Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Current Staff Online Forum Sideblock and CMS Widget by BOP5 Details »
Current Staff Online Forum Sideblock and CMS Widget by BOP5
Mod Version: 0.99, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (21 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 190
Released: 19 Jun 2012 Last Update: 30 Jun 2012 Downloads: 1349
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5
www.Qapla.com


New Version: 0.99 Beta
New in 0.99
  • Added Widget
  • Added Settings instead of manual configuration
  • Added phrases for "None" and "No staff currently online." text.
  • Made code more compatible with older VB Versions (should work in 4.1.x now)




This is my first attempt at a Sideblock and Widget. The purpose of this is to list all forum staff members online.

There are settings to choose which usergroups are considered staff groups and for other basic settings.

The product .xml file contains the necessary templates and phrases but you will need to manually install the sideblock code itself and/or manually create the widget.

Specific installation instructions are in the .txt file in the zip file but the overall process is:
  • Upload the Product XML File
  • Add code to additional.css template
  • Edit Settings in Admin CP -> Options to setup your options
  • Create Sideblock (if using Sideblock)
  • Create Widget (if using widget)
  • Add Widget to Layout(s) (if using widget)


Overall this is working well- it is Beta as it's my fist Sideblock and Widget. I know it works on VB 4.2.0 but it should work on earlier versions as well (code was revised in Beta 0.99 for greater compatibility.)

If you get an error at the top of the browser window when you enable the sideblock or widget you know your VB version is too old.

In addition to working with my Font Selection by Username mod it will also work withe my Sidebar Anywhere mod.

Does not work with "Everywhere Sidebar" mod but DOES work with MY "Sidebar Anywhere" mod.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	staff_online_sidebar.jpg
Views:	5468
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	139208   Click image for larger version

Name:	staff_online_widget_none.jpg
Views:	703
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	139452   Click image for larger version

Name:	staff_online_widget_two.jpg
Views:	823
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	139453   Click image for larger version

Name:	staff_online_settings.jpg
Views:	634
Size:	149.6 KB
ID:	139454  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #61  
Old 01 Jul 2012, 18:59
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Thanks. I'll try to get Everything Sidebar running on one of my test sites and see if I can get them to work together... hopefully this week, no promises though.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01 Jul 2012, 19:19
deverill2010 deverill2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks BOP it's appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01 Jul 2012, 19:25
LgsOfChampions's Avatar
LgsOfChampions LgsOfChampions is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: LOC
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
There's no staff currently online so I can't see the issue first hand, I will keep an eye out though today and see if I catch it with someone online.

The most likely reason is that the additiona.css code was wrong, missing, incomplete, or even put in the wrong style.

You currently have CSS stored in the database so I can't confirm it is correct but if you could move CSS to the file system (which i think is better overall anyway) then I can confirm.

Admin CP -> Settings -> Style & Language Setting -> Store CSS Stylesheets in Filesystem -> Yes (in most cases this works fine without any permission edits needed, try it and see.)



OK thanks for the feedback. If I can get someone to confirm I will note it in the first post.
I did what was asked, still not working right. Here is a pic, dunno if this helps
click here for pick
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02 Jul 2012, 02:48
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by LgsOfChampions View Post
I did what was asked, still not working right. Here is a pic, dunno if this helps
click here for pick
You have a "comment" in your CSS:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But "//" does not work as a comment in a CSS stylesheet so it is ruining the lines below it.

Remove the "comment" completely or change it to an HTML comment:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02 Jul 2012, 07:45
Poppet Poppet is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Installed, very impressed works like a dream
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02 Jul 2012, 13:55
LgsOfChampions's Avatar
LgsOfChampions LgsOfChampions is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: LOC
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
You have a "comment" in your CSS:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But "//" does not work as a comment in a CSS stylesheet so it is ruining the lines below it.

Remove the "comment" completely or change it to an HTML comment:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
thank you sir!!
Great Mod, glad we got it to work.
**marked installed**
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04 Jul 2012, 18:51
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Well I could not get this to work with Everywhere Sidebar...

However I WAS able to update my Sidebar for Activity Stream mod to work on all pages, so I now call it Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5 and it's fully compatible with this mod.

Sidebar Anywhere does most of the things Everywhere Sidebar does except for custom blocks per page, custom width, and collapsible by usergroup- but it does most of the same things- and it does it without a copyright notice on every sidebar.

This is the best I can do at the moment- I am not going to peruse trying to make it work with Everywhere Sidebar any longer.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 05 Jul 2012, 19:33
imported_polygrinder imported_polygrinder is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Is there any way to change the title from "Current Staff Online"? I changed the title in my block like normal but it does not change the title when displayed. I am using 4.2.0 Patch Level 2.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 05 Jul 2012, 21:26
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Yes it's a phrase you have to edit.

Go to Phrase Manager -> GLOBAL Phrases -> bop5_staff_online


And please "Mark as Installed" if you are using it.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 05 Jul 2012, 23:33
imported_polygrinder imported_polygrinder is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Worked great. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 06 Jul 2012, 04:56
imported_polygrinder imported_polygrinder is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
There is a little icon, little green person. How can I change that?
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 06 Jul 2012, 10:23
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
That is the built in users_online.png image, it is in your images/misc/ directory for each style. It's usually used elsewhere in vBulletin as well.

So if you want to change or remove it just for this mod you will have to edit the templates-

block_staff_online_bop5 - Forum Sideblock Template
and/or
vbcms_widget_bop5_staffonline - CMS Widget

And in either template look for the image name in the text and change or remove it.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 06 Jul 2012, 16:17
imported_polygrinder imported_polygrinder is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
BirdOPrey5. You are the man.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 06 Jul 2012, 18:16
dany_danay dany_danay is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Not working for me. Installed, but nothing show: foro-ptc.com
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 06 Jul 2012, 23:55
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Did you follow the instructions and manually create the forum block and copy in the code? I'm not seeing even an empty box so it doesn't look like that was ever done...

There is more to this mod then just installing the xml file.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: