Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 16 May 2017, 16:44
richTV richTV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Adding DMCA link to login page

Hello.

I tried searching around for this but don't fully understand how to do this. It would be done in the footer template, correct?

I want to add a DMCA link which includes the info and procedures to the options below. Not sure if should be php, htm or html?

DMCA - Contact Us - YourSite - Privacy Statement - Top

Can someone please offer me some pointers?
__________________
currently using vB3.8.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16 May 2017, 17:14
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Is the DMCA link internal within the forums or is it on a unique HTML page?

You could add

<li><a href="link to DMCA here">DMCA</a></li>

to the footer template before the closing </ul>

Do you want it to be a conditional? That requires more work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16 May 2017, 17:34
richTV richTV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
thanks for your reply.

neither at the moment regarding the dmca link....I would like it to be on the public side prior to login, next to the Contact Us link

Yes, i figured it would be more work with the conditional.

Looking in the Footer regarding the code, I see this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

btw, I looked for the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

but didn't see it in the Footer template....i'm on vB3.8.7 if that makes a differences.

would creating a conditional involve making a new template for it or something?

or as you mentioned it would be less work to just create an html and upload it to the forum folder
__________________
currently using vB3.8.7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 May 2017, 17:56
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
The purpose in creating a conditional would be to restrict access to selected usergroups, although it probably isn't necessary for a DMCA notice.

There's an entire guide on conditionals but I didn't see the point in over complicating things for you unless you actually require a conditional.

You could post the DMCA directly within the forums and link to it.

Typically I would use a blank HTML page for a DMCA. If you need a template I can get you one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 May 2017, 02:25
richTV richTV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I haven't tried your suggestion but if I post the DMCA directly within the forums [private] and link to it on the outside [public] i.e. the main login page, would it work? Or should I just upload the html to my root and link to it from there as I earlier mentioned to you?
__________________
currently using vB3.8.7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17 May 2017, 03:04
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by richTV View Post
I haven't tried your suggestion but if I post the DMCA directly within the forums [private] and link to it on the outside [public] i.e. the main login page, would it work? Or should I just upload the html to my root and link to it from there as I earlier mentioned to you?
If you post the DMCA within your forums then only those with access to the forum in which the DMCA is posted will have access to it. Typically administrators do not open forums to unregistered guests for posting but an administrator might open a forum to guests for reading. It seems that would be the logical solution if that is the option you choose. After all, it is highly unlikely a registered member is going to file a DMCA notice. Usually those are filed by the alleged copyright holder, an attorney, or an or an agent for service.

That's why I personally prefer the html page option. It allows unfettered access to whatever information you put on it without having to allow access to any part of the forums.

But, in truth, both options work. I've done both with equal success.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22 May 2017, 21:08
richTV richTV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I finished the DMCA, thanks again for your input, Omnibus.

I chose not to use the "li" code though to make it more inline with the

Contact Us - YourSite - Privacy Statement - Top

as earlier mentioned.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

DMCA - Contact Us - YourSite - Privacy Statement - Top
__________________
currently using vB3.8.7
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: