, 18:46
Kane@airrifle's Avatar
Kane@airrifle Kane@airrifle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Real name: Kane
http://php.net/manual/en/function.stripslashes.php
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP Tag Slashes String Parsing Fix Boofo vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 14 16 Jun 2004 08:48


Tags
code, slashes


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: