Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Proxy to Real IP Conversion Details »
Proxy to Real IP Conversion
Mod Version: 4.2.0.1, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (56 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 686
Released: 02 Jan 2010 Last Update: 04 Jan 2015 Downloads: 4284
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Code Changes Translations  


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This modification has been withdrawn.
vBulletin 4.0.x and 4.1.x are no longer supported.

For vBulletin 4.2.x please use the built in reverse proxy detection.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip if a proxy is detected, meaning that all existing ip functions should continue to work, basically ignoring the proxy server (other than recording it's presence).

For example ;

* The real ip is displayed in the who's online page.
* The real and proxy server ip's are accesible for each post, the button is red for members using a proxy server.
* The real ip is searchable in the admin/mod cp (but not the proxy ip).
* The real ip can be banned by admins.

Note: This hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.
If they are not passed then detection will not work. By definition, annonymous proxies do not pass on these variables.


If a proxy is detected, then a red ip icon is displayed instead of the standard one.

To install, download and unzip the files and follow the instructions in the text file.

This modification involves changes to the class_core.php file - if you upgrade your vbulletin, you must reapply those changes.
If you forget these edits, the modification will continue to work for forum posts only (v4.0.4 +).



History:

v4.0.1 : 02-Jan-2010 : Initial release for vb 4.0.0 Gold.
v4.0.2 : 04-Jan-2010 : Added check for invalid alt ip address.
v4.0.3 : 13-Jan-2010 : Minor change to cope better when people forget the class_core file edits.
v4.0.4 : 15-Jan-2010 : Further changes to process forum posts when people forget the class_core file edits.
v4.0.5 : 20-Feb-2010 : Internal update, not released.
v4.0.6 : 27-Feb-2010 : Style code updates for vB 4.0.2.
v4.0.7 : 30-Oct-2010 : Style code updated to work when css stored as files.

v4.1.0 : 04-Dec-2010 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.x

v4.1.7.0 : 16-Oct-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.7.
v4.1.8.0 : 18-Nov-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.8.

v4.2.0.0 : 24-May-2012 : Updated for vBulletin 4.2.0.
v4.2.0.1 : 02-Jan-2015 : Updated for Cloudflare Changes.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	PRC1.jpg
Views:	3653
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	108792   Click image for larger version

Name:	PRC2.PNG
Views:	4655
Size:	11.7 KB
ID:	108793  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Proxy IP to Real IP Conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 153 13 Jun 2014 21:09
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Proxy IP to real IP conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 152 20 Feb 2011 23:46
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Proxy to Real IP Conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 459 07 Apr 2009 22:26
Proxy ip to real ip conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 236 27 Jan 2007 05:25

  #271  
Old 27 Feb 2015, 17:59
bshield bshield is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
if anyone figured it out please share...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 01 Mar 2015, 05:06
hsoen hsoen is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Originally Posted by del Drago View Post
This mod does not work. I'm attempting to use it with Cloudflare (at Cloudflare's recommendation), and I'm still only seeing Cloudflare IP addresses within vBulletin.
I am using this mod with Cloudflare, and it works well.

Below is the result which shows proxy IP is from Cloudflare, and real IP of your forum visitor.

vBulletin Message
The Real IP Address is: 183.90.37.93
The Real IP Host is: 183.90.37.93
The Proxy Server IP Address is: 103.31.5.77
The Proxy Host is: 103.31.5.77

Last edited by hsoen; 01 Mar 2015 at 05:54.
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 13 Apr 2015, 18:33
Nirjonadda Nirjonadda is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Real name: Md Tajirul Islam
Any update instructions for google pagespeed : mod_pagespeed?
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 15 Apr 2015, 03:49
Duckface Duckface is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
The image in the postbit isn't showing :S, I definitely put the image in the correct directory too!
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 08 Jun 2015, 11:41
fionix fionix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Is there any solution for Vbuleltin 5.1.7 please?
__________________
Cyprus Company Formation | Cyprus Bank Account - We also provide our company formation service in many other offshore jurisdictions.
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 08 Jun 2015, 13:00
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Sorry, atm, there is not.

There is the possibility that the functionality currently included in 4.2.3 will be included in 5.1.9.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 13 Nov 2015, 18:54
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
For me CloudFlare didn't worked using given instructions, so I made one more change, first one found on CloudFlare's support: https://support.cloudflare.com/hc/en...ith-vBulletin-

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now I see real IP address user uses, but I still can't see proxy and real IP address, including red IP icon. For some reason, it looks like this mod doesn't work for me on different servers.

But at least I now can see real IP address.

Last edited by Alan_SP; 19 Nov 2015 at 22:09.
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 17 Nov 2015, 13:09
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
I know this is completely my fault i just need some guidance from you kind coders,members


Ok so i have installed this and tested it with a test member qwerty using numerous proxies and posted some posts.I was on another computer signed in as admin and was hoping that qwerty would show up red and i would be able to check real ip etc.I couldnt even see the red ip icon that i have uploaded correctly.

So could it be down to this.I read the text file and it said this below

Step 1.

In class_core.php ;

Find ;

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


Insert above it ;

// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

So i did that in my class core file and it look like this below.I have highlighted what they said to put above it


// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


So is that code correct im having a moment lol or do you need to turn it on somewhere in settings

Once again thanks

Last edited by the one; 17 Nov 2015 at 13:18.
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 17 Nov 2015, 17:37
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by the one View Post
I know this is completely my fault i just need some guidance from you kind coders,members


Ok so i have installed this and tested it with a test member qwerty using numerous proxies and posted some posts.I was on another computer signed in as admin and was hoping that qwerty would show up red and i would be able to check real ip etc.I couldnt even see the red ip icon that i have uploaded correctly.

So could it be down to this.I read the text file and it said this below

Step 1.

In class_core.php ;

Find ;

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


Insert above it ;

// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

So i did that in my class core file and it look like this below.I have highlighted what they said to put above it


// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


So is that code correct im having a moment lol or do you need to turn it on somewhere in settings

Once again thanks
What are you using to edit the file with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by ForceHSS; 17 Nov 2015 at 17:43.
Reply With Quote
  #280  
Old 17 Nov 2015, 19:00
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Originally Posted by ForceHSS View Post
What are you using to edit the file with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I just copied and pasted the code into my class core php file.I have also noticed that when i click on code edit for the class core php file its taking forever to load

Last edited by the one; 17 Nov 2015 at 19:48.
Reply With Quote
  #281  
Old 17 Nov 2015, 21:00
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by the one View Post
I just copied and pasted the code into my class core php file.I have also noticed that when i click on code edit for the class core php file its taking forever to load
use notepad++ to edit your files
Reply With Quote
  #282  
Old 18 Nov 2015, 09:14
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Originally Posted by ForceHSS View Post
use notepad++ to edit your files

I will pm you i am not sure what to do.

I must sound like a right idiot but i always mess my forum up when i attempt to do anything lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:57.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: