Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account (for 3.8) Details »
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account (for 3.8)
Mod Version: 2.0.6, by sllik (Member) sllik is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (87 votes - 4.74 average) Installs: 803
Released: 25 Jan 2009 Last Update: 06 Sep 2009 Downloads: 7705
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations External Content  

Staff Note: Moved to Graveyard - this will never work now that the old style facebook authentication is no longer available.


Facebook Connect
This add-on allows your guests and existing users to login with their Facebook account through Facebook Connect.

There is NO NEED to upgrade or reinstall if you already installed this mod for 3.7

Upgrade to 2.0.6 so that users with the new super long IDs will be able to login.


This mod conflicts with PhotoPost vBGallery!

Quick fix:
Disable the following PhotoPost vBGallery plugins:
  • Userinfo Merge
  • Integrate Postbit Showthread

Benefits of Facebook Connect
  • Users can simply login with their Facebook account without going through the registration process.
  • Increase user interaction and your traffic through Facebook notifications and news-feeds!
Features
Facebook users will be able to receive Facebook notifications when:
  • There is a reply to their thread or a thread that they're subscribing to
  • They receive a new PM
News-Feed will be published on to the user's wall when the user:
  • Logs in for the first time
  • Replies to a thread
  • Creates a new thread
Fetch user data from Facebook
Fetch data like name, location, profile picture and use it on your forums! (NOTE: Some data may not be available for some users)

Automatically befriend user's friends
If any of the user's friends are also registered on the forum, they will automatically be friends!

Professional Install/Upgrade/Support Services
Want this mod professionally installed? It's guaranteed to work on your forum! Download the archive and see INSTALL.html/UPGRADE.html for more details!

Troubleshooting
Server Requirements:
PHP 5

If you get an error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Means that there is something wrong with your callback URL. Your callback URL must be where xd_receiver.htm is; so when you enter [callbackurl]/xd_receiver.htm into your browser you should see a blank page (not a 404 page not found error or anything else).

If you get a continues this means there is a javascript error. Make sure you've done all the template edits correctly (especially footer & navbar). Clear your cache and reload the page.

If nothing happens when you click the Facebook Connect button make sure your callback url domain is the same as you forum domain (the one set in your forum settings) - more specifically make sure that there is a www (or isn't) in both domains.


Many more features may be implemented in the future so keep checking for updates.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot1.png
Views:	4079
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	93468   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot2.png
Views:	6728
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	93469   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot3.png
Views:	7774
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	93470   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot4.png
Views:	7661
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	93471  

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot5.png
Views:	6644
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	93472   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot6.png
Views:	6765
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	93473  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Integration with vBulletin Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account sllik vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1585 29 Jun 2016 14:30

  #391  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 13:06
TandyServices's Avatar
TandyServices TandyServices is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: James and Deb
Originally Posted by turbosatan View Post
I have the problem where the iframe is not tall enough also.

Can anyone advise a way to change this?

EDIT
ok so i found http://wiki.developers.facebook.com/...sizable_IFrame this page. on the canvas page of the facebook app setup you can specify a resizeable iframe instead of a "Smartsize"

There are some details on this page on how to modify some of the code to make itr fit the content size.

But i am no coder. Can anyone who knows their way around code take a look and see if there is a simple one liner that can change this.

In your file look for this and play around with the width and height.. I think that is what you are looking for..


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #392  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 16:59
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
when I uninstall it give data base error for all vb !!!!
plz help
Reply With Quote
  #393  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 17:10
DebtFree's Avatar
DebtFree DebtFree is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by TandyServices View Post
In your file look for this and play around with the width and height.. I think that is what you are looking for..


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Which file is this in?
Reply With Quote
  #394  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 17:47
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
when I uninstall it give data base error for all vb !!!!
plz help
Reply With Quote
  #395  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 20:01
TandyServices's Avatar
TandyServices TandyServices is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: James and Deb
  • The script tag for http://static.ak.facebook.com/js/api...eLoader.js.php should be placed inside the <body> tag, not inside <head>.
  • It is almost essential that the FB.canvasclient.starttimertosizetocontent() and related code be placed towards the end of other visual HTML markup inside <body> for resizing to work at all.
  • For an IFRAME app, make sure you don't have height set to 100% in either the body or html styles or the resizing won't work.
  • If you are seeing an initial scroll when the page is first loaded it is because the auto resize code is not being completed before the page is rendered. To avoid this issue, you can just explicitly specify CSS style "overflow:hidden" on the body tag in the iFrame.
Retrieved from "http://wiki.developers.facebook.com/...sizable_IFrame"
Reply With Quote
  #396  
Old 09 Mar 2009, 04:04
abrecher abrecher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Anybody in here able to assist with (paid) installation of this mod ? I installed successfully but have some custom templates and need help integrating with them.

I sent sllik a PM 4-5 days ago but never received a response from him.
Reply With Quote
  #397  
Old 10 Mar 2009, 15:28
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Please do not use this thread to discuss commercial agreements you have with someone.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #398  
Old 10 Mar 2009, 20:33
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
In the install instructions... "Go to the Canvas tab and set the Canvas Page URL" (to whatever you want)....


What is this "Canvas tab"? I'm looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #399  
Old 11 Mar 2009, 14:53
TandyServices's Avatar
TandyServices TandyServices is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: James and Deb
Originally Posted by externalaw.com View Post
In your vbulletin management for this add-on, on the left you see some tabs, one of these is canvas!
.
Reply With Quote
  #400  
Old 11 Mar 2009, 17:09
intelgio2 intelgio2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Conflict with Social bookmarking navbar mod?

There seems to be a conflict between this mod and the Social bookmarking navbar mod (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...ight=sharethis)... has anyone found a workaround for this?

The navbar mod creates its own Navbar template. i have attenpted to add the code to that file and have failed miserably
Reply With Quote
  #401  
Old 11 Mar 2009, 17:23
m0nde's Avatar
m0nde m0nde is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quotes below outline exactly the problems I'm facing.

It's impossible for me to associate existing accounts with fbConnect.
I have tried this several times with my own account and I am unable to get anything to show up on my Facebook wall when I post a new thread.

I think that a great deal of the issues people are having would be solved if this was installed via vBulletin's plug-in architecture instead of relying on template edits.
Please consider this, or let someone who knows how to use the vB plug-in API set this up.

If this only works for new users and new users' emails aren't set up properly, I'm going to have to uninstall this.

Good idea for an add-on, but, unfortunately, several problems still remain...

Originally Posted by smnet View Post
ok. I think this is going to be a recurring request. Until this is sorted I will have to uninstall the application.

Currently, there is no way to associate EXISTING MEMBERS with a facebook account - according to the mod description on .org it seems as though it should be possible - but it's not.

Steps to reproduce:-
1. Logout
2. Sign in with facebook connect
3. Dont choose a nickname, instead click on the existing user
4. Login to your board
5. We can now assume the vb account is facebook connected - NO ITS NOT

Maybe this is only a bug / problem on my board.

Can anyone confirm or deny the above to be true for them?

@Uninstalled until resolved
Originally Posted by smnet View Post
Sllik,

Regarding the issue i'm having with existing users logging in via facebook.... quite simply, its not working on my board.

At the point where you enter your vbulletin user / pass to associate with facebook I can see that the fbuid is set as a hidden field in the fblogin.php page and posted over to the standard login page with the form.... This is fine, but I am having great difficultly pinning down where in the code this value is requested back in. I cant see anywhere in a plugin or file where POST is checked for this value... If I can find that then I can resume tracing this bug down.

It may be down to other mods i have installed, but i'd really really like this resolved. can you help?
Originally Posted by GetGamer.com View Post
I'm still having two BIG problems that if I can't find an answer to, I will have to uninstall this mod.

First, Connect with Facebook is working fine for NEW users, but when an existing forum user tries to use it, the connection is never made. They login to the forums, but there is no connection to their Facebook account. (And yes, they are using the "Connect with Facebook" button, logging into Facebook, then clicking the "Use existing account" link as they are supposed to.

I've attached a screenshot that shows a NEW user is properly receiving the Facebook notifications. Existing users have tried and tested every which way, but their existing forum account never gets connected with their Facebook account.

The second problem is (I think) a minor issue. The window (IFRAME?) that contains the Facebook login screen that pops up when someone clicks the Connect with Facebook button is not "tall" enough to reveal the "Connect" and "Cancel" buttons. How can I make this window a little bigger?

I've also attached a screenshot of that just to show what I mean.

If I can resolve these two problems, I will gladly endorse, use and contribute to this mod. If I can't, I'll have to uninstall.
Reply With Quote
  #402  
Old 11 Mar 2009, 20:09
mykkal's Avatar
mykkal mykkal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Mike McKoy
I have the same issue...
__________________
Casting Calls for Models, Actors, And Other Talent
http://MyModelTalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #403  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 02:44
frogster frogster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Facebook Mod Fixed??

Not sure if this has happened to anyone or if anyone has noticed but all of the problems I had with this mod (iframe too small & not connecting existing users with FB) have automatically been resolved.

The only problem I still seem to have is that a user can only have one item posted on their FB wall per day and it's the last item they have posted in the forum whether it's a new login/new thread/reply. Does this happen to anyone else or not...thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #404  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 02:47
frogster frogster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by intelgio2 View Post
There seems to be a conflict between this mod and the Social bookmarking navbar mod (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...ight=sharethis)... has anyone found a workaround for this?

The navbar mod creates its own Navbar template. i have attenpted to add the code to that file and have failed miserably
I am in no way a pro as I just started this entire vBulletin thing BUT what I did was add the FB button code to the navbar_additions mod this mod created. Let me know if you need further explanation.
Reply With Quote
  #405  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 09:16
nashvilleparks nashvilleparks is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Please Help Me

I'm just getting started with VB and this is only my second mod so I'm hoping this is just a dumb newbie problem and someone will know the answer. I've read every post in this thread and have tried everything I could think of without any luck.

I'm stuck on step 5. When I click "FB Connect Options > News-Feed Templates" I get this:

"Warning: fopen(http://api.facebook.com/restserver.php) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Connection timed out in [path]/includes/facebook/facebookapi_php5_restlib.php on line 2487"

If I click on Register Default Templates underneath the Registered News-Feed Templates box, that just times out too.

I've reloaded all files, reinstalled the whole mod, deleted my FB application and tried it different ways, and it shouldn't be my PHP (PHP Version 5.2.6-1+lenny2). It seems like it has to be something with FB that I'm doing wrong (I don't know anything about FB and only signed up for an account to do this). If anyone has any ideas PLEASE let me know. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: