Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Custom HTTP Error Pages Details »
Custom HTTP Error Pages
Mod Version: 2.1.3, by JJR512 (Member) JJR512 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2006 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 Rating: (4 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 60
Released: 12 Oct 2005 Last Update: 28 Oct 2005 Downloads: 179
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

This is a re-write of a hack I made for vBulletin 2.x.

What this hack does is use vBulletin to generate HTTP error pages (such as the 404 - Not Found error). For those of you trying to get an all-vB-based-site, this addition will help complete your quest. Also for anyone who wants a nicer looking HTTP error message than the standard blah.

Note: Your website needs to be on a server that uses a .htaccess file, a file located in your root public directory. This may only be servers using the Apache HTTP server, I'm not sure if any other HTTP server, like Microsoft IIS, uses that or not. Some more notes on this are included in the instructions.txt file.

There are no vB files to modify. There is one file to upload, and one product to install, which will install several new templates and two plugins. The plugins are for Who's Online display. The templates contain the actual messages. No existing templates are modified.

Special thanks to KirbyDE for showing me how to group templates using a plugin rather than a code modification.

This hack has now been re-written to use phrases. If you have a previous version, here's what you can do to upgrade.
1. Upload the new httperror.php file.
2. Add the product-jjr512_httperr.xml, overwriting the existing. (All old non-used templates should be removed automatically. This version uses only two templates: HTTP_ERROR and http_error_bit.)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Custom HTTP Error Documents JJR512 vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 43 19 Apr 2004 08:08

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Oct 2005, 21:28
exceem exceem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Ive been waiting for somethign similar to this

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Oct 2005, 21:39
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
This hack asks you to make one modification to your includes\adminfunctions_template.php file, to group its templates together. However, this is not absolutely necessary;
You are right, this edit is not necessary at all

Hook template_groups

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Another suggestion:
Use phrases for the Text, so users can easily use it with other Languages too.

Last edited by KirbyDE; 13 Oct 2005 at 01:12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Oct 2005, 22:11
dsotmoon dsotmoon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
wow, works great, i didnt make the file edit though
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Oct 2005, 22:19
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
'e' should be a TYPE_UINT.
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Oct 2005, 23:25
Itworx4me's Avatar
Itworx4me Itworx4me is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
You are right, this edit is not necessary at all

Hook template_groups

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Another suggestion:
Use phrases for the Text, so users can easily use it with other Languages too.

Ok using your code above doesn't work. I have tested this and it doesn't group the templates.

Thanks,
Itworx4me

Last edited by Itworx4me; 12 Oct 2005 at 23:37.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 00:53
Omega Prime's Avatar
Omega Prime Omega Prime is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Worked like a charm. Thanks

/me clicks Install
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 01:13
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
It does work, just leave out the s I added accidently
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 01:54
COBRAws's Avatar
COBRAws COBRAws is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Real name: Jack
been waiting for this 3.5 port too

Thank you sir


--EDiT--
Phrases please, that would be very nice.

Last edited by COBRAws; 13 Oct 2005 at 01:59. Reason: phrases please
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 08:18
Avalon111's Avatar
Avalon111 Avalon111 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Real name: chris
great work! i love it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 15:53
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Justin J. Rebbert
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
You are right, this edit is not necessary at all

Hook template_groups

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Another suggestion:
Use phrases for the Text, so users can easily use it with other Languages too.
Just create a new plugin with that code as the code to that hook?

Also, regarding the templates vs. phrases issue: I originally thought to use phrases. But then I discovered you can't use variables, such as $vboptions[hometitle] in phrases. Is there a way to use variables like that in phrases? If so, I can re-write the hack. But when I put in that variable in a phrase I was testing, it just came out on the page literally, dollar sign and everything.
__________________
-Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert
www.JJR512.com: Chat about anything!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 16:09
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Phrase with Variable:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Template using this Phrase:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Yes, just make a plugin with this Code and the Templates will be grouped.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 17:24
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Justin J. Rebbert
I have updated the hack to include the new plugin provided by KirbyDE. The instructions have been updated. No vBulletin file modifications are necessary. (I copied that file mod from some other hacks that group templates the same way. Now I know it's not necessary to do it like that, and I'll probably create plugins like this for other hacks I've installed and return that file to its stock form.)

Due to the small change in method, the hack is now 2.0.1. This version does not include any phrases as KirbyDE has suggested. It will take me a short while to get all that done and tested, at which point we will probably have 2.1.0.

If you have already installed 2.0.0, and are going to upgrade to 2.0.1, simply do this: Removed the modification to your adminfunctions_template.php file, and add the product again, making sure to overwrite the existing version.
__________________
-Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert
www.JJR512.com: Chat about anything!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 17:26
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Justin J. Rebbert
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Phrase with Variable:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Template using this Phrase:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Yes, just make a plugin with this Code and the Templates will be grouped.
Can you use {1} more than once in a phrase; for example, have the phrase be:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And the template would still be exactly the same as in your current example?
__________________
-Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert
www.JJR512.com: Chat about anything!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Oct 2005, 17:31
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Justin J. Rebbert
Originally Posted by Dark Visor
'e' should be a TYPE_UINT.
I think this is probably going just slightly beyond what I know about. How would I make this change, and why is it important? For my education and future reference.

I have another hack I may release soon that's also going to be using a variable through the URL in the same way that $e is used here. However, in this other hack, the value of the variable, $p, will be some text, like file.php?p=something. What should I define that as and how?
__________________
-Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert
www.JJR512.com: Chat about anything!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:56.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: