Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Left side column on forum home only Details »
Left side column on forum home only
Mod Version: 1.0.2, by peterska2 (Member) peterska2 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 264
Released: 08 Jun 2006 Last Update: 29 Aug 2006 Downloads: 1446
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This is the 3.6.0 port of the release for 3.5.x found here.

Changes since the last version
Alignment issues fixed.
Template renamed to group in the forumhome templates.

Installation Instructions
Download the attached zip file.
Import the product.
Perform the template modifications.
Click install

Screen shot attached for those who like to see them.


29 August 2006
Upgraded to version 1.0.2

Changes:
  • Now valid XHTML Trans
  • Fixed to work correctly with vBShout when located below navbar.
  • Added vB.org version checking.





Please Note: This modification is only for the forumhome. I do not support any attempts to use it on any other pages. Alternative modifications exist that are for all pages - please use one of them if that is what you want to do.


If you require support, please ensure that provide a link to your site and that the column is enabled. Thanks.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sidecolumn_left.gif
Views:	3758
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	49051  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Put a Column on the Left Side of Every Forum Page amykhar vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 462 29 Mar 2011 22:05
Forum Home Enhancements Right side column on forum home only peterska2 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 135 26 May 2008 17:04

  #211  
Old 03 Feb 2007, 16:43
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peggy
I'm sure it's been asked in here but I can't find it.

How does one go about getting the side column to go all the way down the forum, alongsiide the what's going on box? I've installed this, as you can see by my forumhome code below, but the What's Going On box is stretched all the way across. How can I fix this?

Here's my code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

thanks in advance!

Last edited by Ohiosweetheart; 03 Feb 2007 at 18:36.
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 05 Feb 2007, 01:56
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peggy
Please?



EDIT: n/m I fixed it myself

Last edited by Ohiosweetheart; 06 Feb 2007 at 15:56.
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 14 Feb 2007, 10:57
ubblite ubblite is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Kerry-Anne View Post
This is only designed for showing on forumhome, however, if you make the first template edit in the bottom of the header template, and the second one at the start of the footer template then it will show on all pages.

To stop it showing on vbadvanced, put
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

before the template edits and
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

after them. You will need to do this to both template edits.
Hi, thanks for your mod - good work.

I tried the above edits, but the left column still appears on my CMPS home page. I haven't renamed 'cmps_index' or anything, so I'm not sure why it's not working. Is there anything else I can do or change to fix this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 17 Feb 2007, 00:08
John1uk's Avatar
John1uk John1uk is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
*Installed* awesome mod...just what i was looking for......my question is what do i add to my left and right forum columns code, so that i can have my yellow bar just like on my forum homepage Here cheers, john
__________________
Poker------------> Essex Poker Froum

Last edited by John1uk; 17 Feb 2007 at 00:19.
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 17 Feb 2007, 14:36
John1uk's Avatar
John1uk John1uk is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Could abyone help with the above plz
__________________
Poker------------> Essex Poker Froum
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 17 Feb 2007, 15:52
John1uk's Avatar
John1uk John1uk is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Its ok, i have managed to find the coding i need from my forumhome.

__________________
Poker------------> Essex Poker Froum
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 01 Mar 2007, 15:19
jetski217 jetski217 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Question: my forum is here - www.phonecritic.net. I'm trying to install this but it keeps giving me a strange spacing error. Check it out, I left it up on that page to show you. Can you help? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 02 Mar 2007, 12:40
josh_B josh_B is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I added some google adsense under the code for the various links in the side column. However, the ad's above over the column instead of under it.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 02 Mar 2007, 16:15
KipLarson KipLarson is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Is there a way to make it so that the "what's going on" box still spans the whole width of the forum though?

Because as it is right now, I believe this will push that box over, wether or not the column extends all the way down or not.
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 02 Mar 2007, 17:14
ravencr ravencr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Are folks using this for advertisers? Has anyone modded this to include it on every page?

Chris
__________________
www.utvrally.com
Reply With Quote
  #221  
Old 02 Mar 2007, 19:20
josh_B josh_B is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
You can use it to advertise with google adsense etc.. I am having issues with it though.
I have installed a nice new navigation menu with pretty icons etc.. However when I add the google adsense code (Similar to the code above) It puts it above the nav menu..
I cant see why its doing it either. Damn thing!


Worked the above issue out now!

Just to add if anyone had/has the same issue. If you put [form] [/form] around the adsense code, it moves it to the bottom of the navigation part. I dont know how to code, I just looked at other codes and worked it out


May I say , fantastic little install Kerry-Anne.

Last edited by josh_B; 02 Mar 2007 at 20:00.
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 02 Mar 2007, 19:26
ravencr ravencr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Nice! I look forward to it.

Chris
__________________
www.utvrally.com
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 12 May 2007, 16:29
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peggy
Is anyone else's left column not working after upgrading to 3.6.6?
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 16 May 2007, 21:22
kylek kylek is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kyle
Originally Posted by Ohiosweetheart View Post
Is anyone else's left column not working after upgrading to 3.6.6?
Yes, if you revert the FORUMHOME template it looses the left column, I am trying to figure it out now.
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 26 Jul 2007, 23:48
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Joey
as am I.....
__________________
Lincoln vs Cadillac Forums -
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: