Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AME 2.5 - Media Embedding for posts, sigs, vm's, groups and blogs Details »
AME 2.5 - Media Embedding for posts, sigs, vm's, groups and blogs
Mod Version: 2.5.6, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (192 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 1968
Released: 20 Jan 2009 Last Update: 09 Dec 2009 Downloads: 12886
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

From the makers of the letters O and Yea comes the hottest 'must have mod' of the season: AME 2.5 - The Return of The Hot Mama.

Thanks everyone for making AME 2.5 Mod of the Month

AME is the multi award winning modification that smartly scans new and edited posts for URLs from a customisable variety of web sites (i.e. YouTube or Amazon or about 200 others). If it finds a match, AME will 'transform' the URL into inline embedded media without your users ever having to even think about it.

It was important for me to create a system that did not need updating (and subsequent reinstalling) every time one of the sites it supported decided to change the way it displayed its media (which is all the fricken time). Therefore I built a system in which the 'definitions' for each site could be imported, exported, tweaked and shared on a whim. This way, you only have to import the definitions that you want. It also allows the vB community to get creative and share definitions that I wouldn't of thought of!

Which sites are supported?

Included in the default installation is YouTube and Amazon. At time of posting this, I believe that there are over 180 sites supported that have been created by the vBulletin community. These range from sites that stream videos to Amazon referral links to locally hosted music and video files.

Check out the 'add ons' section of this post below to see availible add-ons.

For a total list of features and an FAQ, see click here.
For a post on troubleshooting, click here.

Though not tested on any version of vBulletin lower than 3.7.4, in theory it should work on versions 3.5 and higher (just dont quote this bit!).

Big thanks goes out to all those in the community that have supported this mod. Especially Digital Jedi who gives great support on this mod and has created over 160 definitions for this system alone!


Installation/Upgrade
  • Upload the contents of the forums folder into your forums directory and import the product-ame.xml file into your product manager (if upgrading, choose 'yes' to overwrite previous installation).
  • After installation, make sure that the system is on (admincp->AME CP->Settings)
  • Then you may want to try to rebuild old URLs via the tools option.

Change Log
nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	newpost.jpg
Views:	6636
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	93148   Click image for larger version

Name:	newpost_result.jpg
Views:	9500
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	93149  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases DJ's AMEs :: Media Definitions for AME 2.5 :: More Video, Twitter, Pinterest... Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 2086 05 Sep 2018 16:05
Add-On Releases Digital Sith's AMEs - ADULT Media Definitions Digital Sith vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 66 08 Sep 2015 23:44
Show Thread Enhancements AME 2.0 -Auto Media Embedding for posts, blogs, visitor and group messsages The Geek vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 954 25 May 2014 10:58
Add-On Releases DJ's AME (Auto Media Embedding) XML Media Definitions (Third Time's the Charm) Digital Jedi Modification Graveyard 828 10 Mar 2010 06:45

  #196  
Old 30 Jan 2009, 22:02
Armyqt Armyqt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by Phaedrus View Post
Yes, exactly.

Mods don't carry a full content of an AdminCP folder, you don't want to overwrite the folder either.

Just open each then move contents into the folder matching it on your server.
I did and something good happened. lolCan you answer my other questions above, because this is still not functional.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 30 Jan 2009, 22:15
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
first of all it it prompted you to moe the floder and replace the other one with out replacing NON same name files then you may have been alright but if the option choosen or by default overwrites the folder and all contents then you best hope you had a recent back up.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 30 Jan 2009, 22:33
Phaedrus Phaedrus is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by Armyqt View Post
I did and something good happened. lolCan you answer my other questions above, because this is still not functional.
What other questions. I don't want to search the thread.

I did notice that you said you uninstalled it. Once you upload the items into their correct folders you would install the product and you should have access to the AME CP in your Admin CP.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 30 Jan 2009, 23:59
Armyqt Armyqt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by Phaedrus View Post
What other questions. I don't want to search the thread.

I did notice that you said you uninstalled it. Once you upload the items into their correct folders you would install the product and you should have access to the AME CP in your Admin CP.

THANK YOU!!! I finally got it working on my forum. This is so cool.

You are the first person that ever made me understand where to upload files while doing these mods. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 31 Jan 2009, 03:27
rob01 rob01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: robert
wich verison is better?

this one or the other
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 31 Jan 2009, 20:35
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Phaedrus View Post
Yes, exactly.

Mods don't carry a full content of an AdminCP folder, you don't want to overwrite the folder either.

Just open each then move contents into the folder matching it on your server.
Actually, moving contents into matching folders one at a time is precisly what you DO NOT want to do, as this can lead to mistakes and takes way longer. You DO want to OVERWRITE matching folders, as doing this adds the contents of one folder to another without deleting anything. Not to mention, it's the fastest most efficient way to do so.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 31 Jan 2009, 21:21
cooltechie cooltechie is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Rebuild post cache removed videos. If I go back to edit the post, I can still see the video link there but shown as [ url ] http:// www. youtube. com [ /url ] (without spaces and with full video url).
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 04:21
Jon Tolzien Jon Tolzien is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I am so embarrassed to ask this question. I want to do local hosting. I installed all of the files. Should i see a special icon to do local hosting. Or do i need to ftp the files on to my server. Or do just use the URL to my server files. Like i said i have looked and looked for the answer. Maybe it was right under my nose.

Last edited by Jon Tolzien; 01 Feb 2009 at 05:03.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 04:59
Bisha's Avatar
Bisha Bisha is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
My question is:

Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 05:07
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Originally Posted by Jon Tolzien View Post
I am so embarrassed to ask this question. I want to do local hosting. I installed all of the files. Should i see a special icon to do that. Or do i need to ftp on to my server. Or do just use the URL to my server files. Like i said i have looked and looked for the answer. Maybe it was right under my nose.
I am confused and embarrassed to answer you.

Do you have some music files on your local server now? If so have you created or do you have created AME tags for these file types on in your AME cpanel I guess it is called?

If you do and all is set up right you just paste the url to the song inside the post and it will play in AME player automatically.

I hope this is what you are looking for and it helps you.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 17:04
moreilly moreilly is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
YouTube videos is just linking to the video, not displaying the video in the posts at my site. I just downloaded this mod today and downloaded the new definitions from Jedi in his mod.

Any clue what I forgot to do or I missed?
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 17:31
jonah1892 jonah1892 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
when i installed this on my 3.8 site it slowed it down immesnly

i tested it out by disabling the product for 2 days to see if the speed improved which it did, and as soon as i enabled the product it slowed right back down again
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 17:31
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Originally Posted by moreilly View Post
YouTube videos is just linking to the video, not displaying the video in the posts at my site. I just downloaded this mod today and downloaded the new definitions from Jedi in his mod.

Any clue what I forgot to do or I missed?
Yes Sir/Madam, with out destructive but only constructive criticism, you have failed to make any kind of post as do so many myself included that can render you much help unless you engage someone to prod you to offer more.

You may wish to be more specific and note exactly what you have done, what you expected to happen that did not and what you have attempted to date to resolve it.

You may wish to post a screen shot of the problem and identify any unique situation you may have or set up.

Also what version of VBulletin you are running along with any outside or major add ons.

These are just thoughts that may help get you a proper diagnosis.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 18:14
moreilly moreilly is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by Gladhatter View Post
Yes Sir/Madam, with out destructive but only constructive criticism, you have failed to make any kind of post as do so many myself included that can render you much help unless you engage someone to prod you to offer more.

You may wish to be more specific and note exactly what you have done, what you expected to happen that did not and what you have attempted to date to resolve it.

You may wish to post a screen shot of the problem and identify any unique situation you may have or set up.

Also what version of VBulletin you are running along with any outside or major add ons.

These are just thoughts that may help get you a proper diagnosis.
Outside of me not saying which vbulletin I run (3.7.3 patch level 1) what are you talking about of not being specific?

I installed both mods, no errors

I copy a link to a video I found at youtube, I then post a thread at my forums and paste the link, and it doesn't display the video, it just shows a link as I previously stated
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 01 Feb 2009, 18:15
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Originally Posted by jonah1892 View Post
when i installed this on my 3.8 site it slowed it down immesnly

i tested it out by disabling the product for 2 days to see if the speed improved which it did, and as soon as i enabled the product it slowed right back down again
Geek do you have any thoughts on this? My site at some point around the time I installed this ( but also installed a ton of other mods) and custom code came to a turtles crawl speed that they cannot idenify on the server side but reconize it as well.

Has anyone else noticed any of this?
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: