Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Show RSS Feed Icon in each forum Details »
Show RSS Feed Icon in each forum
Mod Version: 1.00, by Wayne Luke (Administrator) Wayne Luke is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (10 votes - 4.40 average) Installs: 187
Released: 10 Jan 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 35
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

So I wanted to add an image link to each forum for its unique RSS feed. This would allow people to subscribe to their favorite forums with their favorite News Reader instead of email. It would always be up to date and accurate.

There are three steps to doing this.

First, I decided I needed a small plugin to determine if RSS was turned on within the forumdisplay template. Go to your plugin manager and add the following code to the "forumdisplay_start" plugin.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Next we will be editing the forumdisplay template itself.

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Finally the third step is to upload the attached image to represent your feed. If your site isn't set up to allow IE to view transparent backgrounds in PNG images, you will probably want to convert the image to a GIF format matted to your background.

Distibuted under the "Wayne License". You may modify to suit your needs, No Attribution Necessary, Redistribution allowed on sites which can verify legitimate vBulletin License Holders only.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	rssscreenie.gif
Views:	3352
Size:	6.6 KB
ID:	40775  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Show RSS Icon on Forum Home Mudvayne vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 66 27 May 2012 21:21
Mini Mods RSS Feed Icon for boards karim004 vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 137 25 Dec 2009 18:21
Forum Home Enhancements Show RSS Icon on Forum Home for subforums codehack vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 9 30 Nov 2008 20:41

  #16  
Old 11 Jan 2006, 14:54
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Wayne
Post your forumdisplay template so I can look at it and verify that the plugin is installed under "forumdisplay_start". Do you have any other plugins installed under "forumdisplay_start"?
__________________
Wayne Luke
Get started with your own social network. Purchase and download vBulletin today.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11 Jan 2006, 14:57
croportal's Avatar
croportal croportal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
no i dont have, just you rss feed


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11 Jan 2006, 14:58
michaelbenson's Avatar
michaelbenson michaelbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Michael Benson
Originally Posted by Wayne Luke
Post your forumdisplay template so I can look at it and verify that the plugin is installed under "forumdisplay_start". Do you have any other plugins installed under "forumdisplay_start"?
I personally just removed the conditional IF statement and bypassed the plugin, it didnt really seem neccessary to check whether or not RSS syndication was enabled since i had already done within the vBulletin Options area.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11 Jan 2006, 14:58
KW802's Avatar
KW802 KW802 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Kevin
Wayne,

Would the condition "<if condition="$vboptions['externalrss']">{code}</if>" work instead of using the plugin?
__________________
Sci-Fi Forum / The Walking Dead & Horror Forum / CinVin

(Sorry, but I am no longer developing for vB; please do not PM. So long, and thanks for all the fish.)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12 Jan 2006, 12:10
sensimilla sensimilla is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Real name: Eric Estrada
For some reason it just open the RSS page and dont add it to my channels.. ?
How to add RSS feed to live channels ?
Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12 Jan 2006, 14:29
synwave synwave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Go to your plugin manager and add the following code to the "forumdisplay_start" plugin
I dont have a plugin called "forumdisplay_start".
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12 Jan 2006, 14:43
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by croportal
no i dont have, just you rss feed
Hmm.. The template looks right. You have plugins enabled in the options?

I would have to look at your AdminCP to get it working at this point though.
__________________
Wayne Luke
Get started with your own social network. Purchase and download vBulletin today.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12 Jan 2006, 14:45
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by KW802
Wayne,

Would the condition "<if condition="$vboptions['externalrss']">{code}</if>" work instead of using the plugin?
I believe it would. I wanted variable consistency though. Makes it easier if my wife has to change something in the templates. She knows a little about HTML but nothing about PHP.
__________________
Wayne Luke
Get started with your own social network. Purchase and download vBulletin today.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12 Jan 2006, 14:46
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by michaelbenson
I personally just removed the conditional IF statement and bypassed the plugin, it didnt really seem neccessary to check whether or not RSS syndication was enabled since i had already done within the vBulletin Options area.
The conditional is there so if you have to turn off the feeds for some reason, the icon and link disappears as well
__________________
Wayne Luke
Get started with your own social network. Purchase and download vBulletin today.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 14 Jan 2006, 08:22
shiva shiva is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
I dont have a plugin called "forumdisplay_start" either.

?????
__________________
shiva

shivaSite
Pinball resource
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 14 Jan 2006, 12:16
Darat Darat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
You need to create a plugin called "forumdisplay_start", this is what I created and it seems to work:

Admincp>Plugin system> Add New Plugin

Product: vBulletin
Hook location: forumdisplay_start
Title: "Check for RSS on/off for RSS feed icon on each forum"
Plugin Php Code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Active: Yes

And then click on save.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 14 Jan 2006, 21:06
shiva shiva is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Thanks. Must have missed that in the instructions.
__________________
shiva

shivaSite
Pinball resource
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 15 Jan 2006, 10:45
synwave synwave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Works nicely - Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 17 Jan 2006, 13:45
Marv Marv is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Wayne,

I´ve tried to put this in the forums tools menu but for some reason it creates only the basic information of my forums - but no threadinfo´s.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I´m using this in the forums menu (extended to rss 0,91, 2.0 and rdf-feeds)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Do I have to place the initial plugin elsewhere as in forumsdisplay_start if I´ld like to place this in the forum menu?

Any idea ?

Last edited by Marv; 17 Jan 2006 at 13:54.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 19:26
Azhrialilu's Avatar
Azhrialilu Azhrialilu is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Lee
Nice addition, Wayne.... I especially like the "Wayne Licence" comment
__________________
Admin Extra - The Switzerland of Community Administrator Forums
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: