Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Signature only on first post Details »
Signature only on first post
Mod Version: 1.00, by Zachariah (Coder/Designer) Zachariah is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 207
Released: 23 Oct 2005 Last Update: 28 Nov 2005 Downloads: 212
Supported Template Edits  

Signature only on first post VB3.5

This will cause each user's signature to be shown only on their first post on each page.

Originally Posted by Thug
Hi i was wondering if theres a hack where peoples sigs only show once per page?
In the postbit or postbit_legacy template,

Find :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with this one:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There can be only one ! ~ The Highlander

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Signature only on first post Zachariah vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 77 21 Dec 2014 15:26

  #46  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 20:39
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: Mike
Originally Posted by Flow Fusion
Doesn't work for postbit_legacy.
Works for me, on one of the boards I added it to it works, the other it doesn't. Odd. :ermm:

Last edited by mholtum; 22 Dec 2005 at 20:42.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02 Jan 2006, 14:59
Robru's Avatar
Robru Robru is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
*BUMP*

Originally Posted by Robru
I will it only in the last post, what must I change?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02 Jan 2006, 15:39
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Originally Posted by Robru
*Originally Posted by Robru
I will it only in the last post, what must I change?*
I do not understand.
- Perhaps say in your language I can translate ?
__________________
http://www.szone.us |

Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02 Jan 2006, 15:47
Revpolar Revpolar is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
For those having trouble with signatures in quick replies. Open showthread template and search for

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And delete that.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03 Jan 2006, 09:40
Robru's Avatar
Robru Robru is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by Zachariah
I do not understand.
I Want: user's signature to be shown only on their last post on each page, when you post more than one message in a topic.
I hope you understand this, sorry for my bad English...

Last edited by Robru; 03 Jan 2006 at 09:42.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06 Jan 2006, 22:21
CtrlAltDel CtrlAltDel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
thx worked on 3.2.3 !
__________________
Wii Have A Problem
Pirate Cove
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06 Jan 2006, 22:30
MojoNixon MojoNixon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
/hits install.

Very useful, thanx for this.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07 Jan 2006, 19:09
SparKeh SparKeh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
it works for me on vb 3.5.2 editing the postbit and postbit_legacy


damn that quick reply thing is annoying though

Last edited by SparKeh; 07 Jan 2006 at 19:12.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07 Jan 2006, 19:15
SparKeh SparKeh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Actually thats weird, when I post the second post using quick reply it shows my sig on my last post and removes it from my first post. I thought it was mean't to stay in the first post and no others?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 15 Jan 2006, 08:57
ahmed-samara's Avatar
ahmed-samara ahmed-samara is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Real name: Ahmed Mohamed
Doesn't work for postbit_legacy.
__________________
Please don't PM me , Send request or enquiry to the Forum

support vBulletin Arabic, vBulletin Manual , vBulletin API
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 19 Jan 2006, 02:03
GGIII GGIII is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Is there any way to make this a selectable option per user?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 10:37
WebMasterAJ WebMasterAJ is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
I just tried it on the latest vB... and it doesn't work
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 12:02
Mindwarp Mindwarp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by WebMasterAJ
I just tried it on the latest vB... and it doesn't work

AJ i got it.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 04 Feb 2006, 01:26
Tralala's Avatar
Tralala Tralala is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Revpolar
For those having trouble with signatures in quick replies. Open showthread template and search for

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And delete that.

Yeah, that doesn't actually suppress the "display" of subsequent signatures for others...

...what it does is uncheck/hide a poster's "Show your signature" checkbox underneath the QuickReply panel.

I just applied that change, and was the first reply in a thread (via QuickReply) and my signature DID NOT show up at all on the refresh. (It should appear, as it was my first time in that thread.)

I'm going to revert back, since that change is not what a user would expect (especially if they have a sig and expect for it to appear.)

I'm okay with it appearing you that first time after a QuickReply, since after a refresh (and immediately for everyone else) -- it only appears in the user's first post.

But revpolar's "fix" for the QuickReply issue is overkill and doesn't actually address the issue properly.

The issue is in how QuickReply refreshes immediately and doesn't reflect what a "real" refresh would show...

Last edited by Tralala; 04 Feb 2006 at 01:39.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 04 Feb 2006, 01:40
Tralala's Avatar
Tralala Tralala is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I should say though, that otherwise, this hack appears to be working fine for me in vB 3.5.3 (with both the generic vB skin as well as my customized 3rd party one.) Thanks!

Last edited by Tralala; 04 Feb 2006 at 01:47.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: