Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
User Default Font/Color/Size hack Details »
User Default Font/Color/Size hack
Mod Version: 1.00, by TalkHardRandy (Member) TalkHardRandy is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2004 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 22
Released: 26 Feb 2003 Last Update: Never Downloads: 62
Not Supported Is in Beta Stage  

First hack... please be gentle :

WHAT IT DOES:

It allows the user to specify in their profile what size, color and font that they wish to use in all their posts. This is esentially the same as surrounding stuff with SIZE, COLOR, FONT, but makes it easier.

It also uses the vbcode templates already in the system, so users can select from any of the fonts & colors you have already defined. This avoids users inputing colors that don't exist and fonts that no one else has on their systems.

INSTALLABLES

3 file mods
4 template adds
3 template mods

PROPS

Palmer ofShinra inspired the original version here, so massive props to him. I wanted to take his idea and make it more user friendly (and was tired of trying to explain to people why 'puke green' didn't work as a color).

Also, every other hacker out here (Lesane, Erwin, FireFly, Xenon, C.Birch, futureal, and a hundred others) for busting their butts and putting hacks out and for saying that if you want to do something, learn to do it. Inspiration at its finest.

BUGS

If you run TomBot, TomBot has a problem with the FONT/COLOR/SIZE tags. The fix is two posts below

Okay... let me know

FIXES

1) Fixed Spelling of 'Verdana' - Thanks Vivi!
2) Fixed for Multiple Styles - Thanks Zelda!
3) Added & fixed user ability to use default via ON/OFF - Again, Thanks Zelda!
4) Added ability to remember defaults.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Default Font/Size/Color in a Post. applehat vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 65 30 Dec 2012 00:02

Comments
  #2  
Old 26 Feb 2003, 21:44
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Screen Shot

What it looks like in the User CP...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fontcolorsize.jpg (24.6 KB, 420 views)

Last edited by TalkHardRandy; 27 Feb 2003 at 19:05.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26 Feb 2003, 21:50
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
TomBot Fix

Okay, if you're like me your running TomBot & you've figured out that he/she doesn't like the color, font, size tags... especially if you're teaching to it.

In both newreply.php & newthread.php, find this section:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Replace it with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Where FORUM# is the forum where your TomBot is running. If you have multiples, and a ||. To figure out what forum you TomBot is running in, check the tomstalkerbot.php for the $ttb_forumid variable.

NOTE: If it doesn't look like this in your files, you need to go back to post #1 and reinstall the hack.

Last edited by TalkHardRandy; 27 Feb 2003 at 19:07.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26 Feb 2003, 23:23
Vivi Ornitier's Avatar
Vivi Ornitier Vivi Ornitier is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
hey great job! been waitin for somethin like this but the queries don't wokr.

I thin it's too many ' and also u spelt Veranda instead of Verdana in the queries
__________________
Square Ultima 2.0
The Ultimate Square Resource Center!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26 Feb 2003, 23:30
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Okay... spelling bugs are fixed (which is why Notepad should have a spell checker :nods: )

As for the query, I don't know why it wouldn't work... I copied and pasted it out of MySQL and tried it again...

This is what my results look like... what about yours?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mysql.jpg (49.7 KB, 167 views)

Last edited by TalkHardRandy; 26 Feb 2003 at 23:38.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 01:40
Disturbed's Avatar
Disturbed Disturbed is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
i will test this locally and report you the results
__________________
- Disturbed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 03:51
One-Team's Avatar
One-Team One-Team is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Great Hack
I will Install it :banana: :banana:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 12:03
Zelda-King's Avatar
Zelda-King Zelda-King is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I'm trying this out on vB 2.2.9.

Good hack. One snag though. There are 16 of each option beside each other. Also the number of times the options are indicated goes up by 1 as you go along. So in the first size one it says 'small medium large' then in the next one it says 'small medium large small medium large' and so on. (I got rid of the LARGER font sizes. I don't like seeing posts in like size 5+ font or something personally. )

Here, I took a screenshot of the bug (see attachment).

It's something to do with the member.php because if I revert that file the templates work fine.

EDIT: I fixed it. Basically, instead of using
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

use
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

.

You just shouldn't have the '.'s before the '='s.

The trouble is this can pose problems for boards that have several styles. If the top 'default' option was truly 'default' and didn't insert any vB code that would be perfect.

I was thinking something along the lines of
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

but that is parsed wrong in the top line. Needs correcting. That code just gets me an unexpected T_DEFAULT.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fonthackbug1.jpg (37.0 KB, 74 views)
__________________
Sig

Last edited by Zelda-King; 27 Feb 2003 at 17:30.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 17:25
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Okay... fixed the file with your first fix Zelda... danke.

As to the second part, I'm going to put an on/off button in there so people can select which features they wish to use. It'll double the options in the CP and make the newreply & newthread parts bigger, but you're right it is kinda a pain...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 17:31
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Nice hack Randy. I saw this and thought you would have had a numeric field to enter for the font size. It's in dropdowns which i would have suggested anyway. Excellent hack pal

- miSt
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 17:34
Zelda-King's Avatar
Zelda-King Zelda-King is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I'm going to put an on/off button in there so people can select which features they wish to use.
As long as the default for the ON/OFF button is 'OFF' so people's posts don't override various theme colour defaults unless they actually update their profile to do so, then that'd suit me fine.

Actually my default theme text colour IS black so it's not much problem for me personally.
__________________
Sig

Last edited by Zelda-King; 27 Feb 2003 at 17:38.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 17:58
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Danke Mist...

For the sake of sanity, it's an either or deal... you can use the defaults or you can specify your own... default will be set to 'ON', so all it does is post the $message w/o the extras.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 18:57
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Okay... I've updated the hack.

It now give an option to use the forum defaults via an ON/OFF. If you have multiple styles, this should clean it up. But, I don't run multiple styles, so I can't be 100% sure. Plus, I think I'm figuring out how to keep the default values from reseting...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 19:31
Zelda-King's Avatar
Zelda-King Zelda-King is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I'm getting this database error when I update my profile:

Database error in vBulletin 2.2.9:

Invalid SQL: UPDATE user SET birthday='0',signature='(Sig)',customtitle='1',usertitle='(Rank)',email='(email) ',parentemail='',coppauser='0',homepage='homepage',icq='',aim='',yahoo='',usergr oupid='6',default_fcs='1',post_size='2',post_font='times new roman',post_color='black' WHERE userid='1'
mysql error: Unknown column 'default_fcs' in 'field list'

mysql error number: 1054

Date: Thursday 27th of February 2003 12:20:27 PM
Script: http://www.gamercrossfire.net/bb/bb/member.php
Referer:


Seems to be requesting the wrong URL. :/

Anyway, at least my posts were default colour before I updated it this time.
__________________
Sig

Last edited by Zelda-King; 27 Feb 2003 at 19:36.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27 Feb 2003, 19:36
TalkHardRandy's Avatar
TalkHardRandy TalkHardRandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
The SQL query didn't take. It's because you already have three of the four fields in there. Run this query instead:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: