Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
QuoteIt! - Quote Database Details »
QuoteIt! - Quote Database
Mod Version: 3.05, by Cap'n Steve (Member) Cap'n Steve is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 Rating: (2 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 113
Released: 05 Oct 2005 Last Update: 12 Jan 2007 Downloads: 147
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

QuoteIt! version 3.0

QuoteIt! allows you to have a database of quotes integrated with your forum. Users submit quotes that can then be voted on by the other users, using your choice of two rating systems. The average installation will show a random quote on the forum home page, but you can include it on any vBulletin page or on your portal home page.

If you'd like to see a demo, go to forums.monkeycrap.com.

Features:

Random Quote
- a random quote can be shown on any vBulletin powered page
- the administrator can set a default rating threshold that quotes must meet before showing up as the random quote
- a new random quote can be chosen at a specific interval of time, to reduce server load

Quote Database
- quotes can be searched, filtered, and sorted by many different criteria
- quotes have a "context" field that can be turned on or off to include more information about the quote
- quotes can be embedded in posts with bbcode
- each post and private message now has a "Submit to Quotes" link that allows users to quote things said on your forum more easily

Quote Ratings System
- quotes can be rated either plus/minus or on a scale from 1 to 5
- quotes below a certain total score or average score can be filtered out

Quote Management
- quotes can either be automatically approved or moderated
- the quote moderation que is like the que for posts, enabling the moderation of several quotes at once
- usergroup permissions are used for adding, editing, deleting, rating and viewing quotes
- most actions use AJAX to avoid page reloads

Don't forget to click install!

Currently known problems are listed here.

The files needed to edit the included images are attached to this post.

This hack is based on QuoteIt! 1.2, originally by magnus. The "submit post" feature was inspired by an addon by CtrlAltDel.

Other versions (development will continue for the 3.6 version only): QuoteIt! 3 for vBulletin 3.6.x | QuoteIt! 2.03 for vBulletin 3.0.x

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-list.gif
Views:	151
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	58359   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-options.gif
Views:	53
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	58360   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-moderation.gif
Views:	42
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	58361   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-bbcodes.gif
Views:	91
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	58362  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-random.gif
Views:	118
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	58363  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions QuoteIt! - Quote Database Cap'n Steve vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 759 31 Jul 2013 22:27
QuoteIt! 2.0 - Quote Management System Cap'n Steve vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 257 03 Aug 2006 06:03
QuoteIt! Quote Management System v1.2 magnus vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 376 14 Jul 2005 06:05

  #406  
Old 02 Jan 2007, 04:59
thepub thepub is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
when I approve or do anything as far as moderating quotes I get a message that says "cannot find phrase "x_has been_approved" what is that?
Reply With Quote
  #407  
Old 02 Jan 2007, 05:37
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
You don't need to worry about that.
Reply With Quote
  #408  
Old 10 Feb 2007, 10:15
ubblite ubblite is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
ubblite - Are you sure you have the latest version? That bug should have been fixed for good.
Yup, I'm using the latest version for sure.

Originally Posted by DefenceTalk View Post
FYI:

If you have Photopost installed, this mod's who is online process will cause issues with Photopost's Who is online not working correctly with vB.
I have this same problem with Photopost Pro. Under 'Who's Online', it will show a blank space under 'Location' if the user is viewing the Photopost Pro Gallery.

Any ideas on how to fix this, Steve?

Thanks

Last edited by ubblite; 10 Feb 2007 at 10:24.
Reply With Quote
  #409  
Old 10 Feb 2007, 22:04
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
I'll take another look, could you tell me how many languages you normally have?

Also, you're in the wrong thread. This is for the vBulletin 3.5.x version.
Reply With Quote
  #410  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 23:11
stabmyback stabmyback is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Nice hack, it works very well for me. I just have a couple questions. Is there a way to edit/delete a quote? If so, how can you do it?
Reply With Quote
  #411  
Old 01 Mar 2007, 06:28
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
If you have permission to edit or delete quotes (set in the usergroup manager) then there'll be an edit or delete button in the top right of each quote. You can also prune quotes from the "Quote Maintenance" page.
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old 01 Mar 2007, 22:11
stabmyback stabmyback is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Oh, cool! I didn't notice that part. Also, one more question. Some users have said that with longer quotes, they run off the table and it's very hard to read. Is there any way to fix this? I'm not the greatest coder in the world, and I couldn't really see anything.
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old 02 Mar 2007, 06:50
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
That shouldn't happen, what browser are they using? Also, this version is a little outdated. If you're running vBulletin 3.6, you'll want to use this version instead.
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old 03 Mar 2007, 21:55
stabmyback stabmyback is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I think that's the reason, they're using IE6, and I'm using IE7 and FireFox. And yeah, I noticed that it was outdated, but I don't have the capabilities to install 3.6 sadly.
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old 04 Mar 2007, 02:09
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Well, you could try getting the templates and the css files from the 3.6 version, but I'm not sure how well that would work with this version.
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old 17 Jun 2007, 13:07
tarot tarot is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
ok, I was upgrading to the latest version on one of the boards I admin and I think I missed a version because it hosed my adminCP. I disabled plugins and got back in to disable the hack itself.

So, what can I do?

People got this message when trying to post:

Warning: require_once(/home/gottwinz/public_html/forums/includes/functions_quoteit.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /showthread.php(102) : eval()'d code on line 1

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/gottwinz/public_html/forums/includes/functions_quoteit.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/gottwinz/public_html/forums/showthread.php(102) : eval()'d code on line 1
And in the ACP, it said something about functions.php/line 3701
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old 17 Jun 2007, 20:33
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
It looks like the QuoteIt! files either aren't there or are in the wrong place. Either way, you should upgrade to vBulletin 3.6 and then use the QuoteIt! for that version if you can.
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old 17 Jun 2007, 20:39
tarot tarot is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I upgraded to 3.6.7 when this happened, so I'll try the quote it upgrade again
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old 18 Jun 2007, 05:43
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Well if you don't already know, you're in the thread for the 3.5 version. Make sure you're using this version instead.
Reply With Quote
  #420  
Old 23 Jun 2007, 11:20
tarot tarot is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I got it working, thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: