Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Split ForumHome Page into Multiple Pages Details »
Split ForumHome Page into Multiple Pages
Mod Version: 1.5, by amykhar (Member) amykhar is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (12 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 115
Released: 14 Jul 2005 Last Update: 27 Jan 2006 Downloads: 498
Not Supported  

What it does is to allow you to take some forums off your Forum Home page and display them on a second instance of the forumhome page.

This is useful if you have a long list of forums and have some forums like archives that your users don't need to access very often.

This mod differs from Kirby's (Andreas's) in that his allows you to limit the NUMBER of forums shown per page. Mine allows you to select the specific forums to show.

I have not tested it, but I believe this will allow you to use any number of forumhome pages. You could do one per category if you show chose.

This is now a product. No code changes are required on your part. Please note that if you have microstats installed, it will yell about an uncached template. The template is not uncached. It doesn't exist. It is not creating extra queries. I am not sure how to suppress that error at this point.

My thanks to Kirby for pointing the way on how to make the functions_forumlist part of this mod a plugin instead of a code change.

Demo:

Page One
Page Two

Instructions:
1. Install the product.
2. Go to each forum and set which page to display it on. 1,2,3 etc. I have only tested 1 and 2.
3. Create links to the other instances of forumhome. Put these links where you would like them to be - in your navbar, side panel, header, tabs, whereever. Example links are the demo links posted above.
4. Contribute something to this site. Help somebody with a question or release some code of your own. Keep the giving circle going.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Split Forumhome into several Pages Andreas vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 43 30 May 2006 01:10

  #166  
Old 08 Feb 2007, 04:40
DPSR's Avatar
DPSR DPSR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
BUMP!

Can somebody please suggest some solution to this error in the footer:

Uncached templates: forumhome_forumbit_level1 (1)
Uncached templates: forumhome_forumbit_level2 (4)

??

Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 10 Feb 2007, 15:56
JohnBee JohnBee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
This mod has tons of potential! - here are few things that I have thought of while trying it out.

1) Custom titles per page(browser and url)
2) Ability to include(repeat) forums on multiple pages(instead of links with blank activity display).
3) Ability to post entire Categories along with child forum arrangements onto other pages.
4) Custom styles per page.

I am currently developing a large community with many subsection and adding subsection profiles as pages would greatly enhance our ability to keep things organized and manageable.

Great hack btw!

Last edited by JohnBee; 10 Feb 2007 at 16:16.
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 10 Feb 2007, 15:57
JohnBee JohnBee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Originally Posted by DPSR View Post
BUMP!

Can somebody please suggest some solution to this error in the footer:

Uncached templates: forumhome_forumbit_level1 (1)
Uncached templates: forumhome_forumbit_level2 (4)

??

Many thanks
Just use a mod called "ZH - Template cache" that allows you to add and cache uncached templates. Problem solved.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 10 Feb 2007, 18:48
DPSR's Avatar
DPSR DPSR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by JohnBee View Post
Just use a mod called "ZH - Template cache" that allows you to add and cache uncached templates. Problem solved.
Still not working, but i installed the Split home page hack i'm waiting for some help by hack author
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 14 Feb 2007, 18:09
enigmarokker enigmarokker is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
slightly-off topic question/custom purchase request...

Not to bust anyone's b*lls here by posting something off topic but I think it would benefit many if something like what I need was to be created... Myself and several others want to be able to use a product ALMOST just like this one here in this thread, but we'd need a few separate things 'tweaked'. If the creator of this product would please be so kind as to briefly read this thread (in the link below) I'd greatly appreciate it, myself and many others are willing to pay. Thanks!

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...77#post1179477
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 22 Feb 2007, 15:59
karrerax karrerax is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
This plugin works in 3.6.4?

Thanks

Last edited by karrerax; 22 Feb 2007 at 16:02.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 22 Feb 2007, 19:21
Discussions Discussions is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Yes this plugin works fine in 3.6.4
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 09 Mar 2007, 07:51
SpanishHarlem SpanishHarlem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Sheryl
Amy, do you know how I would get it so that we would have tabs on the forum like vborg has. I absolutely love this hack.

Thanks.
__________________
CANADIAN FREEBIES N STUFF
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 17 Mar 2007, 15:02
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Rich
The tabs at the top are nothing more than template edits and links. You could create the same affect with text, images, etc. all linked to each page.
__________________
Rich

Swapped 2 sites to Xenforo since vBulletin left me hanging for so long with the vB4 - PHP5 compatibility issues. Running PHP 5.5 with Xenforo with NO issues.
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 31 Mar 2007, 14:03
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Rich
Originally Posted by DPSR View Post
BUMP!

Can somebody please suggest some solution to this error in the footer:

Uncached templates: forumhome_forumbit_level1 (1)
Uncached templates: forumhome_forumbit_level2 (4)

??

Many thanks
You CAN use the ZH cache mod, but you need to actually create those 2 templates in order for them to be cached. Those do not exist. lol

In the ACP, choose Styles and Templates >> Style Manager >> (Drop menu) Add New Template

Title: forumhome_forumbit_level1

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save it

Do this again for level2. The 2 new templates, and them listed in the zh cache mod should square you away.
__________________
Rich

Swapped 2 sites to Xenforo since vBulletin left me hanging for so long with the vB4 - PHP5 compatibility issues. Running PHP 5.5 with Xenforo with NO issues.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 01 Apr 2007, 15:54
bela-meaad bela-meaad is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Abdul
amazin job

can you tell me how to use different language for these two pages?
i mean the main page is arabic & the second one English

& if style can be change too
will be cool

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 13 Apr 2007, 20:47
BlueKnight BlueKnight is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Daniel
I did everything you asled.. and set the forums I want to page 2.. I click on the link for page 2 everything loads but the forums I have set for page 2 heres my link... http://pnwfs4x4s.com/forums.index.php what am I doing wrong
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 16 May 2007, 08:55
Luky Luky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Jay
Any support getting it to work on 3.6.7 with vBSEO?
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 16 May 2007, 10:24
flup's Avatar
flup flup is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Joshua
Hey all,

I'm running vB3.5.4 and I uploaded the product succesfully -> all plugins are shown in the plugin manager and the product is activated.

But what do I do next? With the forummanager I can't select any page to let my forums/categories appear on... neither is there something with vB options where I can change this?

Can someone please make a decent installation help file? Because it might be just me or it's a bit of a vage readme. Thanks alot!

//Edit

Ok, due to me having some mods which add some certain extra rows to the 'Forum Manager' table it might be usefull to give your plugin a little update which adds a little heading above the 'Page [inputfield]' row. There's a screenshot which might explain more.

//Edit 2
When creating a new forum,.. the 'page' will be default set to '0'.
Is there a way it either becomes '1' by default or looks up under which category it is and takes over that page number? Thanks

//Edit 3
Ok, great! I got it all working, here's the way I worked it out:

http://www.tuningmax.nl/index.php

I created this topbar to navigate true the various forum-split-page. Kinda nice huh? Idea from this bar comes from www.fok.nl

Next thing i'm going to work on is to change the view of the forums when on another page.
Just inside the template, kinda curious if i'm getting it to work!

Template Add-on:

I'm writing a template edit right now to change the titles of the pages per page! It will be soon released, just tweaking it a little bit
Attached Images
File Type: jpg admincp.jpg (14.2 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by flup; 16 May 2007 at 14:10.
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 16 May 2007, 11:48
flup's Avatar
flup flup is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Joshua
Template Modification for Custom Pagetitels! can be found and installed here:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=147365

I created another template modification to create custom forumhome layouts per page, very simple via the template system!

Template modification for Custom Forum Home Layouts! can be found and installed here:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=147373

Last edited by flup; 16 May 2007 at 14:11.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: