Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Product Review Forums Research, Review & Compare Items Details »
Product Review Forums Research, Review & Compare Items
Mod Version: 1.4.0, by Ted S (Coder) Ted S is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (34 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 214
Released: 07 Sep 2011 Last Update: 06 Apr 2014 Downloads: 1711
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files  

Version 1.4.0 has been released to remove the giftery / list it integration of the addon now that service has been discontinued. No upgrade is needed though there have been a few other bug changes since 1.3.5.

Finding Feedback Can be Like a Needle in a Haystack


The more your forum grows, the more of a challenge it becomes to sort through the history and get the full story.


Product Review Forums Brings Structure to the Chaos


As a full-featured product management addon, PRF sits on top of your forum allowing you to create defined products which, unlike individual posts, stay relevant over time. Each comment, review and even product updates filter back into this one spot allowing for a quick and comprehensive overview while the individual discussions rage on as always.


Here's just a few of the many features you'll find in PRF:
  • Bring structure to products with established pages & reviews
  • Reduce the number of repetitive posts from members looking up the same info
  • Increase your traffic with content-rich, seo friendly, product listings
  • Drive revenue by adding your own affiliate links to product listings
  • Increase the activity stream's value with review integration
  • Engage visitors with integrated wishlists from Giftery.me
===========================

Installation is not upload & go... individualized settings are required. Read the install file.


===========================
QUICK TIPS:
===========================

Enabling Product Forums: To show product details and ratings, each product-forum must be enabled in the forum manager.

Adding Products: You may upload products one at a time through the admin [includes an image uploader using GD] or you can bulk import through XML. You can also enable users to add moderated products through a global and usergroup option.

Product Review Index: To access your forum's product overview go to www.yoursite.com/productforums.php - You may want to add a link to this to your navbar or as a tab.

Customization: This addon is made to be customized. To change the color schema see clientscript/vbulletin_css or dive right on in to the templates and phrases.

Powered by Giftery.me: This mod is maintained includes two integrations you should know about. Both can be controlled through the mod options.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	2508
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	139758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-2.jpg
Views:	3636
Size:	79.4 KB
ID:	139759   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-3.jpg
Views:	2527
Size:	70.0 KB
ID:	139760   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-4.jpg
Views:	2109
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	139761  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-5.jpg
Views:	1569
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	139762  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #196  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:32
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
This is showing up on the review
<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: prodforums_review_postcontent -->
review content
<!-- END TEMPLATE: prodforums_review_postcontent -->
This code is not generated by this modification and is not a bug [for the other user who reported it as such]. Rather it is a setting collision.

The code sppears to be debugging either from vBulletin setting [see below] but can also come from other modification. As a result you are getting comments printed out that would be hidden in HTML but are being translated into a post here.

Step 1: Disable Add Template Name in HTML Comments which is under "General Settings"

Step 2: If that does not resolve it, disable mods on your test board until you find which one is adding it.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:32
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
Its all working but I have, I forgot to load the productforums.php to the root.
Great!
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:34
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
Why am I getting this?
Slow down there... I know you're eager to get your site looking perfect and test out new mods but it does take time to review comments and see what's going on when you consider the near infinite number of setting and mod customization combinations.

One post with an issue is all you need.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:42
bigtree bigtree is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
As you can see, I'm pretty excited about this.

Can the Admin copy past HTML. Being able to add tables would be pretty sweet.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:43
bigtree bigtree is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Okay sorry, I'm tossing a pile on you and thinking you will take this all as stuff to consider over time. Just brain storming with you.
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:57
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
As you can see, I'm pretty excited about this.

Can the Admin copy past HTML. Being able to add tables would be pretty sweet.
Products can use HTML. As long as it's well formated and you avoid form tags which will break the editor it should work.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 05:59
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
Okay sorry, I'm tossing a pile on you and thinking you will take this all as stuff to consider over time. Just brain storming with you.
Ideas are never a problem nor are reports... pile them on.

I was referring to your reposting of the issue with the commenting... Having one post per user per issue helps speed things up dramatically when you're trying to dig through dozens of posts. Beyond that all is good in the world

Thanks
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)

Last edited by Ted S; 24 Oct 2011 at 06:12.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 06:03
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
1.1.2 has been posted.

This is a minor bug fix which addresses issues with some versions of 4.0.x not being able to post reviews, fixes line breaks in reviews and insures that the template debugging option in vBulletin is disabled as well as minor typo fixes.

Upgrading [upload all .php files and the plugin .xml file] is suggested but not required.

In addition the pending-change log in post #4 has been updated with new suggestions.

Bug and core adjustments will continue for another week at which point we hope to officially move the mod to a stable state.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 06:20
bigtree bigtree is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
That fixed it for me. Thank you! All works very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 06:26
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
That fixed it for me. Thank you! All works very nice.
Fantastic!

I'll be on the road for a few days and while I don't think there's any true importer I can build, I'm sure we can add a little script that helps you "guide" threads in... basically lets you fill in the right details and makes them into reviews for you.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 08:42
Ramsesx's Avatar
Ramsesx Ramsesx is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern Germany
Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
I'll have to find away around that tip...

The issue with making posts rather than using a table is that you lose the structure. Rather than having a price field you can edit, you have a price line in a string. Parsing all this apart is not ideal and updating it [either for new reviews or changes to products] becomes a poor experience.
Ted, on archive view the "This is an empty post" issue is existing too.
I'm not a coder but wouldn't it be an idea to have a dual output when creating a new product? Means, the product description goes to pf_product_description and post_pagetext?
Some other things I observed:
- if trying to + Add New Product on productforums.php it gives me the VBulletin message "This feature is currently not in use", have I missed to enable anything?
- if quick reply is enabled this may lead some users to using this instead pressing the "Write your own" text
- I still don't understand why there is the "View all reviews on *" link in each review because it leads to the same site again I am right now
Suggestions:
- having the overall rating of the product shown in the forumdisplay view right beside the thread title
- Ratings using Rich Snippets see here

Enjoy your trip.

Last edited by Ramsesx; 24 Oct 2011 at 09:02.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 08:56
Domiav Domiav is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
Try uploading the attached version of upload/productforums.php and let me know what that does for you.

If not, let me know if the review is saved... And if the url is correct [i.e. it's loading a valid file on your site].
work! thank you!

Very fair question actually.

If you load up productforums.php it will let people search & browse your reviews and also adds the "post new product" link. You can add this page to your navigation or just add the post product link somewhere. I'd suggest your navbar but every site is different.
ok, so i've another problem
on productforums.php page i don't have any "add a product" link(you can see it into the attachment).
i'm browsing like administrator and of course the "admin usergroup" have the right on "yes" for add a new product.

At last, and this is a feature request, is there a way to add also on the review form the price that a user spent to bought the products?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg review.jpg (18.7 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 09:05
Ramsesx's Avatar
Ramsesx Ramsesx is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern Germany
Originally Posted by Domiav View Post
ok, so i've another problem
on productforums.php page i don't have any "add a product" link(you can see it into the attachment).
i'm browsing like administrator and of course the "admin usergroup" have the right on "yes" for add a new product.
Have you set Product Review Forum Settings --> Allow Members to Post Products to yes?
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 09:11
Domiav Domiav is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by Ramsesx View Post
Have you set Product Review Forum Settings --> Allow Members to Post Products to yes?
yes sure, the permissions was all on yes.
However i've solved with the last release, i've seen that Ted have changed like 0,02kbs on the code from the attachment file that gived to me and the last release; i've tried to upload the last one and here we go, i've the add product link
He problably changed the right 0,02Kbs part of code

Looking for the feature request; thank you again for the support!
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 10:04
Domiav Domiav is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
ok, another little problem; on the "buy this product" link when i click on it the system put the forum url before the shop url; for example if i put www.newegg.com when i click on buy this product i will redirect to:
www.mywebsite.com/forum/www.newegg.com that of course give a 404 error.

can also someone show me how to translate the mod? is everywhere into the productforums.php? i just need to revert the text link part into my language?
If yes, i'll release for free the translated version if may help.

Last edited by Domiav; 24 Oct 2011 at 10:12.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: