Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Return to Sender - Redirect / Reject Visits From Certain Sites/IPs Details »
Return to Sender - Redirect / Reject Visits From Certain Sites/IPs
Mod Version: 0.0.4, by dartho (Coder/Designer) dartho is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 23
Released: 01 Sep 2009 Last Update: 12 Sep 2009 Downloads: 85
Supported Uses Plugins  

Make sure you check the NOTES section below!

This add-on allows you to specify domain names (or IP addresses) which you do not wish to accept links from. You have the choice to return a 404 message, redirect back to where they came (where they followed a link to your site from), display custom HTML, or redirect to another URL.

You could use this for a few different purposes. Say you suddenly get popular on slashdot or digg and your bandwidth is about to suffer - you can redirect all visitors that have clicked through on a link from said site to another URL, display them a "Too Busy" message, 404 them or just have them sent back to whence they came.

Say a dodgy site has links to your site, you could again 404, or display a "DO NOT WANT" message or just send them straight back to the referring page.

You can also just mess with people who have static IP addresses (partial addresses accepted).

Version Control
0.0.1 - Initial Release
0.0.2 - Fixed issue when having blank fields caused forum errors. Also made more lightweight (got rid of pregmatchs)
0.0.3 - Fixed another small bug
0.0.4 - OK - this time I fixed the bug :S

NOTES
WARNING
  1. Do not test with your own IP address, or domain name! You will lock your self out of your forums and will have to disable hooks to reconfigure the addon.
  2. Do not include leading HTTP:// or directory names - domain names (or partial) only!
    eg. use: evil-website.com , NOT http://evil-website.com and NOT http://evil-website.com/forum
  3. To disable the hook/plugin system, edit your includes/config.php file and place the following code on the second line (immediately below <?php) To re-enable hooks, undo the edit!

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements Script to reject browsers Kzyl-orda vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 7 02 Jul 2008 08:39

Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 13:20
elenh's Avatar
elenh elenh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Elen H.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 13:57
TomHQ TomHQ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
And all this time I was just using .htaccess. Thanks for the mod.

EDIT: Tested. Works like a charm!

DOUBLE EDIT: Do you think you can make it so if were using the custom HTML message and a user coming from a blocked site trys to access my site will have a cookie stored on their computer so the next time they try to access the site they'll get the page/error message again?

Last edited by TomHQ; 01 Sep 2009 at 14:13.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 15:32
Bibbo Bibbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Sounds good! *Downloaded*
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 19:45
l_amhed l_amhed is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Really nice idea !!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 20:10
TomHQ TomHQ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
What is the syntax for multiple sites? I've tried the carriage return but that did not work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 23:03
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Originally Posted by TomHQ View Post
What is the syntax for multiple sites? I've tried the carriage return but that did not work.
Should be just a new line per site - try editing the "Trash Referals!" plugin and replace

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

let me know how that goes, thanks...

Last edited by dartho; 02 Sep 2009 at 03:08.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 06:10
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Originally Posted by TomHQ View Post
Do you think you can make it so if were using the custom HTML message and a user coming from a blocked site trys to access my site will have a cookie stored on their computer so the next time they try to access the site they'll get the page/error message again?
Good idea - I'll look at adding this as an option also
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 12:23
4nawadir.com's Avatar
4nawadir.com 4nawadir.com is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Real name: Abdallah
Great idea will be installed soon ...
Thanks
__________________
لا اله الا الله محمد رسول الله
Facebook Me!
Université Abdelhamid Ibn Badis Mostaganem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 14:33
Megatr0n Megatr0n is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
dartho, when I installed this plugin it fed my index page with errors. Something to do with unable to produce headers and referrences the init/class_core.php files.

I was also unable to access my AdminCP. So, I had to disable all the plugins to get back in and disable your plugin.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 22:36
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Sorry megatr0n - without a detailed error, I'm not sure. Did this happen when installed, after being enabled or after being enabled and being triggered by a bad IP/Domain/referrer?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 22:49
PinkDaisy's Avatar
PinkDaisy PinkDaisy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I installed this today and CAN NOT get in my forums at all. It comes up as Page Can't Be Displayed.

How can I UNinstall this if I can't even log in?? My forums have been down all day!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 22:56
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
To disable all plugins which should allow you to get back into your forum, you will need to edit your /includes/config.php file and add


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

immediately after

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

which likely appears in the first line. You can this re-configure/disable/uninstall any addons
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 23:03
PinkDaisy's Avatar
PinkDaisy PinkDaisy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02 Sep 2009, 23:08
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
OK - found a bug of sorts which most likely is what caused Megatr0n and PinkDaisy's problems.

If you have the product enabled, you *must* have a domain listed, otherwise it will match all domains

Also, if you have IP addresses enabled - you must have at least one IP address listed - otherwise it will match all IP addresses

When writing it I guess I didn;t think that it would be enabled without actually listing criteria.

I'll get a new version up which won't trigger if no criteria are listed. 1st post updated with a warning
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: